Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Tap Giveaway Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars65
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2012
A snooty teenager, Kate, is an unwilling guest at her grandmother's home for the summer and, to make matters worse, she arrives on the day of her dead Aunt Sarah's birthday. The fact that Kate is a dead ringer for her Aunt Sarah, and the same age her aunt was at the time of her untimely demise, some forty years ago, stirs old memories that have everyone in a tizzy.
In the mist of all this pandemonium, Kate is mysteriously transported back to the year 1960, a time preceding Sarah's alleged suicide, and is immediately cast into the role of Sarah. She has no choice but to let the scene play out. Has she resurrected Sarah's ghost? Does her aunt have a message from beyond the grave? Why is this happening to her?
Kate's incredible journey in Sarah's footsteps opens her eyes to a web of deceit and closely guarded secrets that she is determined to bring to light. But as the date of Sarah's death looms ever nearer, Kate wonders if she will find a way back home to her own time or must she suffer the same fate as Sarah? The odds seem stacked against her as her quest for justice for Sarah puts Kate's own life in jeopardy.
This book held my interest from the first page to the last. Just when I breathed a sigh of relief that Kate's time travel ordeal was behind her, the author hit me with a surprise ending I didn't see coming. Looking forward to reading more books by this author. Well done, Jessica Tornese. Well done!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
This story is so Amazing ! Kate the girl ended up back in time during a storm while jumping through a hatch on the barn, falls in the hay and goes back in time of the place where Sarah was a little girl, and everyone thinks Kate was Sarah now!! Now Kate has to endure hard labor on the farm, without the luxuries of shoes and the lifestyle she once had. During the time Kate finds out what really happened to Sarah! When I first started reading the book I was unable to put it down, I read it through one whole day! I can't wait for the next book, because of the way the author foreshadowed the next book to come! I can't wait to see what happens next!!!!!
Melanie S.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2012
Linked Through Time is one of those remarkable Young Adult books that transcends its genre and joins the category of all-around good reads.
15-year-od city girl Kate hates it that her father is forcing her to spend the summer with him on his parents' farm. Nothing against her grandparents, but there's no internet, no cell service, no cable, and she breaks her iPod getting out of the car. Add to that the embarrassment of being constantly reminded that she is the spitting image her father's late sister Sarah, who died in the nearby rapids at just her age, and Kate seems set up for a thoroughly miserable stay.
Then comes the bonk on the head. Suddenly, it's 1960, and she is her aunt Sarah in the weeks leading up to the date of her death. In addition to all the usual dilemmas of accidental time travelers--What are the rules here? What happens if I do or don't do this that or the other? How do I get out? Can I get out?--Kate/Sarah has to become someone everyone else knows but whom she knows not at all. This includes getting used to constant farm chores (Tornese depicts these with been-there-done-that authenticity), outhouses, no running water, living with just a couple of outfits to wear, and two boy friends in a feud over her.
Not enough for you? All right then, Tornese throws in the central conflict of the whole book--solving (avoiding?) Sarah's death.
I won't go into more plot details because it's more fun to discover them by reading the book than a review, but I promise Tornese tells the tale with great skill and ends it with a tantalizing surprise that makes you wonder what might come next. Sequel maybe?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
This book was a fun surprise! I really enjoyed it. I thought Ms. Tornese's character development was really good, along with her storyline. There were also some really good lessons that this book taught like having a hard work ethic and not taking the things we have for granted. There was a little bit of language, but there were also a couple of attmepted rape scenes and the murder of a character. I don't think it is appropriate for children younger than 16. I liked it a lot and would recommend it with the previous warnings. You may read my full review on my book blog: [...].
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2012
Kate Christenson is a spoiled 21st Century city girl forced by her father to spend summer vacation on her grandparents' farm in rural Minnesota. To add insult to injury Kate has an uncanny resemblance to her Aunt Sarah. Family and friends who knew Sarah gasp or cry when they see Kate. Sarah died when she was Kate's age, 15, from an apparent suicide.

After an accident in the barn, Kate wakes to a calendar reading 1960. For some amazing reason she has been transported back in time fifty years to the summer when Sarah died.

Life isn't easy for Kate/Sarah. She must wake up before the roosters to milk cows, tend the hay in the barn, and countless other chores leaving her hands blistered and her body muscled. And the farm doesn't even have running water! No wonder Sarah killed herself. Or did she?

The boys in town seem to be drawn to Sarah. There's Dave Slater who is tall, handsome, strong, and a bit domineering. Travis Kochevar is a very cute townie with a gentle touch and dimples hard to resist.

Jessica Tornese takes her readers through time in Linked Through Time, an absorbing YA novel with riveting characters and a fascinating arc that will keep her audience turning pages as Kate's summer on the farm comes closer to the August date of her aunt's demise.

Michael Thal is the author of Goodbye Tchaikovsky.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
bookshelves: chillenge, autumn-challenge, 3-star-review, indie-author
Read from May 23 to 25, 2013

With the blurb telling you pretty much what you'll work out about 10% in, this book does come across as a bit predictable. There were a lot of stereotypes scattered throughout, some that work and others that didn't quite sit right.

I much preferred Kate while she's in 1960, but then, that really is the whole point isn't it. I did often feel like I was being transported back to my grandparents era. The story took on similarities to tales they have told about their childhood, so it wasn't much of a stretch to see what Jessica was going for.

There were a couple of inconsistencies with character that worried me (Travis) I didn't get his reaction, I am guessing it was to do with grief, shock and self preservation, but I don't think the scene quite got there.

Ultimately, the reading was quick, there was enough action to keep me reading and despite picking the climax about 15% in, the nice little sting in the tail was a welcome addition.

A couple of things I noticed:

78% - rag doll sentence repeated twice.

81% - '...creeped-out al (all) in one.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
First, the cover. I think it really fits the tone of the book--a bit mysterious, but romantic. The thing that is striking here is the TIME, but the front is that of the magazine the TIME as well. I'm not sure if it was done on purpose because it's an iconic magazine, but I suppose that would work either way. In the novel the main character is a snotty, spoiled brat of a teenager who constantly bickers with her brother. She's a city-girl and couldn't be more upset when her father drags her to the country especially because everyone keeps reminding her how much she looks like her suicidal aunt. Then she hits her head, and actually becomes her aunt. From here you get to watch the character grow into a mature and grateful person as she goes the trails and tribulations of a possessive and abusive boyfriend and the hardworking home life. I enjoyed watching the character grow and learn, and I could really relate to how she was feeling in the situations she was put in. Through each step of the character's journey you get intimate descriptions of what is going on, but these descriptions aren't overbearing or cliche; thus, they do not violate the show not tell tenant. The writing also perfectly captures the feelings and roller coaster of an abusive relationship including the realization that the guy is a total toolbox. You feel the fear, hate, and anguish with the relationships she is in. The abusive relationship with Dave is one that the aunt is already in when the main character gets there, and it seems she is feeling as the aunt did. Luckily, she stands up for herself and gets out the relationship, but there is a sense of doom that something bad is going to happen because of it either way. Then you get to see her relationship with Travis build up slowly but surely. You feel her doubts and questions about if this could be the same as with Dave and when it's not you're relieved. I really connected with the characters and enjoyed watching the main character grow up when I really hated her in the beginning. This book isn't a "Dr.Who" time travel book filled with fantasy--it's hardcore real life contemporary romance that has you trembling with the character and laughing, too. I purchased the next one in the series the second I saw the 100% on my Kindle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
LINKED THROUGH TIME By: Jessica Tornese

Kate Christensen is a typical, twenty-first century fifteen-year-old. She adores the latest electronics, her music, constant contact with her friends. She even has a teen's disdain for her dad and his roots. Then he takes her to what she believes is a prison for summer vacation, where she is caught up in a forty year old mystery about how her aunt died - the same aunt Kate resembles enough to be her identical twin. Caught up in a twist of time, she lives out her aunt's last two months on earth, and discovers Sarah's final moments weren't as everyone believes.
Jessica Tornese weaves a tale of a typical teenager, in trouble for sneaking out and angry at her father, with magical ease. Although Kate is somewhat unlikeable at the beginning of the story, the reader soon falls into the pain she feels, almost like the pain of abandonment. Kate's anger and rebellion leaves her lost in time, back on her Aunt Sarah's fifteenth birthday, two months before she dies in what the rest of the town believes is a suicide. Tornese then takes the reader on a journey, where modern day Kate is trapped in a past she never knew about, a past where her dad is her champion, a past where children work as hard or harder than their elders. There is a special guy for the person who Kate is during this time, a guy that gives her the creeps and fascinates her at the same time.
The chores done by the children while Kate is in the past toughen the world-weary city girl, give her the chance to right a wrong. Does she succeed? You'll have to read the story to find out. Jessica Tornese give the reader the chance to see the world through Kate's eyes, as she matures and learns her dad is always suspected something was wrong, and he is there for her when she returns to the present.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2012
LINKED THROUGH TIME by Jessica Tornese tells the story of Kate Christenson, a self-absorbed 15-year-old who's forced to spend the summer at her grandparents' farm in rural Minnesota. There's no internet or cell service. No cable. And before Kate even makes it into the farmhouse, she accidentally smashes her iPod: a clean separation from the life she knew. Kate has issues with everyone, from her dad to grandparents to her mother. Nothing is made easier by the fact that Kate's a dead ringer for her Aunt Sarah, who committed suicide at age 15.

But when Kate is transported back to 1960, resurrected as Sarah, her once-burning issues begin to seem trivial in light of what she's facing. Life is so different than what Kate is used to, it's like a movie. Every member of the family works long, hard hours on the farm. There's Sarah's questionable relationship with intimidating boyfriend Dave Slator. There's a new love interest, Travis Kochevar, a townie. There's Sarah's siblings, Kate's dad, and other aunts and uncles. And there the secrets Sarah keeps, secrets that she doesn't even share with her closest sibling, Kate's dad. With Sarah's death looming, Kate has to figure out why she's there. Kate grows up during her stay in 1960. When she pops back into the year 2000, she's matured, much more compassionate, and much more aware of love, loyalty, and family.

This book drew me in and moved along flawlessly. There's something for every reader: the paranormal, romance, suspense, and a mystery with a twist. Jessica Tornese's deft writing will keep you turning the pages. I'm hoping for a sequel!

Nancy Wood, author of Due Date
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2012
This book is recommended for young adults interested in time travel and putting family life in perspective. Kate is a contemporary, city-raised girl who visits her rural grandmother's home for a summer visit only to be propelled in time to the early 1960s, a time when her father was eight years old and his 15-year-old sister died in a suicidal act. Kate inhabits the body of Sarah, his father's sister, in the months leading to her death, and the experience of living in a rural Minnesota home with several chidren help provides a life perspective that was totally foreign to her modern-day life. As Sarah, Kate deals with living in a family with several hard-working siblings, an abusive boyfriend, her first romantic experiences, and the need to somehow try to logically explain the time travel experience. An older reader would spot some discrepancies with the depicted picture of rural life, and there are a few construction issues with the text, but it is an interesting read and recommended for those young adults wanting to find a story that provides a true opportunity for the imagination to explore the possibilities beyond the world as reality would have people believe.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.