Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 18, 2012
This is a collection of anecdotes about the life and times of our 16th president. Here is a person I would just love to rub elbows with at the neighborhood 4th of July picnic. The thumbnail sketches of American life before mass communication leave me feeling as if I had lived through that age.
A fun read
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
What an extraordinary individual! Lincoln generally only recognized as the President who freed slaves presented in his own historical context as a compassionate human being full of wit and storied wisdom. Politics and politicians thinking and behaving in a timeless fashion mostly to achieve selfish ends. Little has not changed--unfortunately. A true leader and statesman.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
This book filled a lot of gaps in the Lincoln story. It consists of a series of anecdotes remembered by contemporaries of Abe Lincoln. Many are humorous stories or jokes that he liked to tell and many are reiterated by more than one person. Some are sayings lifted out of speeches that he made, especially that occurred during the Lincoln/Douglas debates. These stories are more or less placed in chronological order from Abe's boyhood days through his whole life experience and end the evening of his assassination as he prepared to go to the Ford Theater. These saying as remembered as coming from the very mouth of the to be 16th President prove that his was a life-long aversion to slavery in all of its forms. I have read opinions that his interest was in the preservation of the Union more than the end of slavery, but I think these quotes from Lincoln's own mouth show his horror and outrage against slavery from his early manhood, not to minimize his desire to preserve the Union.

Another area is Lincoln's faith. These stories from Abe's own mouth show his devout faith in Christianity, the Bible, and prayer from his boyhood, and his ever intensifying faith as the horrors of the Civil War ran their course. I have read opinions by contemporaries in his law-practice days that Lincoln was an atheist or at best an agnostic. No statements of that nature come from Abraham's mouth in this book, and if at all true would seem to reflect a stage of questioning in his early professional days before he became a candidate for office.

Several more observations can be made: I did not know that he had been in love twice before the alliance with Mary Todd. One girl named Anne or Annie had been engaged to someone from the East before she was enamored with Lincoln. The eastern swain had gone back east to get permission from his relatives as he considered himself to be of a higher class and needed the permission of his family in order to marry the western Annie. During the absence of the Easterner, Annie sickened and died. Abe was devastated. He wept at her grave and was disconsolate for a long time. Mary Todd was his third love. I hadn't remembered that another suitor of Mary's was Douglas, the Little Giant, Lincoln's political rival. Douglas was short, round, and well-dressed. Most would have predicted that he would be Mary's choice, however, she unpredictably picked Lincoln, the ungainly, rustic giant. It was commented that Mary saw the diamond inside the rough exterior.

Another interesting thread was the many threats and assassination attempts that were made against Lincoln's life from the beginning of his political success and his unconcern about them. He stated that he believed his life was secure until his Maker called for it. He astounded people by evading his body guards and taking unusual risks. In the last days of the war, he visited the front lines against all advice. By the time the hue and cry arose to forbid such a risky act, he had already been there and safely returned.

This collection was evidently put together and edited quite close to time of the events. Much of the language is archaic to my ear, and when explanations are made to help the reader understand, they are still geared to a much earlier generation. Some of the jokes lost their humor for me because of the archaic language. At that time, the general public evidently thought that three of our presidents had been poisoned for political ends as their vice presidents would be more favorable to the desired policies. These stories were not given as controversial but as the accepted opinion of the day and were mentioned to show that there were grounds to believe the story of a White House kitchen worker who said he had been offered a large amount of money to poison the milk of the Lincoln household. (The teetotaler family drank milk as their favored beverage.) The poisoned presidents were considered to have been William Harrison, and the Generals Taylor and Scott.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
The language and tone in which this book is written reflects the culture of the times, and that in itself is instructive. Some of the stories may seem corny and quaint, or even offensive, to today's readers, but I found a new understanding of the common humanity of Abraham Lincoln in reading them. Lincoln's overwhelming decency in his relationships with his fellow man comes through as you follow the antidotes in this book. Being able to look back in time in this way, and see him as his contemporaries saw him, is an invaluable resource for anyone writing about a famous figure in history. Several of these stories were mentioned in Doris Kearns Goodwin's excellent book, Team of Rivals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2014
This is a fine collection of Lincoln quotes and stories, with sources provided.The book provides the 'Lincoln' flavor, his personality and spirit and will make excellent reading in conjunction with a good biography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
I return to this book for glimpses of Lincoln in various stories. He had a lot of character and it comes across in these antedotes. In my opinion, the style of the writings is from a dated time, more elaborate and embellished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
I have not finished reading this collection of stories but am finding it very interesting. Some of the stories will make you laugh and others will lead you to see just the type of man Lincoln was.

We often buy into all the 'hipe' we have heard all of our lives about famous people. These stories give you an insight into Lincoln, and often in his own words. I've learned things about him that I never knew before, and have a new respect for who the 'real' Lincoln is and not just for the 'stories.'

I'm really enjoying The Lincoln Story book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
Great reading!!! What could you ask for the price! The book provided some great insight into the mind of one of our greatest presidents.I haven't read about Abe Lincoln since grade school, but did see the movie, Lincoln, in 2012. Since this book waswrittn many years ago,I wonder how much was really fact and how much was folklore in the making - It was fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
Story after story about Lincoln's life, thoughts, and sayings. All in short stories/paragraphs. I've read other old accounts but they have a too flowery and worshipful style. Williams' renditions deliver the points much quicker.

It's grammar is old, like late 1800s, early 1900s, which is sometimes hard to understand. But then, that archaic touch is also helps to make me feel like i'm reading something authentic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
Wasn't what I expected. It's written as if from newspaper clippings of the times. You do get a sense regarding Lincoln's unique style personality with people. He seemed to be quick witted affable & @ the same time someone not to trifle with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.