Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renewed My Passion for Networking
LinkedWorking has reinvigorated my passion for connecting with people to
the point that I found myself momentarily leaving the manuscript to visit
LinkedIn and try out a few new tips and locate new people to connect with.

Let's be clear that this is not a book for novice LinkedIn users. There are not screen shots and basic tutorials for newbies. The...
Published on April 13, 2009 by Ryan L. Stephens

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Linked Working Review
I was generally disappointed in this book. Very generic in giving assistance to improve LinkedIn Skills. The case studies were good but the book seemed like it was slapped together without any continuity. The book wasn't helpful at the level I expected.
Published 22 months ago by Frank


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renewed My Passion for Networking, April 13, 2009
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
LinkedWorking has reinvigorated my passion for connecting with people to
the point that I found myself momentarily leaving the manuscript to visit
LinkedIn and try out a few new tips and locate new people to connect with.

Let's be clear that this is not a book for novice LinkedIn users. There are not screen shots and basic tutorials for newbies. The authors assume you get the basics of LinkedIn, but novice users can certainly extrapolate valuable networking skills from the book that will invariably work for anyone looking to become a better networker.

That's one thing I really appreciated about the book - it's ability to give you important networking tactics, how those tactics apply to LinkedIn, and then wash it down with a real life example from uber successful LinkedIn users. LinkedWorking does all of this without all the fluff and hype you're going to get from a lot of books on networking and connecting. It strips it down to the core of what is important, and included great suggestions such as ways to approach e-mailing busy people, and intelligent strategies to benchmark your success on LinkedIn.

If you really want to up the ante on your networking efforts and want to realize the power of LinkedIn as a tool to help you bolster these efforts, LinkedInWorking is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LinkedWorking goes beyond LinkedIn, March 8, 2009
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
LinkedWorking describes an insider's view of how to maximize LinkedIn as a tool to connect and prosper personally and professionally. What I like most about it is:

- practical advice on how to build an effective network
- a specific plan designed to grow productive connections
- interviews with professionals who use LinkedIn to help them succeed

LinkedWorking is about creating value by building meaningful relationships and enriching experiences that go far beyond the web. LinkedIn is just the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LinkedWorking works and it works great, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
I had found out about Lewis Howes from Jeff Bullas's blog who is a huge Social Media Blogger expert based in Australia. Jeff referenced Lewis Howes as an expert in LinkedIn network. I immediately clicked on a link [...] and began digesting information. After couple of hours my professional profile on LinkedIn network went from nowhere to number 1. That was something I could not believe my eyes.
I have ordered the book right away and was eager to learn the rest of the secrets from his book. This book is a must read for anyone who wants to bring their professional networking to a next level. LinkedWorking is full of real life examples of people who start with nothing and ended up with multimillion dollar businesses. And these real examples prove that Rome was not built in one day. People who achieved success using LinkedIn worked very hard to be where they are at. Anyone can get there step by step. Consistency is the key. I will implement every single advice that was given in this book.

PS: I had a privilege to meet Lewis Howes in person. He is super nice and down to earth guy. Lewis is a huge fan of Thai Cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LinkedWorking Works!, June 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
I've read a lot of books about social networking topics and I've found that most of them are "here's how you sign up" type books and don't really tell you how to make money with it. LinkedWorking is different. This one tells you how to actually use LinkedIn for profit. Since getting this book, in less than 2 months I've gone from 300 LinkedIn connections to over 2000. My leads have increased significantly as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tips and information in Linked Working, May 30, 2009
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I like that I could put the tips and information to immediate use. I've been slowly building up my network in the past few days. I like the information about joining groups and answering questions.

Though the book is focused on LinkedIn, I think that the information is applicable to networking in general.

I also like that it was a quick read.

The only downside is a few typos in the book, but that does not get in the way of the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Networking meets LinkedIn, March 21, 2009
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
There are a lot of books out there that talk about using tools. LinkedWorking goes beyond the tool, and instead, walks the reader through networking and what it is, and how LinkedIn can add value to networking, and not replace it. Another differentiating factor of the book is the numerous success stories of others based on using LinkedIn. A must read if you plan to continue thriving in the digital age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Linked Working Review, September 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
I was generally disappointed in this book. Very generic in giving assistance to improve LinkedIn Skills. The case studies were good but the book seemed like it was slapped together without any continuity. The book wasn't helpful at the level I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Chief Rabbit Reviews: Linked Working by Frank Agin and Lewis Howes, July 8, 2010
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
Good Morning, Social Rabbit here with your guide to the world of social media.

Monday was so mental that it has slipped into Tuesday, so sorry about that readers. Today I am reviewing LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn the Worlds Largest Professional Networking Website by Frank Agin and Lewis Howes.

This book is all about using LinkedIn effectively to produce results. Each chapter covers a different aspect of LinkedIn, it relates it to networking in real life and then gives an example of someone on LinkedIn who has had success with it. Below are some of my favourite bits from the book (these are all direct quotes):

* When you send an invitation you should always try to make it personal, or at least add some value to the message.... A personal touch always increased your chances of being accepted
* You never know which connections will come in handy in the future. This is why it is important to never pass judgement while on LinkedIn
* Everyone is a networking opportunity for you (and you are an opportunity for everyone). This is a powerful networking concept. As powerful as it is, however, there are limitations to it. The primary limitation is that you have no control over where this networking strategy leads. That is, you can never tell when you will come across a networking opportunity and when you do, you have little control as to what might be. You eliminate much of this limitation when you take it upon yourself to reconnect with people.
* This is the Golden Rule of Networking: Give first ... get second.
* Eventually what you inject into your network - opportunities, information, support, energy and additional contacts - comes back to you.
* Here are several ideas for expressing true altruism on LinkedIn:
1. Offer Help When It Is Least Expected
2. Forward Important Introductions
3. Make Introductions
4. Provide Useful Feedback
5. Make New-Comers Feel Welcome
6. Make Recommendations
7. Express Gratitude
8. Ask A Question
9. Start A Group
10. Reach Out To Help Others
* The things you need to do in the real world of networking to get involved includes joining local groups, attending city meetings, doing community service, becoming an officer in the groups you join, and so on. The beautiful part about LinkedIn is it allows you to do those same activities in a virtual setting.
* Another way to become actively involved on LinkedIn is the Answers section. This section gives you the ability to ask and answer questions pertaining to any topic in any industry. People actively read these answers on a daily basis, and numerous business deals have come from individuals providing compelling information.
* Here are some suggestions for expanding your network into a variety of "cliques":
1. Group Diversification
2. People Watch
3. Group Introductions
4. Offer Group Assistance
* To set yourself on the path of consistent action, start by establishing certain goals you want to achieve through your networking efforts. How many new people do you want to meet in a given period? How often do you want to connect with those you already know? How much and what type of value do you want to give to those you know? Once you have established goals, plan out the required activities for meeting your goals.
* Your mission on LinkedIn is to follow the ABB's of networking: Always Be Building your network. Whether you are trying to find a job, create new opportunities, close more deals, make more money or become a globally recognized industry leader, the success factor for every networker is to Always Be Building your network of connections and opportunities.

Obviously there is a lot of info in this book, whether you are new to LinkedIn or have been using it for years I am sure you will find something useful. It is written in an easy to understand and read style, with only 100 pages it is a quick read. It doesn't go into details in terms of click here, do this, do that, but is more about the overall objectives and ways you can use LinkedIn.

If you have read this book and have any comments please let me know below or on the Social Rabbit Facebook Page. Or if you have any suggestions for what to read next. I am still reading the New Rules of Marketing and PR, but I am finding it heavy going, hence why it didn't get reviewed this week - next week I promise!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read Lewis, January 25, 2010
By 
Mary S. Sheehan (stow, oh United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
Got your book. I read in one day, could not put it down. Great information and insight on how to use LinkedIn. I recommend it. Look forward to meeting you.
Mike Sheehan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LinkedIn Primer!, July 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website (Paperback)
Thanks! to Frank Agin & Lewis Howes for giving those of us that are infants to the world of LinkedIn a handbook to begin the journey. They have written a roadmap to navigate the world's largest professional network with examples, definitions and helpful resources. While LinkedIn is an ever evolving tool for anyone in business learning the basics is essential to becoming a productive network connection.
The professional growth experienced by Frank and Lewis is testimony to their understanding of the power of networking. These guys have defiantly given mid adopters a running start to understanding the role and benefits of this cyber culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LinkedWorking: Generating Success on LinkedIn ... the World's Largest Professional Networking Website
$19.95 $14.46
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.