Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars32
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$34.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 8, 2011
This book is the basis of my career. I was working doing phone support. I was the bridge between the customers and the linux engineers running the hosted application. As I became interested in the work the engineers were doing and showed a little aptitude someone recommended this book. I read it cover to cover while commuting on the train and now I have 11 years experience as a Linux/Unix engineer. On a daily basis I draw on knowledge that I was originally exposed to in this text.

What does it provide?

This text is not "linux for dummies." It is a complete overview of command line Linux administration intended for administrators. I knew nothing about Linux before I read it. After reading I was able to make a career change to become a full time administrator. It basically covers all of the major administration activities and gives a good overview of the commands necessary to accomplish these tasks. It also goes into some of the theory behind good administration without going to deep or getting pedantic.

If you are considering learning command line linux or just tinkering around and need a basis so you know what to google for this is a great starting point.

I now provide a copy of this book to any new engineers that I train. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2009
Years ago I purchased a copy of Linux in a Nutshell, fourth edition. That book has been well used and is looking a bit shabby. When O'Reilly offered me a free review copy of Linux in a Nutshell, sixth edition, I jumped at the chance. Some of the thoughts that follow will apply to either edition (as well as the not-reviewed fifth edition, which I don't have), but I will point out some of the more important or obvious updates to help others who also own older editions to determine whether the changes are sufficient to convince them to buy the new version.

This book is not intended as a tutorial, but rather as a quick reference. While the irony of titling a 900+ page book "... in a Nutshell" is not lost on me, like all of the books in O'Reilly's Nutshell series, this book is a fabulous resource for finding out the details of a specific command or concept rapidly.

Let me start with the foundation for my opinion that this book is one of the most useful and important books for anyone who uses Linux from the command line on a regular basis or wants to be able to or plans to do so. Any command you should desire to use is listed in chapter 3, with the command's syntax and options. This gives you one place to look that does not require an internet connection or the patience to scroll up and down reading man pages for commands. This is a book about Linux as it was originally conceived and intended: a powerful operating system based directly upon and consistent with the philosophy and design of Unix, but free for anyone to download, install, copy, modify, share and use.

This book is not about how to use Linux on the desktop, and in fact, the sixth edition does not cover the Linux desktop at all. What you do find are discussions, descriptions, and definitions of all of the main tools and tricks a person needs to get work accomplished using Linux as a platform--not the specific programming languages like C, Java or Python, but the underlying tools such as commands from the GNU project and BSD, editors like vi and emacs, using the bash shell, source code management using subversion and git (both new to this edition, replacing a discussion of CVS), and great introductions to Linux system and network administration. In addition, we have a wonderful new chapter on virtualization command line tools that covers all the main options such as KVM, Xen and VMware.

I am amazed that my description thus far has only scratched the surface of the book. I haven't yet mentioned the chapters covering sed and gawk, the discussion of software package management, the chapter detailing LILO and Grub boot loaders, or the lovely section on pattern matching which should save a lot of people a good amount of time.

My disappointments in the book are a bit niggly. While the book was written and tested using each of the main Linux distributions (Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora and SUSE), there have been a couple of updates to software covered in the book that were not available when the book went to press. Since I know how long it takes to write and prepare a manuscript for printing, it is kind of silly for me to want a book that was published in September 2009 to cover Windows 7 (although dual booting with earlier versions is covered), ext4, or Grub2, even if these are all current in late October 2009 (the latter two being included in Ubuntu 9.10).

The positives are that this is a clear, well written and edited (disclosure: I worked with one of the editors, Andy Oram, on VMware Cookbook), and filled with valuable information with an easy to use index and table of contents with a tighter than previous focus on the internal bits of Linux without the earlier distractions of trying to mention GNOME and KDE or a wider variety of shell options while only covering each with too little detail to be useful. This edition expands the content on the things it does cover to a very useful level of detail while making the hard decision of what to omit to keep the book within a bindable number of pages.

In any edition, this book has a permanent place on my shelf for reference. If you own an older version, the decision to buy the latest edition will depend on whether you want or need the absolute latest info on specific commands (this stuff doesn't change often, but it does change) and whether you are interested in the new or expanded material covered in this edition as outlined above. If you never use the command line in Linux, the book might not interest you. Otherwise, I can't imagine using Linux without having a copy nearby.

Disclosures: I bought an earlier edition, but was given the sixth edition free by O'Reilly as a review copy, I write for O'Reilly, and I have worked with one of the editors who also worked on this book.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
I have been asked quite a few times to recommend a book for the novice to learn Linux. This book is it. Effectively half the book is devoted to every command that typically comes standard on distributions. If you just look through those, say one or two commands a day and read the options you'll start to see what kind of capabilities Linux affords you.

Anyone looking to understand the basics will need to know package management and this gives you yum and apt-get and rpm and dpkg so you get perspective on both the Redhat and the Debian package management methods.

The bash shell, pattern matching vim (my favorite) and emacs basics to get you started. This book almost 1,000 pages and none of it wasted with useless info. Browse a couple commands a day and read the rest of the book cover to cover. You'll be rock'n Linux like a pro!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
While the book has some utility as a reference, it is not well organized. Frequently a chapter or topic starts out in the worst possible way, which is to fog things up by discussing exception cases before an introduction to the topic. Then you will frequently see examples using command line characters that have not yet been explained, followed by tables exhaustively listing the various command line characters and including truncated, frequently ambiguous explanations. There are also many cases of circular explanations, where command x is defined as being like command y, except it is case sensitive, or it uses regex rules, or what have you. But when you go to command y, you find a poor explanation, so you wind up with very very clear understanding that command x is a partially explained variant of a vaguely defined command. This book is not an expeditious way to learn, nor is it particularly effective as a quick reference. You would be better off with half as much information and twice as much effort to convey it.
11 comment12 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2010
Libraries strong in system administration or Linux programming will find LINUX IN A NUTSHELL to be a powerful updated edition offering a focus of Linux options and all the latest new options for applying Linux commands. From learning hundreds of shell commands and understanding the Bash shell interpreter to processing text with expressions and using administrative tools, LINUX IN A NUTSHELL provides an extensive reference for any serious computer collection.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon September 27, 2009
This book covers the administration of, usage of, and shell programming on Linux systems. The book is an overview of Linux and serves as an excellent reference, but doesn't come close to a tutorial. This 6th edition continues to be a good extended man page for the operating system's many commands, features, and utilities. Linux has recently been extended, and most of those extensions appear to be covered in this book. You should already have a basic knowledge of Unix/Linux and just need a quick reference for when you forget something. For example, you are not going to learn how to program using gawk with the chapter included in this book. Neither will you figure out the intracies of version control and Git. The preface states that this new sixth edition has been examined and checked against the most common Linux distributions (Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, and SUSE) so that it reflects the most useful and popular commands.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
Mostly a collection of man page information, Title is misleading - Should be Linux Commands in a nutshell.
I bought this book expecting more description of concepts but was disappointed
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2010
Original review written by Celestino Bellone, JUG Lugano, [...]

I start reading this book when I was looking for a quick command reference to use for teaching linux to people that never heard of it before; I found it simply FANTASTIC! It's a clever reference of (almost) anything about linux!

Beware: if you're looking for a beginner guide, don't buy this book! As suggested by the authors, it's useful for those people who already knows linux.

This book covers thousands of commands with a clean layout (like "man" but more powerful) and other important topics such as:

- bash shell reference
- package management systems (yum, apt)
- gawk, vim, ex reference
- git, svn reference
- virtualization how-to

In few words, "Linux in a Nutshell" is a complete reference that you should always have on your desk, even if you're a linux "power user" or a system administrator.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
"Linux in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference" (6th Edition) must be close to the most complete Linux reference book on the planet. My copy is in trade-paperback (9in x 6in) size and it is just under 2-inches thick, with the Index ending on page 917. Keep in mind that this book is NOT for learning programming, and it is probably not for beginners, but for what it claims to be, it can't be beat. It hold an important position on my shelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
More accurately described as "Incomplete Linux Reference Manual" and not "Linux in a Nutshell"

Most of the book is lists - commands, options, etc. The few pieces that are instructional are fairly good, but they are few and far between. For a beginner, this is almost useless. And an intermediate or advanced user would be better off with a more complete reference (or simply the man pages).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.