Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lipstick
Really not as bad as everyone said it was back in 1976. Give Margaux a break! She was just 20 years old and this was her first movie. This Girl had to carry this film on her shoulders and I for one think she did a great job! I think she held her own with Anne, Perry & Chris too. The script does fail her,though. Give it a second try because its really not that bad...
Published on February 15, 2000

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's something about this movie ...
It's far from being the best film ever made, but LIPSTICK has some special quality about it. Let's first look at the exceptional performances from the cast:
Chris Sarandon - plays the school teacher of the younger sister (Mariel Hemingway) who rapes the older sister first and then the younger sister after being acquitted of the first crime. He really comes across as...
Published on November 17, 2003 by William


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lipstick, February 15, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lipstick [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Really not as bad as everyone said it was back in 1976. Give Margaux a break! She was just 20 years old and this was her first movie. This Girl had to carry this film on her shoulders and I for one think she did a great job! I think she held her own with Anne, Perry & Chris too. The script does fail her,though. Give it a second try because its really not that bad! There are many other movies with firstimers out there that I'm sure were alot worse than this debut. Margaux deserves applauds just for taking the plunge from modeling to movies! ND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Trash, October 23, 2003
By 
Brandon L. Harlow (Colonial Heights, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lipstick (DVD)
Oh how I love this film! Margaux is divine as a high fashion model who is raped by her teen sister's school music teacher! Well she is not just raped, she is completely brutalised! I swear some of those scenes looked a bit too realistic. Chris Sarandon is absolutely devilish in the role of the sadistic rapist. He doesn't just physically overpower Margaux, he also attacks her mentally. After the deed is done he slyly begs of her to "not do this with anyone else." During the trial he also torments her with late night calls playing selections of his Phillip Glass inspired music. While the subject matter is serious the film is also high camp & truely hilarious! In an emotional (or as emotional as Margaux can get) courtroom scene she shouts out "he tried to kill me with his c**k!" Let us also not forget lil sis Mariel who gets attacked at the end of the film...after a high speed chase through the Pasadena Design Center! This pushes Margaux over the edge so she grabs a shotgun and goes after Sarandon with a vengeance! After pumping him full of bullets she just keeps pulling the trigger...it is AMAZING! Francesco Scavullo must be so proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GLOSSLY TREAT, January 19, 2006
This review is from: Lipstick (DVD)
The late Margaux Hemingway saw her movie career take a nosedive after the release of this film, while her co-star and little sister Mariel became the toast of the town. But to many cinephiles, she'll always be remembered as the woman in red holding one mean rifle. Margaux plays Chris McCormick, a top fashion model (no stretch at all, here, since she really was a top model at the time) who ends up regretting her decision of having innocently invited her sibling's music teacher (Chris Sarandon of "Fright Night" fame) to her apartment. While she cries rape (with the help of Academy award winner Anne Bancroft as her attorney) the judicial system, however, sees it differently. LIPSTICK is the ultimate B-movie extravaganza. Raw to the bone, it is avant-garde cinema with a glossy exterior. David Rayfeil's script spares no details in degrading women via ultra-violent scenes (one a la "The Accused") and a misogynistic message regarding men and feminine beauty. But as a whole--and not too taken seriously--LIPSTICK is 90 minutes of pure fun. The film has a Russ Myer feel to it, a sort of cinema verite of the late 60's (the ones who lured mostly the male clientele). Margaux Hemingway gives all she's got and comes up almost rosy despite her limited range. She may not be Meryl Streep, but, contrary to popular opinion, her performance is believable. Of course, then-12 year old Mariel do steal the show with her quiet but strong delivery. Every nuance of her emotional face shows the making of a great actress, and she did become one for awhile, while her older sister stumbled and stumbled in forgettable Z flicks. LIPSTICK was indeed the apogee of Margaux's career. Far from being Academy award worthy, it is definitely a fave among lovers of cult movies, and with good reasons. Now all it needs is a deluxe DVD edition with all the extra goodies.-----Martin Boucher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Movie!, June 28, 2009
This review is from: Lipstick (DVD)
This movie was panned back when it came out but I think now you can watch and truly relate to the actions of a woman abused by both her attacker and the system and takes revenge at the end, the movie is not bad and the acting is pretty good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipstick (Amazon Instant Video)
i got emotional after watching it on amazon instant video. ive never seen this before. the courtroom scenes were infuriating... i never get this way during movies or any type of rape scene, but this one had me in tears only cuz it shows the long term pain that rape survivors go thru.

I know the girl who plays the sister is related to chris, the main character. I wonder if they are sisters or mother/daughter they look alike, same smile/voice, and same last name. I saw the little girl in movies and tales from the crypt the hilarious love potion karma with ANDREW MCCARTHY... hehehe. I enjoyed myself. Good flick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's something about this movie ..., November 17, 2003
By 
This review is from: Lipstick (DVD)
It's far from being the best film ever made, but LIPSTICK has some special quality about it. Let's first look at the exceptional performances from the cast:
Chris Sarandon - plays the school teacher of the younger sister (Mariel Hemingway) who rapes the older sister first and then the younger sister after being acquitted of the first crime. He really comes across as the creep he is intended to. You grow to hate him, which is the point.
Mariel Hemingway - her acting debut in which she shines. A great performance.
Ann Bancroft - plays the lawyer convincingly. An all round great actress.
Margaux Hemingway - the lead actress, and real-life sister of Mariel (unfortunately died tragically in mid 90's). Not a great actress by any means but she had her moments in the film. Pity about her voice. She was actually a model in real life then, rather than an actress.
The film bombed upon release in 1976 possibly because audiences couldn't accept Margaux trying to switch to acting. These days, such a movie would go straight to TV.
It is worth seeing at least once - The younger sister's performance is that good.
DVD SUMMARY - a bare bones release saved by an impressive transfer (and widescreen anamorphic too!). No trailer included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bold Film With Rare Raw Power, July 29, 2004
By 
C. Chow (Leesburg VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lipstick (DVD)
Let me preface this buy saying that I gave this movie five stars because of its raw emotional power. However, like 'The Exorcist' I cannot call it entertainment. Rape is not entertaining.

The plot: Chris (Margaux Hemingway) is an LA model who invites her younger sister's music teacher Gordon (Chris Sarandon) over to hear his music. But Gordon's music FUBAR to say the least and he brutally rapes Chris. At the rape trial Chris' moral character as a nude model is put on trial, while the prosecutor (Anne Bancroft) fights to defend Chris' character and put her rapist in jail.

This movie works because of its raw power. The rape scene is VERY violent and lasts 30 minutes, so graphic I forced myself to fast forward through most of it. The rape really is the only subject of the movie, everything revolves around it. I admire how the screenplay tells us NOTHING about whom these characters are or where they came from. We see only the most basic elements of good and evil. Chris is an innocent victim, I'm glad we were not forced to go through the motions of seeing a super model giggle and talk about how she wants to save the rainforest. This way we can see Chris as a real person. Gordon is totally evil simply for the sake of being evil, the scariest kind. We get no easy or comforting explanation as to how he can so victimize another human being.

Chris Sarandon's performance also deserves special mention. He should have won an Oscar. He was so evil and creepy I don't see how he was cast in any roles after this. Like Anthony Perkins in 'Psycho' he'll always be Norman Bates.

The most shocking thing is I remember seeing this movie as a young child unedited on HBO! I'm amazed I wasn't traumatized for life! But I remember I found it disturbing then and find it disturbing now as an adult. Not sad, not scary, just disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where do I begin..., August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipstick (Amazon Instant Video)
I cant really give this movie a proper review because I simply had to turn it off halfway through. It's just so shocking to me how hateful men were to women during the 70's cinema heyday. With the exception of a creepy performance by Chris Sarandon this movie was just downright offensive. If seeing a woman getting brutally raped turns you on then thats your business. For myself I will happily pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure., May 17, 2010
This review is from: Lipstick (DVD)
Lipstick starring Margaux Hemingway, Mariel Hemingway, and Chris Sarandon is a strange film about rape. Margaux was not exactly the best actress in the world but boy she was one beautiful lady. Her real-life kid sister, Mariel had the acting gene but Lipstick is so bad, it's good! The rape scene is difficult to watch of course, but the way the court system attacks women who have been raped is just horrible and realistic I am embarrassed to say. I give this film 4 stars because of the amazing, unexpected ending - Margaux Hemingway in a gorgeous red dress gunning down her rapist, Hollywood magic at its finest. Definitely a guilty pleasure all the way, enjoy this glossy trash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what an ending!, October 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lipstick (DVD)
This flick can be a little slow at times, but it does enough to keep your interest. By the time they get to court you just can't wait till this guy gets his, cause he really didn't seem like the type when you first see him. It's the same type story, bad guy gets off, but justice prevails, and does it ever as victim "makes it right". Justice served.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lipstick
Lipstick by Lamont Johnson (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: $15.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.