Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your parents' Lincoln
A small unimposing masterpiece. It is interesting to me that the photograph chosen for the cover of this book should show Lincoln without his usual beard and stovepipe hat. I like to believe that maybe the author chose this photo himself, perhaps to make people think a little differently about Lincoln from the start. I have nothing for praise for this biography, by the...
Published on December 21, 2003 by E. R. Bird

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misspelled words and loss of intrest
A lot of the word were misspelled in this book and wasn't as good as I thought it would be.
Published 18 months ago by C


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your parents' Lincoln, December 21, 2003
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
A small unimposing masterpiece. It is interesting to me that the photograph chosen for the cover of this book should show Lincoln without his usual beard and stovepipe hat. I like to believe that maybe the author chose this photo himself, perhaps to make people think a little differently about Lincoln from the start. I have nothing for praise for this biography, by the way. The facts are interspersed with the excellent details of Lincoln's life growing up. Freedman has the ability to mingle the times in which Abe lived his life in such a way that the readers hardly notice how well they've become acquainted with the setting before the Civil War arrives. This book is so readable and such a good length that I can see children actually enjoying reading it on their own. Admittedly, this may not often happen, but it's wonderful to read a book that even gives them the option. "Lincoln: A Photobiography" would teach especially well to large groups of kids and would pair nicely with Ruby Bridges's, "Through My Eyes", giving kids a real sense of the history of African-American civil rights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Picture Is Worth 1,000 Words, June 20, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
Lincoln, A Photobiography, is an excellent source of information and images regarding Abraham Lincoln. Its wealth of pictures tell much about this secretive man who rarely shared his innermost thoughts and feelings.
This book and its contents are based on Freedman's exceptional compilation of photographs, letters, and drawings concerning Lincoln's life and times. Each image is woven into an eloquent account of Abraham Lincoln's world and the issues surrounding him. This book should be on every school library's shelf as it has so many wonderful pictures and other images both common and rare regarding Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War.
At the end of the book, Freedman offers a "Lincoln Sampler" containing some of the president's famous quotes. Civil War scholars as well as those researching the topic will see that this book holds both pictures and words that bring our 16th president to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book witha lot of reasurch material!, April 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
Lincoln: a Photobiography
By Russell Freedman
"A spider of a boy" they called him. Throughout Lincoln's life he was known as a tall, bony legged man. Although he claimed he had forgotten his childhood, historians say he was born in a log cabin near Hodgenville, Kentucky on February 12,1809. His parents, Thomas and Nancy named him after his pioneer grandpa who had been killed by Indians while harvesting his crops. After many years Thomas Lincoln, who was a farmer, decided to move the family to Indiana. This was, as Lincoln said, " The hardest experience of my life." Abe and his sister Sarah attended a small one-room cabin school two miles away from their home. This was the only formal schooling he had. When Abe was nine his mother, uncle and aunt all came down with the so-called "milk sickness" and died weeks later. A year went by until Thomas found another wife. He married Sarah Bush Lincoln who was a great housekeeper and took very good care of Lincoln and his sister. She also brought her three children to live with them. Lincoln learned to work hard at an early age. Later during his presidency he said, "Work, work, work is the main thing." After that, Lincoln decided to look for work in New Orleans and then New Salem, Illinois. In New Salem, Lincoln studied law and decided to run for the state legislature. He lost but then ran again when he was 25 and became the second highest vote getter in the state so he was elected to the Illinois House of Representatives. At the age of 30, he moved to Springfield and met the love of his life, Mary Ann Todd. They were engaged soon after they met but called the wedding off after Mary's sister did not approve of the marriage. Lincoln's friends said this period was the worst emotional crisis of his life. On the 4th of November they told Mary's sister they were to be married, and they did that evening. Their first child Robert Todd was born nine months later. Then Eddie was born in 1846. By the time Eddie was born Lincoln had opened his own law office and won a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives and moved to Washington. Eddie, not yet four, died in 1850. Later in 1851 Willie was born, then Thomas who was nicknamed Tad was born in 1853. At this time Lincoln was the leading antislavery spokesperson in Illinois. At the age of 51 he ran for President. He was elected on the 4th November 1860. In 1861 the death of Willie, who was only 11, really upset Mary. During Lincoln's presidency he accomplished a lot of things including the Emancipation Proclamation in 1863. The Emancipation Proclamation declared that all slaves in Confederate territory would be free. As President during the War Between the States, Lincoln agonized over the loss of life and the division of the country. He wanted to preserve the democratic government of a truly united group of states. On April 4th 1865 at the age of 56 Lincoln was shot in Fords Theater by John Wilkes Booth. Although the President did not die straight away he did die the next day. I think this book was written either for research purposes or to show the world what a great man Lincoln was. Freedman showed how Lincoln started from almost nothing and went on to become President. I think Lincoln would have wanted everyone to know how hard he worked to become President. It is historically proven that Lincoln had great depression following Willie's death. Freedman never wrote about his depression; he only wrote about Mary's. Also, the fact that Lincoln was controversial when he was president wasn't mentioned in this book. I think this book is biased because Freedman only shows how great of a person Lincoln was and not any bad sides. This bias could be from nationalism. Everyone in the United States thinks Lincoln is a great man and Freedman could have gotten his bias from that. This book is an inspiring story about persevering under difficult situations. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know about Lincoln or who is researching him. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of nine because some of the language used might be difficult for anyone under that age. I found out that this book is not Russell Freedman's only Newbery winner book. He has also won a Newbery in 1994 for a biography of Eleanor Roosevelt. I also went on to Amazon.com to find that both these books are sold there. Freedman seems to excel in writing biography books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great history book for preteens and teens, February 16, 2005
By 
Cindy Dollen "ces625" (Laurel, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book for my son's 11th birthday. He's always been interested in President Lincoln because they have the same birthday (albeit different years!). This book was the last present he opened - after the gameboy, the new game, and several other books. The gameboy went on the table and the book came out. He read for nearly an hour, occasionally stopping to fill me in on tidbits from the book. The book is very interesting reading, even for adults, and is written in such a way to capture the reader's interest from the beginning. I would highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're new to Lincoln, please start here, July 25, 2003
By 
Candace Scott (Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
Russell Freedman has done a masterful job with this Lincoln biography, primarily intended for younger readers. Though touted as a "photobiography," there are not an abundance of Lincoln photos, though there is an excellent assortment of photographs of the time period, as well as pictures of his wife and children. The Lincoln portraits that are printed are among the greatest Brady albumen's ever taken of a prominent person, and show Lincoln's world-weary countenance in the face of the raging storm of the Civil War.
Freedman writes well and he focuses on Lincoln as an individual. I was pleased to see so much space devoted to Lincoln's complex relationship with Mary Todd, the woman who became his wife. The adversity this couple endured is sobering: the loss of Eddie and Willie at young ages, Lincoln's melancholia and spells of profound depression, as well as the strains of the Presidency. Who can imagine the torment of trying to keep a nation together while millions of American boys died in combat? The strain Lincoln endured is beyond imagination. Freedman tries to have the young reader put themselves in Lincoln's shoes. This is an instructive technique. Freedman also devotes considerable time to Lincoln's special father-son relationship with Tad, and his account of the assassination is excellent.
Readers of all ages can glean something from this book, but the target age range would be from 10-15. For young people first starting to learn about Lincoln, look no farther than here. This is a first-rate example of biography for the younger audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life of the 16th U.S. president., May 26, 1999
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
A short, well written biography of Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865) for children (probably ages 10 to 16) that is filled with photographs following his life. The book makes Lincoln come "alive" for young readers. In fact, it could well be the best Lincoln biography written for this age group. The book won the 1988 Newbery Medal for best contribution to American children's literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review of Lincoln a Photobiography, April 7, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
This book is all about Abraham Lincoln from living in the backwoods to the Presidency and the assassination. Before Lincoln became President he was a lawyer and a State and U.S. Congressman. He married Mary Ann Todd and they had four boys.He was a member of the Whig Party until 1856 when he switched to the Repuplican Party. He was elected President in 1860 and led the Union to victory over the Confederates in the Civil War.He was shot by John Wilkes Booth on April 14,1856. He was watching the play My American Cousin at Ford's theater. The next day he died in a boarding house across the street.I give this book five stars because it was an awesome book. I learned a lot about Lincoln and life in the 1800's. Russell Freedman packed the book with a bunch of interesting facts that kept me reading.It wasn't just about Lincoln.It was also about the Civil War and political issues. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about history, Presidents and likes to read biographies.

Doug

Madison, WI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great history book and great biography book, September 11, 2005
By 
Newton Ooi (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
This medium-sized illustrated book on the life of Abraham Lincoln covers the private and public life of one of America's greatest presidents. The book gives good balance to the different stages of Lincoln's life; including his youth, childhood education, teenage years, early days as a country lawyer, entrance into local politics, his marriage, and finally his rise to the presidency and his death. The book does not concentrate on the Civil War, but instead gives a full picture of the man, including his personal traits such as love of storytelling, good humor, and ability to win over people given enough time. Overall, a great book for students in middle school or early high school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating presentation on President Lincoln, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
I'm sure that there are plenty of biographies out there on President Lincoln, but I have not seen any that give us as good a kid-friendly view on him until this one. The photos add an unparalleled personality that draws in the reader, and they truly are beautiful. The book presents a great summary of Lincoln's life and-- most impressively-- even tackles some of the darker moments, as is approriate for the target elementary/middle school audience. It is informatve and an easy, educational read that should prove great for research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book to use when writing a report about Lincoln., December 31, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) (Paperback)
I had to read this book for school, but unlike some school-assigned books, this was actually very interesting. The pictures are clear and detailed, and the writing is very descriptive. After reading this, I almost felt as if I knew Lincoln. I could almost feel his dissapointment in his failures and losses in his life. I wept with the nation at his assassination. I have read and reread this book many times. It is truly compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies)
Lincoln: A Photobiography (Houghton Mifflin social studies) by Russell Freedman (Paperback - September 25, 1989)
$11.99 $9.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.