Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 13, 2012
I haven't read a lot about Lincoln and his children other than the biographies all seem to focus on Lincoln's severe mourning of Willie's death (and his son Eddie who died at four years old) and of course, that these tragedies all led to his wife's breakdown. This is a short Kindle Single title that tells the story of Lincoln's life in the White House with his sons Willie and Tad. It tells how he played with them, how he loved them, how he treated them so lovingly and seriously. The glimpses are taken from Julie Tafts's recollections when she was a 16 year old who spent a lot of time at the White House with her younger brothers who were the Lincoln boy's playmates. I loved this little story and wishes there was more to it. However, we all know Lincoln's life ended up being quite the tragedy and this story ended on that sad note. The book wraps up shortly after Willie's passing. Things would never be the same for any of them. I have to say there was one line in the book that made me tear up. It said the War was the only important thing to Lincoln that he didn't lose. A sad but wonderful account of the real man behind the legend, this short is a bargain as it is offered here for .99 cents. I think that this would be a great starter for someone interested in Lincoln but who maybe doesn't want to invest in the time for a longer biography.
0Comment|101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2012
This quick, fun read was a wonderful window into the personal world of the Lincoln family. It picks up where history class leaves off. Get a glimpse of the world behind the scenes at an incredible time.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
Full of first hand details in the life of one of America's most beloved Presidents. The joys, hardships and character that consumed the life of our 16th president were depicted with beauty in this book.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2013
This Kindle Single is well worth the 99 cents that it costs to get a look into the Lincoln White House, thanks to author Cecelia Holland. Much of her research and information came from the writing of Julia Taft who spent a lot of time with Mrs. Lincoln while the two Taft boys played with Willie and Tad Lincoln. The Lincoln boys had no one else to play with and Washington was a strange place, so play dates were set up for the children and Julia Taft accompanied her brothers to the White House to keep an eye on them as they played. As their rough play is described, especially Tad's, it's a wonder the White House is standing today. In those days, anyone off the street could walk into the White House.

There are some very nice passages that paint a picture of Lincoln as a father playing with his children and even leaving an important meeting to cater to his child. He played rough and tumble on the floor with them and loved his children very much. Julie Taft was a special child to Lincoln, too, because he admired her and her proper ways, and she became a very good friend to Mrs. Lincoln since they both loved fashion and the niceties of life in the upper class. Lincoln would have liked to have a daughter like Julie.

This Single also tells what awful stress the President was under as the Civil War got under way and tragedy struck at home. About 19 pages in length, I picked up a good bit of information that I hadn't read before and thoroughly enjoyed reading this. It is well-written and the information about Julie's diary is fascinating.

Highly recommended for history readers and those interested in the Lincoln White House.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I was hoping to really get an insight into Lincoln's personal life in the White House. Nope. There are about 5 accounts based on the girl's stories. The rest is just straight history that you learned in high school. Not worth your time or money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
I stumbled across this little gem while searching for another book. Historically correct, insightful, and a very quick and satisfiable read. A peek into the private lives of the Lincolns in the White House. Cost is a whopping .99 cents...Thank you amazon
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
Celeste Holland writes a short but lovely story of Abraham Lincoln the father. Julia Taft and her brothers are playmates to Lincoln's own two younger sons and the fun begins. With dress up parties in the attics, court-martials of dolls and all kinds of childhood pranks, Holland writes of Lincoln the father, who just happens to be president during one of the most horrible times in American history. While at times, it loses it's story like feel, the book still gives you an inside view of what life was like for the Lincoln children. Terrific way to teach history, humanizing the key players to help children identify with what was going on around them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
A story of the White House and the President's family life at the beginning of the Civil War. If you are a fan of this time in history, you will enjoy this story. The touching images of President Lincoln romping with his children were enjoyable, and the intimate look at the first family during one of the most stressful times in the country's history was insightful. The writing was superb and I loved every moment of the story.

I was left with a sense of wanting to know more about Julia Taft and was left with a nagging sense that I did not get closure. Of course we all know how the story ended, but as one who was not familiar with Julia Taft before reading this book, I would have liked an epilogue about her life following the story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
Julie Taft was often at the White House during the Lincoln administration and became like a member of the family. President Lincoln was very fond of her and she became the little girl he never had. The story changed my perception of Lincoln as cold and indifferent and focused only on his duties. He actually was a hands-on father and delighted in playing with his boys, whom he loved dearly. This little girl had befriended his wife first but when he became acquainted with her, he was captivated.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
Lincoln's Little Girl is a short account of Julia Taft's relationship with the Lincoln family. She was sixteen at the time and often brought her younger siblings over to play with the Lincoln children. I really enjoyed reading about this time period which included Lincoln's first year in the White House and the beginning of the Civil War. There was much insight into the personal life and feelings of Mr. Lincoln. If you are a Lincoln fan, this is a must read for you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse