Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A passionate, soulful affair.
"Lioness" consists of 12 previously unreleased archive recordings and alternate takes, compiled by long-time friends and producers including Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson, in the wake of her death this July, aged just 27.
In the wrong hands, this might have been a slapdash collection, but "Lioness" is presented with genuine tenderness and it never paints Winehouse as a...
Published on December 6, 2011 by giucaz

versus
81 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
Considering the impact of 2006's instant classic Back to Black I don't think many would have thought they'd still be waiting for a follow up in 2011. In the years between the two albums Amy became a drug user and by 2008 at age 24 was diagnosed with emphysema as a result of smoking crack cocaine, cannabis & tobacco. Images of Amy on drugs from 2008 onwards were grim...
Published on December 6, 2011 by Nick Dangerous


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A passionate, soulful affair., December 6, 2011
By 
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
"Lioness" consists of 12 previously unreleased archive recordings and alternate takes, compiled by long-time friends and producers including Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson, in the wake of her death this July, aged just 27.
In the wrong hands, this might have been a slapdash collection, but "Lioness" is presented with genuine tenderness and it never paints Winehouse as a tragic diva stereotype.
The focus, quite rightly, is her vocal talent - not just its soulful power but also its stylistic range. And while there's an obvious melancholy in hearing Winehouse's tones again, there's also dreamy warmth, demonstrated by the opening reggae version of "Our Day Will Come" (originally by 1960s group Ruby & The Romantics Our Day Will Come: Very Best of).
Some of these tracks predate Winehouse's 2003 debut album, "Frank": there's her jazzy teenage take on "The Girl From Ipanema" and the arguable stand-out, elegant original soul melody "Halftime" (dating back to 2002).
Her casual charm and command elevates the familiar covers, whether it's The Shirelles' "Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow?" or another reworking of The Zutons' "Valerie".
There are also curious collaborations: Like "Smoke" is infused with Nas's rap homage to his Camden 'homie', while Winehouse's final studio recording is "Body & Soul", a vintage jazz cut with 85 year old crooner Tony Bennett.
Essentially, the material on "Lioness" should have been a foundation, not a memorial, but it feels like a passionate affair.
The end notes are sweet, full of unmistakeable personality and resonance. A Haider

The Best Of The Shirelles
Tired of Hanging Around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, December 6, 2011
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Considering the impact of 2006's instant classic Back to Black I don't think many would have thought they'd still be waiting for a follow up in 2011. In the years between the two albums Amy became a drug user and by 2008 at age 24 was diagnosed with emphysema as a result of smoking crack cocaine, cannabis & tobacco. Images of Amy on drugs from 2008 onwards were grim. Weight drained with sunken cheeks she looked like a completely different person to the happy curvaceous Frank singer of 2003. Amid stories of bar fights and substance abuse eventually reports of new music trickled through. In October 2009 Island Records co-president Darcus Beese claimed- `I've heard a couple of song demos that have absolutely floored me', while Amy stated in July 2010 that a new album similar in sound to BtB would be released by 2011. Throughout 2010 Universal had kept several London studios open around the clock incase Amy would want to record. However following her death most reports indicated studio sessions had been sporadic and the bulk of new material left behind consisted of demos. Amy's passing was not a surprise but it was a shock and ultimately disappointing as we'd never get a third album from this prodigal songstress as intended.

For the release of Lioness: Hidden Treasures Salem Remi, Mark Ronson & co have compiled a career spanning collection of material consisting of Frank/BtB demos, multiple covers and a couple of new tracks. In short this is not the mock up third album of all new material fans were hoping for, although it appears only two new songs were completed so perhaps this is as close as we're going to get. Being a shameless cash grab aimed at the Christmas market it is as you would expect a mixed offering, but more than anything this collection highlights the diversity of Amy's music both vocally and stylistically. 'Between the Cheats' (2008) a Doo-wop inspired number and one of the tracks most likely to have appeared on a third album is an undisputed highlight. It shuffles along in somber/soulful fashion and features an awesome chorus. You get the sense the vocals could have been a guide track as some of the lines seem slightly muffled. That aside BTC ranks alongside anything off BtB. 'Tears Dry' (2005) on paper looks like an needless addition but with a slowed tempo and original arrangement in lieu of the Gaye/Terrell sample it's effectively a completely different song and arguably better than the 'original' version.

Other highlights include new song 'Like Smoke' (2008) which finds Amy swapping verses with her favourite rapper Nas, Frank era leftover 'Best Friends, Right?' & 1930's Jazz standard 'Body and Soul' recorded in March of this year with another of her musical heros- Tony Bennet (originally appearing on his Duets II album). On the flip side demos of BtB tracks we've all heard a million times such as 'Wake Up Alone' & 'Valerie' are unessesary and feel like they're included to make up the numbers while Mark Ronson's posthumously added production to tracks such as 'Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow' feels forced and ham-fisted. The final song is a cover of the Leon Russell classic 'A Song For You' made famous by Donny Hathaway. Recorded by Salem Remi in 2009 at Amy's home while she was reportedly under the influence of heroin. This is not Amy at her best but the performances' failings actually add an extra layer of emotion that elevate this to become one of her most powerful songs, and it's inclusion while somewhat controversial paints the full picture of who she was within the scope of her music by showing her at her best And worst. To conclude If you're a fan this is an essential purchase full of rarities and gems which occasionally rival Frank & BtB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Have I Been Hide'en, March 16, 2012
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Wow! All this time I have slept on Amy Winehouse...How foolish was I to dismiss this wonderful voice due to the media madness and negativity surrounding her personal life and battles...Man! I love her vocals...She was a very talented artist...I hear a lot of mystery in here vocals...Her voice is hauntingly addictive...Half Time is so smooth...What a shame she is no longer with us...But she lives through her mesmerizing vocals..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Last Effort, December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
I've read other reviews prior to purchasing this album and although the vast majority were positive, there were those hard-core fans who were disappointed, because they didn't consider this package to be a new third album by Amy, as well as were disappointed that a few tracks/alternative takes of her old songs were included on this.

Well, firstly I must say that I was well aware that prior to buying this album, that the producers and record company had very little vault material to work with and did their best to put together one last album in memory of Amy. And with that said, they did an excellent job producing this project. I was not disappointed. The CD is a good listen from track one until the final track, a rarity in today's music world. I didn't have to or want to skip any track.

Some of my favorites are "Our Day Will Come" Classic Amy Sound, "Tears Dry" I love this stripped down version- it highlights her beautiful voice, "Like Smoke," this could be a big hit. Nas flows nicely on this track and they both compliment each other. I can see a Grammy Nomination next year for Best Vocal/Rap collaboration, for "Like Smoke."

I see from reviews that some did not like Amy's version of "The Girl From Ipanema," but I like it a lot, it really shows her jazz vocal styling, as well as it has a nice contemporary hip hop beat, which makes it more modern and approachable to younger audiences. "Half Time," is another track that I find outstanding and can see being a hit. As someone else mentioned in their review, if you heard this on the radio, you would swear it was Eryka Badu (another excellent vocalist), they both sound alike on this track. I love the whole grove of this track and can see Neo Soul die-hard fans gravitating to this track.

The last two tracks seem appropriately placed, as "Body and Soul," was her last recording, which is an excellent recording that showcases her jazz vocal stylings that is very comparable to Billie Holiday. And the last song, "A Song For You, " was a bitter-sweet end track, because it sums up her life and career, as she at times struggled and slurred her way through the track, but in the end she delivers her song just for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching. Perfect Tribute., December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
So, I've read other reviews about the album being somewhat boring and not what they expected. In my opinion they're missing the point of the cd. First of all, don't buy the mp3 download, you're missing the context of the cd. 2nd of all, you're missing an honest, beautiful, and sweet introduction in the album pamphlet by Mark Ronson.
It's about context not just content, and if you're a true Amy Winehouse fan you'll appreciate the cd regardless. It may not be as "exciting" as Back to Black, but it is exactly what I expected, and I love it. I'm confident any honest fan will feel the same. Totally worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Amy, February 27, 2012
By 
KristiAnne Francis (St. Albans, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Amy will be surely missed. Fresh, lovely cover of "Girl from Ipanema". "Halftime"...simply amazing, amazing, amazing! Can listen to it on repeat forever. What a talented life cut entirely too short. RIP Amy. Thanks for leaving us these gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone, but not forgotten, December 7, 2011
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
I was afraid this posthumous addition to Amy Winehouse's catalogue, much like Michael Jackson's latest 'effort' "Michael", was going to be a shameless cash grab orchestrated by her label, Island Records. "Lioness" appears to be an honest homage via heartfelt compilation that, unfortunately, never saw the light of day...until now.

"Lioness" mostly consists of covers of tried and true classics ("The Girl From Ipanema", "Will You Still Love Me Tommorow", "Our Day Will Come" etc) and a few rerecorded tracks ("Wake Up Alone", "Tears Dry" etc) with a few official unreleased tracks thrown in for good measure ("Halftime", "Between The Cheats", "Like Smoke"). If you frequent YouTube, there's a chance you have already heard many of these unreleased outtakes and if you haven't then you are in for a treat. Excluded from the album are about a dozen tracks Winehouse supposedly did not want released. I fear, however, that this might be a hollow promise from Island Records to bait us into buying yet another posthumous compilation in the future; here's hoping I'm wrong.

On a lighter note, however, Amy Winehouse's vocals sound great and her duet with Tony Bennett, "Body And Soul", smolders. "Wake Up Alone" is another gratifying track featuring a stripped down performance from the band complimenting Amy's smoky voice which sounds just as good as I remember. "Between The Cheats" is another fantastic original retro-pop song and one of my favorite cuts from the album. "Like Smoke" is the only weak track due to it's attempted merging of two completely unlike genres. Listen and listen good, Island Records: rap and soul don't mix. I like them separate and I don't know about you, but Nas and Amy Winehouse makes for a nonsensical, unpleasant collaboration. That said, it's also painfully obvious that his verses were recorded and added after she died just to haphazardly tack this track onto the album at the last minute. Thankfully, the rest of the album is saved by competent compositions featuring jazzy syncopated rhythms and harmonized male background vocals reminiscent of 1960's Motown.

Overall, "Lioness" is a fine addition to Winehouse's already breathtaking retro-soul repertoire. I'm not ashamed to admit I actually shed a few tears while listening to it for the second or third time when it finally hit me...she's really gone. Despite her struggle with drugs and alcohol, which eventually claimed Winehouse's life at the tender age of 27, she provided the public with some quality music which is more than I can say for many of her contemporaries. Reportedly, Winehouse had plans to release a jazz album featuring Salaam Remi and the Roots' drummer Questlove...ah, what could have been. Amy, we miss you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are some true gems here, December 12, 2011
By 
barry (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
These are the remaining unreleased songs by Amy Winehouse. Within her short and tragic life she managed to present a synopsis of work that truly showed she was a genius and a truly gifted artist. Here we have covers of some classics and alternate takes of songs already released plus a few never heard before. The covers are simply amazing and she makes each her own. OUR DAY WILL COME is sublime. She totally reinvents THE GIRL FROM IPANEMA with a stupendous vocal performance. WILL YOU STILL LOVE ME TOMORROW gets a very dramatic presention and her vocals match it with an intense emotional performance. Whatever the song or style of music Amy Winehouse always showed an inate understanding of the music and approached each song with all she had. Her true range and emotional capacity was always amazing.

BEST FRIENDS, RIGHT is an excellent heartfelt song and we get alternate versions of TEARS DRY and WAKE UP ALONE which were both on BACK TO BLACK. One of the true standout tracks is her duet with Tony Bennett BODY AND SOUL. Her vocal interpretation is haunting and lovely displaying her at her best. There are some true gems here and even the lesser tracks shine as they get that added dimension for they are being interpreted by a truly gifted artist. The untimely death of Amy Winehouse was a true tragedy and thankfully this collection has no filler and does her memory justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have tribute you will treasure for life!!, December 8, 2011
By 
Maria E. Guzman "pancha guzman" (New York, NY & Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lioness: Hidden Treasures (Audio CD)
Go get it. Pour a glass and enjoy. Her cover of Our Day Will Come is glorious and her duet with Tony Bennet just heavenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Birthday Present To Myself, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Today is my birthday and I bought this as a gift to myself for surviving all of the uncertain, scary, rocky, hopeless years. Amy expresses them all for me in this album. The release couldn't come at a better time. Godspeed Amy-I'll eventually meet up with you at the next level and I will be seated in front row center, orchestra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lioness: Hidden Treasures
Lioness: Hidden Treasures by Amy Winehouse (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.