Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
13
Price:$10.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 4, 2011
The first (and only time) I saw this was when I was a kid watching Drive-In Movie on channel 5 (all NJ & NY people can relate). Man, it had to be the mid-80s and it had the clumsy US title "Roar of the Lion". Honestly, back then I didn't really like it, even though it was a Shaw production, and it starred Lo "Golden Arm Kid" Mang, Johnny Wang & kung fu wiz, Chien Yueh-Sheng (Chien Siu-Ho's older brother). On TV, it was pan & scan, and I'm sure Larry Bensky had to edit about 15 to 20 minutes off of it's 109 minute running time to make it fit a two hour time slot with commercials. Also, the English dub just sucks big time (the same voices/idiots who ruined the Eng. dub of classics "Flag of Iron", "Martial Club" & "Legendary Weapons of China"). Plus, I missed the opening ten minutes where a lot of the plot is discussed. Back then it was incomprehensible, but it did have decent fu and a really cool Southern/Northern Lion dance competition.

Well, let me tell ya something, I'm glad I took a chance and bought this little 1980 gem. It's amazing what a good transfer can do, kudos to Tokyo Shock. I've noticed there are three things where Tokyo Shock rises above Dragon Dynasty; 1) great DVD covers, 2) no dubtitles (D.D. has been guilty of this a couple of times), 3) trailer/photo gallery.

I highly recommend "Lion vs Lion"; first; the movie-great performances (in the Chinese dub), now it makes sense (even though the plot has two sub-plots interwoven with it) and some beautiful (as usual with Shaw) photography. Second; the fu-great choreography by Hsu Hsia & Chien Yueh-Sheng (as Ching agent Qian Jung-He), who also both wrote & directed this. It starts off with a bang with a good fight over the opening credits (something I missed the first time). Even though Yung Wang Yu doesn't really show off his fu, there are two outstanding fights here; Johnny Wang vs Chien Yueh-Sheng & Johnny going toe-to-toe with Lo Mang. Third; the transfer-crisp remastered picture, widescreen (which benefits the fights), and in addition to the lame English dub, it also has Cantonese & Mandarin audio with remastered subtitles. No, it may not be a Chang Cheh or Lau Kar-Leung picture, but this works, 3.5 stars. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 29, 2016
Here are the correct product details for Lion vs Lion (1981) aka Roar of the Lion.

Video: Lion vs Lion is presented in 2:35 anamorphic widescreen and the excellent remaster job from Celestial looks great.

Audio: English mono, Mandarin mono, and Cantonese mono. All three audio options are clean and clear sounding.

Subtitles: There are English subtitles that are actual subtitles and not just dub subs (subtitles for the english dubbing track) that I've seen on many other kung fu dvds.

Extras:
* A trailer for Lion vs Lion
* A stills gallery
* Trailers of other Tokyo Shock dvds

The thing I enjoyed the most about this film are the amazing lion dance sequences. This is one of the few kung fu movies that I have seen that showcases lion dancing. The only other Shaw Brothers that I have seen with some brief lion dancing is Martial Club. The other notable non-Shaw movies I have seen with lion dancing are Once Upon a Time In China and Young Master.

Whether you enjoy lion dancing or old school Shaw Brothers, you can't go wrong with this purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
The movie itself is enjoyable with good kung fu action which also showed the differences in Lions from different regions. The video was crisp and the audio clean. The dvd was pristine with no case damage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
I love almost all Shaw Brothers martial arts movies. I've never heard of this one before, but bought it because it starred one of the venoms. It's a great film. Both funny and with a lot of action. Highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
I like this movie...lol
It's like a kung fu buddy film. Lo Meng is a loyal Ching soldier that is so straight laced it gets him on the bad side of his peers.
He ends up befriending Wong Yu (Dirty Ho!) and gets mixed up in some dangerous hi jinx. Johnny Wang also plays a great role similar in spirit to the one he played in S vs W. Its a good film thought not a great one. The fight choreography is done by a Yuet Sang Chin who is a pretty scary looking dude but a fantastic fight choreographer.

Point of interest...
Lo Meng dissed this film in an interview, claiming that he really didn't know why he agreed to star in it.
I think the film was a flop on release as well. A shame considering it is a fun, funny and ultimately sad film...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2014
If simply the best kung fu action is what you're looking for, look no further. Lo Meng bring some fo the best lion dancing action footage ever seen on film. The amazing lion dance sequences alone gives this film major historic significance where it's the first time Northern and Southern lion dancing skills are compared. You will be disappointed if you don't add this to your Shaw Brothers Kung-Fu collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2012
I am dismayed that this release is only rated 3 stars (as of this writing). It contains a number of stand-out qualities that separate it from the pack. For one, the humor is actually funny and not the typical groan-inducing variety. It translates well and does not detract from the action as is so often the case. A seamless (and appropriate) blend of action and hijinks. Second, the lion dance is the best that I have seen on film. It is engaging and superior to other efforts, like in Martial Club. Third, the fight between perennial villian Johnny Wang (frequent Venom contributor) and the Qing spy (Chin Yuet-sang) is top notch, one of the best ever, but only the finest among many great fights in this film. Add to that an atypically bleak ending and you have a very different and satisfying martial arts entry.

I hadn't seen Lo Meng and Wong Yu paired as leads before, but they are just right as the con man (Yu) and the noble everyman (Meng), with superior fighting skills, who get mixed-up in historic intrigue. There is some disjointedness in the plotting, and the haunted house scene at the end is misplaced, but this is a top-shelf Celestial release. The Tokyo Shock DVD is crisp and clear, with good subtitles and extras. I only wish that more of the recent Arc Entertainment releases were of this caliber. 4.5 stars. A gem of open-hand fighting, fists, kicks, and weaponry. Don't overlook this! Bone-crunching action!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
This movies is a shaw brothers classic. Excellent story line and awsome dragon dance at the beginning. top notch choreograph throughout entire movie. A must for the martial arts fan .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
Classic kungfu straight from the studio Shaw brothers. kid with the golden arm turns good and he gets imo one of the better storyline they had. and its remastered!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Very good quality and sound, wasn't the bit disappointed. I love Shaw Brothers martial arts films and the production of this dvd didn't take anything away from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.