Customer Reviews


363 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for my kitchen
I have been using this set for a few weeks now, and am absolutely impressed. This inexpensive set is nicely formed and cleanly finished. Besides the environmental benefits of using fast-growing bamboo instead of harvesting hardwoods for simple utensils, bamboo is much more forgiving of soaking or an occasional trip through the dishwasher that will destroy wooden spoons...
Published on March 22, 2011 by Matthew Decker Maurer

versus
67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
These seemed like a good deal and came well shaped and sanded BUT with some kind of varnish/urethane/?? coating on them. It's way too hard a coating to just be oil and it's not shellac (which is food-safe) since alcohol doesn't remove it. Whatever it is, I don't want it in my food. It might be ok for a salad spoon or something but when cooking with these, some of this...
Published on April 6, 2012 by rndmstuff


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for my kitchen, March 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
I have been using this set for a few weeks now, and am absolutely impressed. This inexpensive set is nicely formed and cleanly finished. Besides the environmental benefits of using fast-growing bamboo instead of harvesting hardwoods for simple utensils, bamboo is much more forgiving of soaking or an occasional trip through the dishwasher that will destroy wooden spoons. The bamboo paddles that I have been using for years have outlasted wooden spoons and plastic spatulas. They are gentle enough to use on non-stick surfaces but more heat resistant than plastic/teflon.

If you did get a set with a few rough spots, just rub them against each other to burnish away any odd spots. Like an old leather jacket, my older bamboo paddles have slowly gained a nice patina over years of use. The handles are smooth from hours of use, and one has scorch marks from sitting on the edge of a pan on a high flame. That level of use has ruined more expensive tools. What's not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, April 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
These seemed like a good deal and came well shaped and sanded BUT with some kind of varnish/urethane/?? coating on them. It's way too hard a coating to just be oil and it's not shellac (which is food-safe) since alcohol doesn't remove it. Whatever it is, I don't want it in my food. It might be ok for a salad spoon or something but when cooking with these, some of this will definitely come off into the food. None of my other bamboo utensils have this and they've held up perfectly over years of use. Bottom line, I think a lot of people buy bamboo utensils to be green, natural and avoid plastics/chemicals so I don't know why they spray this 'whatever' on them. At the very least they can say they do that in the description and if it's something natural and safe, tell us what it is. Went to the 'Lipper International' website and it was similarly useless with actually LESS description there of their own product than the minimal details on Amazon. I would cost too much to return so it's a loss for me, but I'd advise others to pass on these unless they can figure out what that crap is and that you're ok with it in your food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware!!!Sprayed with Laquer!!!, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
I don't understand why Lipper International or whom ever produces these would think it a good idea to laquer a natural alternative cooking utencil!? ...Really? They were nicely sanded and no splinters were present but that only matters if you plan to use them as decorations or anything else you can think of, except meal prep or cooking, of course...I guess my kids can use them to play with in the sand box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good and cheap, January 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
got these for my wife as she needed some wooden spoons, they were smooth unlike some other reviews. they are cheap and work great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Splinters, July 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
Set arrived with rough-hewn edges and splinters that had to be pulled off. It's a cheap set, so I'll keep it. The Joyce Chen bamboo utensils were smoother and polished. Bamboo doesn't melt in the fry pan, so it's versatile and eco-friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 Months Later..., February 14, 2012
By 
JT (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
Aside from the typical discoloration you find with regular use, this set has not cracked, chipped or splintered; even after six months of heavy use and dishwasher cleaning, they're still going strong! For the price, you can't go wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for splinters!, December 26, 2012
By 
Scott D. Whigham (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
We had the same experience that other negative reviews listed: the wood is so poorly sanded down that you risk getting splinters from the handles and stirring parts. The finishing lacquer was also so badly done that it had runs all down the spoon handles.

No thanks - a total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Returned Immediately, January 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
Very poor quality bamboo. The ends of the utensils were heavily splintered and all of the pieces were unusable. In this case, the low price of the product was definitely too good to be true. Luckily, the return process was easy and prompt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set for the price, January 12, 2012
By 
Art (Santa Barbara, US, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
I bought this for my wife by I ended up using them the most. Some people complained that they received some with rough edges. My set was perfect. The first day I used them to make homemade cranberry sauce. The spoon did not stain or discolor at all. I am very happy with this product and can highly recommend them, especially for the price you can't beat them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chemicals on the utensils, January 1, 2013
This review is from: Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag (Kitchen)
If you look close enough, they are treated with a shiny chemical. I think it is varnished. How on earth can someone let this varnished utensils touch to their food and then eat it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lipper International 826 Set of 6 Bamboo Kitchen Tools, in Mesh Bag
$11.00 $6.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.