Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate Fu!
I am dismayed that this release is only rated 3 stars (as of this writing). It contains a number of stand-out qualities that separate it from the pack. For one, the humor is actually funny and not the typical groan-inducing variety. It translates well and does not detract from the action as is so often the case. A seamless (and appropriate) blend of action and...
Published on February 3, 2012 by Ajax

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another class act from Tokyo Shock
The first (and only time) I saw this was when I was a kid watching Drive-In Movie on channel 5 (all NJ & NY people can relate). Man, it had to be the mid-80s and it had the clumsy US title "Roar of the Lion". Honestly, back then I didn't really like it, even though it was a Shaw production, and it starred Lo "Golden Arm Kid" Mang, Johnny Wang & kung fu wiz, Chien...
Published on November 4, 2011 by Michael W. Jaworski


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another class act from Tokyo Shock, November 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
The first (and only time) I saw this was when I was a kid watching Drive-In Movie on channel 5 (all NJ & NY people can relate). Man, it had to be the mid-80s and it had the clumsy US title "Roar of the Lion". Honestly, back then I didn't really like it, even though it was a Shaw production, and it starred Lo "Golden Arm Kid" Mang, Johnny Wang & kung fu wiz, Chien Yueh-Sheng (Chien Siu-Ho's older brother). On TV, it was pan & scan, and I'm sure Larry Bensky had to edit about 15 to 20 minutes off of it's 109 minute running time to make it fit a two hour time slot with commercials. Also, the English dub just sucks big time (the same voices/idiots who ruined the Eng. dub of classics "Flag of Iron", "Martial Club" & "Legendary Weapons of China"). Plus, I missed the opening ten minutes where a lot of the plot is discussed. Back then it was incomprehensible, but it did have decent fu and a really cool Southern/Northern Lion dance competition.

Well, let me tell ya something, I'm glad I took a chance and bought this little 1980 gem. It's amazing what a good transfer can do, kudos to Tokyo Shock. I've noticed there are three things where Tokyo Shock rises above Dragon Dynasty; 1) great DVD covers, 2) no dubtitles (D.D. has been guilty of this a couple of times), 3) trailer/photo gallery.

I highly recommend "Lion vs Lion"; first; the movie-great performances (in the Chinese dub), now it makes sense (even though the plot has two sub-plots interwoven with it) and some beautiful (as usual with Shaw) photography. Second; the fu-great choreography by Hsu Hsia & Chien Yueh-Sheng (as Ching agent Qian Jung-He), who also both wrote & directed this. It starts off with a bang with a good fight over the opening credits (something I missed the first time). Even though Yung Wang Yu doesn't really show off his fu, there are two outstanding fights here; Johnny Wang vs Chien Yueh-Sheng & Johnny going toe-to-toe with Lo Mang. Third; the transfer-crisp remastered picture, widescreen (which benefits the fights), and in addition to the lame English dub, it also has Cantonese & Mandarin audio with remastered subtitles. No, it may not be a Chang Cheh or Lau Kar-Leung picture, but this works, 3.5 stars. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate Fu!, February 3, 2012
By 
Ajax (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
I am dismayed that this release is only rated 3 stars (as of this writing). It contains a number of stand-out qualities that separate it from the pack. For one, the humor is actually funny and not the typical groan-inducing variety. It translates well and does not detract from the action as is so often the case. A seamless (and appropriate) blend of action and hijinks. Second, the lion dance is the best that I have seen on film. It is engaging and superior to other efforts, like in Martial Club. Third, the fight between perennial villian Johnny Wang (frequent Venom contributor) and the Qing spy (Chin Yuet-sang) is top notch, one of the best ever, but only the finest among many great fights in this film. Add to that an atypically bleak ending and you have a very different and satisfying martial arts entry.

I hadn't seen Lo Meng and Wong Yu paired as leads before, but they are just right as the con man (Yu) and the noble everyman (Meng), with superior fighting skills, who get mixed-up in historic intrigue. There is some disjointedness in the plotting, and the haunted house scene at the end is misplaced, but this is a top-shelf Celestial release. The Tokyo Shock DVD is crisp and clear, with good subtitles and extras. I only wish that more of the recent Arc Entertainment releases were of this caliber. 4.5 stars. A gem of open-hand fighting, fists, kicks, and weaponry. Don't overlook this! Bone-crunching action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Lion Dance Action, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
If simply the best kung fu action is what you're looking for, look no further. Lo Meng bring some fo the best lion dancing action footage ever seen on film. The amazing lion dance sequences alone gives this film major historic significance where it's the first time Northern and Southern lion dancing skills are compared. You will be disappointed if you don't add this to your Shaw Brothers Kung-Fu collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pow!, August 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
Classic kungfu straight from the studio Shaw brothers. kid with the golden arm turns good and he gets imo one of the better storyline they had. and its remastered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
I love almost all Shaw Brothers martial arts movies. I've never heard of this one before, but bought it because it starred one of the venoms. It's a great film. Both funny and with a lot of action. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classics are the best!, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
Very good quality and sound, wasn't the bit disappointed. I love Shaw Brothers martial arts films and the production of this dvd didn't take anything away from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The movie itself is enjoyable with good kung fu action which also showed the differences in ..., September 7, 2014
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
The movie itself is enjoyable with good kung fu action which also showed the differences in Lions from different regions. The video was crisp and the audio clean. The dvd was pristine with no case damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No big name stars but great performers and performances in the action sequences, August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
I can see why Bey Logan said this film is under rated. No big name stars but great performers and performances in the action sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Shaw Brothers movie, December 28, 2013
By 
WisdomThang (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
The movie could have been better in how it ended so abruptly. It started of good and the story was reasonable but then at the end everything faded badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion Vs Lion (DVD)
on a personal level did not enjoy this particular movie lot is missing in the movie itself need more action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lion Vs Lion
Lion Vs Lion by Various (DVD - 2011)
$16.98 $10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.