Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'd like to give it four and a half - maybe four and three quarters
I liked this - a lot.

The goal here is to more thoroughly discuss usage of command line tools. Scott gives examples and discussion of just about everything you are likely to do at the command line.

I have quibbles, yes. Throughout the book I kept thinking "but why didn't you mention this?" or "I would have been sure to add x". But when all is said...
Published on July 1, 2006 by Anthony Lawrence

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Book
Its an OK book has some good things but it covers too many older priorities that aren't really command line concerns while not covering topics that are of more concern to the modern user such as scripts.
Published on October 21, 2007 by Lawrence Paul Eaton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'd like to give it four and a half - maybe four and three quarters, July 1, 2006
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
I liked this - a lot.

The goal here is to more thoroughly discuss usage of command line tools. Scott gives examples and discussion of just about everything you are likely to do at the command line.

I have quibbles, yes. Throughout the book I kept thinking "but why didn't you mention this?" or "I would have been sure to add x". But when all is said and done, so what? You can't cover every single thing that everyone might want to mention - or if you did the "book" would fill a room.

The new Linux user will definitely learn a LOT here. Old hands at the Linux command line may find it slightly less valuable, but if you are coming to Linux from other Unixes, this is a handy and concise reference that will make you more aware of the Linux differences.

Scott has done a great job here and deserves applause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ONE Best Book to Buy (if you're moving to Linux from Windows), November 30, 2006
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
Frankly, the GUIs you'll encounter in Ubuntu, SuSE, etc., are so good that you may not often have any recourse to the command line. When you do, however, this is the book that you want. Yeah, I know, you can buy some fat distro-specific tome for not much more money, but the free documentation provided by *many* linux communities is already good enough. Command line stuff is another matter, especially if you are new at it. Give Granneman's book a chance and make the command line work the way you want it to work. (By the way, I read the "Phrasebook" slowly--just a chapter every other day or so; easy to master in less than a month.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely perfect, September 5, 2007
By 
John "john8791" (WALCOTT, IA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
I could not have found a better compact Linux reference book. O'Reilly's "Linux in a Nutshell" is very comprehensive, but it gives very few examples and you pretty much have to know what you're looking for since it is organized alphabetically. "Linux Phrasebook" is organized by tasks such as "Finding Stuff" and gives practical examples. This book was money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy for Windows users, June 3, 2007
By 
MattK (Central Florida, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
I am picking up some Linux knowledge having been a database admin on Windows for many years. While concise, this book gives some explanation and context to commands/operations rather than simply acting as a copy of the built in documentation. More verbose than a "pocket guide", it is still quick enough to use as "how do I do this now" guide, rather than a chapter-by-chapter research book. This will likely be the most used book in my experimentations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Linux User's Must, January 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
What a great little book!!! It is chock full of great information that can be used by novices and experts. I provided it to students of a class I taught and everyone thought it was great. This is the book that remains on the desk on not some corner of the room collecting dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, November 6, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
I've found this book very helpful. It sits beside my computer at all times. It helps not only with Linux but with Mac OS X as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Command Line Assistance For Beginner Thru Guru, January 6, 2008
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
As a person who's first computer (PDP-10) experience was using the command line, I am familiar with the basics. However, if you have never worked via the command line before this book is a great start. Its layout is task oriented, rather than by command name. This allows the reader to quickly find out how to do things rather than just reading what a command does. Each task is accompanied by examples and and detailed explanations. At the same time the author also provides information about what is happening "behind the curtain". A command line veteran will find this book a source of new information as well as an excellent reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suggested reading to anyone who wants to use Linux, September 10, 2007
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
I know what most people are thinking,"why can't I just use the GUI in Linux to do what I want? There is no reason to learn the command line." I here it from my students all the time. Every time I bring up command line in class I hear a groan pass over the classroom.
Most people do not know the power command line gives them in using a computer be it Linux, OS X, or even the hated Windows. This book helps with two of them the Linux and the OS X for the Windows I suggest using Powershell and it will give you the same abilities as the ones built in to Linux but I digress.
This book gives new people and intermediate people the commands to use and how to use them in a easy to follow format with lots of examples that actually work, compared to some books. The book is designed with Ubuntu in mind but worked just fine with my Novell SUSE 10.2.
The book was not dry reading and was somewhat entertaining with some of the examples. It is definitely suggested reading for anyone who wishes to learn Linux because that "GUI" stuff is not always available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daily use, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
I picked this up for a new job that is linux intensive. This is a must have if you spend 8 hours a day on a command line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, has most commands I've needed to look up, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Linux Phrasebook (Paperback)
Easy to understand, has most commands I've needed to look up over the last few weeks as I come up to speed on helping to manage our Linux servers. Only deducted 1 star is it is a bit old and the author has a new one coming out soon (April 2013 I believe).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Linux Phrasebook
Linux Phrasebook by Scott Granneman (Paperback - June 22, 2006)
$24.99 $18.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.