Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selling Images Online
Over four hundred million people have accounts on Facebook. Thousands, if not millions, of tweets are sent each day. Personal web sites are common. With all this traffic flying over the Internet, it's easy to see why some photographers believe that there has to be a way to turn all these electronics signals into dollars by selling their images online. "The Linked...
Published on May 17, 2010 by Conrad J. Obregon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners
For the beginner photographer that has not done anything for marketing purposes, read this

If you are already experimenting with Social Media, Networking and promoting your business with SEO, find something else

most of the books about marketing for photographers are just the same content, nothing fresh or won't teach you how to take your marketing...
Published 10 months ago by Daniel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selling Images Online, May 17, 2010
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
Over four hundred million people have accounts on Facebook. Thousands, if not millions, of tweets are sent each day. Personal web sites are common. With all this traffic flying over the Internet, it's easy to see why some photographers believe that there has to be a way to turn all these electronics signals into dollars by selling their images online. "The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media" attempts to tell photographers how to do this.

After a brief introduction to social networking on the Internet, the authors discuss some fundamentals of social network marketing, including preparation of a plan, branding, creation of websites and blogs, search engine optimization and analytics, and the use of ads. The third part of the book describes most of the major social media sites and the authors' suggestions on how to use them. The book concludes with descriptions of how the authors and other photographers have used social networking for marketing.

My first impression of the book was that it seemed rather general and did not provide enough specifics on how to use particular social media sites. Then, when I went on line with the book in hand, I found that the authors had provided more information than I noticed at first. For example, while I was familiar with Google analytics, which allow you to examine the nature of the traffic to your website (presumably so that you can improve your marketing), I was unaware that Facebook also provided its own analytics until the book led me to them. On the other hand, you won't learn how to design a good website in this book.

Even though I recommend this book for those interested in online marketing, I do have some quibbles. For example in their discussion of web sites the authors ignore the capabilities of software like Photoshop and Lightroom to create web sites quickly. It is true that these websites follow templates that are not designed for marketing, but photographers willing to spend a little time learning to use software like Dreamweaver can quickly customize the web sites created to make marketing web sites.

In the chapter on blogs the authors tell us that photographers' blogs should be tailored to their audience, but then go on to describe blogs that discuss primarily photographic technique and activities. That makes sense for individuals trying to sell to photographers but not for those trying to market their photographs or services to the public.

One area that is ignored is the question of how effective online marketing actually is for most photographers. It seems to me that the biggest problem photographers trying to sell their work encounter is one of too much supply and too little demand. I realize that these economic questions are beyond the scope of this work, but photographers should be warned that even if you follow all of the advice in this book, there will still be more marketing to do.

For the photographer interested in marketing through social networking, this book will provide a good introduction. No one should expect that merely following the advice in this book will result in the sale of a single image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Internet Marketing and Social Media for Business, May 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
Online marketing and Social Media needs to be an integral part of all businesses today but the question that many businesses ask themselves is "How do I get started?" There are so many books written about Social Media and Internet Marketing that it is hard to decide which one to select. If you are just getting started in this Web 2.0 arena, I would suggest you pick up Lindsay Adler and Rosh Sillars' book The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media.

Don't let the title "The Linked Photographer" deter you from picking up this book and using it as guide to begin your Online Marketing. You could substitute the title with "The Linked Web Designer", "The Linked Entrepreneur", or "The Linked Small Business Owner". Adler and Sillars' niche is photography so of course there are some pages that are more relevant for photographers but so much of the information is relevant for all businesses.
.
If you are just starting out with Social Media and you don't want to buy a lot of books, this one covers how to get started with a blog and explanation of popular Social Media sites -- Twitter, Facebook, 4Square, Flickr, LinkedIn, YouTube -- enough to get you started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding social media reference no matter what your business is, June 17, 2010
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
It's already been said in some of the other reviews here, but this book is an outstanding reference for all the major social sites. Rosh and Lindsay (two of the best in the field) show you step by step how to sign up for each site, as well as provide tips to get the most out of each site and (in some cases) how to tie them all together if you want to. While it is understandably geared towards photographers, anyone in any field that is even thinking about dipping their toes in the social media waters will be able to benefit from the information in this book. I considered myself pretty knowledgable on this subject already, but found many tips that I could implement myself as well as little known tricks that I wasn't aware of before.

There's even an excellent section on SEO and tips for establishing your website in a manner that will make it attractive to search engines. Also if you're thinking about adding a blog to your site, well that's even covered in here as well - again with many tips to increase its search engine ranking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Resource for Photographers, September 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
I found a recommendation for this book on John Harrington's blog. I have admired John's business acumen for years so I thought this would be a good purchase. I was right. The chapters are well laid out and easy to understand. This book is especially critical for any professional photographer over 40 that has struggled to understand this new, seemingly impersonal, digital networking / marketing age. The covers have been pulled back with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Social Media Bible!, September 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
I can't recommend this book enough. I don't understand why there aren't many more reviews on it. Everyone interested in marketing via the social media world needs to read this book. Regardless, of whether you are a photographer or not - this book is your go too resource. The authors obviously did a lot of research in preparing and writing this book. The book is well written, organized and covers everything you need to know. It's easy to comprehend for the social media "beginner". This guide has a wealth of references, websites and more resources. I appreciate all the interviews and real-life experiences of what worked and what did not work for some very successful individuals. I have read this book once and I am already putting into action the author's recommendations and advice. It's working for me. There was so much to learn in this book - I will be reading it a second time. I will most definitely keep it as my go-to reference for marketing and social media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about SEO, June 14, 2011
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media is an exhaustive--but far from exhausting--examination of the newfangled world of social media and how to harness its unique power. Shutterbugs, however, aren't the only ones who will benefit from this study. Anyone interested in how to bend social media to their ends will find this book extremely illuminating.

The novice and intermediate alike will be introduced to not only the phenomenon of social media but also its ethos. The maxim 'you get what you give' is particularly true in the Twitterverse and Blogosphere, and the first section of the book spells out why this is the case. It also cautions the neophyte about the proper uses of social media, e.g. don't use Twitter to shamelessly plug yourself or you'll see no return on your investment.

Part II explains why what we want out of social media, as professionals, is a Return on Influence--not the more familiar mass media term 'Return on Investment'. It provides a template for the creation of ones 'personal brand' on the Internet. It shows how a website and blog are tools for improving ones standing in Google search results and how to go about optimizing keyword visibility through posts, pages, and metadata to drive traffic to ones site.

Part III delves deeply into the major social media outlets (of these perhaps only Flickr will be peripheral to those outside of the photo industry). It provides overviews of Facebook, Youtube, etc. and suggests best practices for each. The net effect is the revelation that social media, when used intelligently and with a real social commitment, will drive traffic to your website and blog across multiple platforms in a neverending nexus that increases a business's influence across the web. Slowly, the reader comes to understand that while the blog and website are the center of this solar system, all their networks work synergistically to enhance web presence.

Part IV provides a number of case studies that highlight successes in the photography industry that could easily be adapted to other businesses.

The Reference section alone justifies the price of this book; I'm well-versed in social media, and Part V introduced me to a number of resources I wish I had known about before!

Overall, this is an excellent book for anyone trying to get a grasp on how social media works--particularly suited for photographers. It impresses upon the reader how pivotal social media is for new and old businesses alike and--even better--teaches the reader the rules of engagement. This above all: social media is a social, not merely technocratic, enterprise that, when used honestly and effectively, can dramatically improve ones web presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing...a MUST-HAVE for photographers & others!, May 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
This book took me much longer than expected to read. I went through it with a highlighter and page tags that soon looked like so many feathers. It is deep, detailed, thorough beyond belief...and IMPORTANT. There is so much to know in this new age of marketing, and having this in the past would have saved a lot of time making hard-won discoveries made on my own. I too will keep it next to the computer as reference for how-to's as well as tools, sites, and gurus I didn't know about.

For those who think this is only for beginners, please look again. Rosh and Lindsay's book will amaze you! I don't know how they managed to finish such a thing, it's like an encyclopedia. I will certainly enthusiastically also refer non-photographers to it, as a primer on what currently exists to market your business (though they will be envious that is specifically targets photographers' interests). I am stunned and oh-so-grateful for the excellence of this book. Congratulations to the authors on a vital, professionally-presented manual. I LOVED IT! The best marketing money anyone could spend this year. BUY IT! Very inspiring and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Book of It's Kind, December 17, 2012
By 
Brian Lewis (Trinidad and Tobago) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
I rated this a 4-star because it is, in my opinion, the best book of its kind I have read and delivers what it promises: Online Marketing and Social Media. A must have book for photographers seeking to promote their work on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Socila Media Book, December 23, 2010
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
Rosh Sellars book The Linked Photographers guide is an excellent source for the emerging or established photographer. It takes you in easy steps how to master each phase of social media. I read it once for content and a second time at the computer to implement the excellent strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Resource..., November 1, 2010
This review is from: The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media (Paperback)
This is the PERFECT book for anyone who didn't come of age during the digital era who still wants to have a cohesive internet presence.

I have a year old photography business, and I've been slowly cobbling together a web presence -- first flickr, then my blog, then my website, now Facebook -- but this has been pretty haphazard, without a plan or a clear idea of how I am going to use each website to promote my business, or how to connect all of them together, or whether I should be twittering and doing even more. And I certainly haven't been gathering usage about my sites!

This book provides an excellent synopsis of the major social media tools on the Internet, and gives you enough information to get started in each area. It isn't a programming book, it's a guidebook to the internet as it pertains to a business trying to promote itself.

Love this book and highly, highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Linked Photographers' Guide to Online Marketing and Social Media
$29.99 $18.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.