Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical advice for a world of scarce resources.
The is a smart, thoughtful book on an important subject. Despite the cartoon cover, the author approaches the use and disposal of urine in a practical and user friendly way. She presents convincing scientific information supporting the healthful use of urine for growing plants. Also, she gives good information on composting toilets. This is a timely subject for two...
Published on June 21, 2006 by Kristin Belko

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining guide to the use of.....
This book has some good ideas about the use of urine for fertilizer - but there's a bit too much "fluff", and too many attempts to just get a laugh.
A more serious tilt for the book would have been better, in my opinion.
Published on April 30, 2010 by Patriot Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical advice for a world of scarce resources., June 21, 2006
By 
Kristin Belko (Jackson, Wyoming) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
The is a smart, thoughtful book on an important subject. Despite the cartoon cover, the author approaches the use and disposal of urine in a practical and user friendly way. She presents convincing scientific information supporting the healthful use of urine for growing plants. Also, she gives good information on composting toilets. This is a timely subject for two reasons: first, the recapture of the nitrogen and other resources that are contained in the urine. Second: the disposal of urine without polluting drinking water. Like the Humanure book, this book makes the important point that the use of pure water to flush wastes away into the sewer system is a very poor use of very scarce resources.

Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is FUN!, December 1, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
For anyone interested in this sort of thing "Practicality". This book is fun and interesting. I loved it. Very Easy read. Lots of techniques used around the world on urine separating toilents; along with ideas on how to create you own urinals. I acually made one after reading this book and am using it as liquid fertilizer in my yard. The design is so clean and out of the way that not even my wife was bothered by it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Just what the subtitle says, May 8, 2009
By 
Valiant S. Vetter (Winnsboro, Republic of Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
Though I had heard of this book years ago, I finally got a copy of it just a few days ago.

I think I was expecting "more" - but then again - I had just finished reading "The Humanure Handbook" by Joseph Jenkins, and was expecting a similar treatment of the subject.

Steinfeld makes all the right points and does so in an interesting manner, but her method is more one of presenting possibilities than one of presenting a plan. It seems as though she is "reporting" - showing us pictures and descriptions of how folks have used urine. She doesn't seem to have a "passion" for the subject - something that people who do things radically different from others generally need to see the project through. Steinfeld is also diametrically opposed to Jenkins on best methods: She suggests separating and using the urine separately while "disposing" of the solid waste material by conventional methods. Jenkins is quite adamant about collecting and using liquids and solids together and recycling them both - a much more ecological and economically-sensible suggestion.

(I'd LOVE to see these two authors review each others books!)

I would still recommend this book for folks with a couple of *extra* dollars to spend or those just interested in learning how people past and present use urine. For those interested in shouldering the greater responsibility of properly, safely, and beneficially recycling their ALL of their "waste" I would suggest "The Humanure Handbook" instead.

In all fairness and to Steinfeld's credit, "The lore and logic of using urine to grow plants" is an accurate description of this book's scope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars urine charge and urine good hands with this book, September 4, 2004
By 
Robert L. France (cambridge, ma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
This little gem of a book is both an informative source of about all things urine - including interesting historical attitudes and uses as well as modern environmental aspects - in addition to being a very fun read due to the amusing diagrams and sharp prose. Both the professional wastewater expert and the casual nature lover will find much knowledge and enjoyment in these pages. Because of this, Liquid Gold would be the perfect "stocking stuffer" gift for the environmentalist in your house this upcoming holiday season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Pee On It!!!, September 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
I have always wondered why a dog lifts his leg to pee on a plant. Guess God knew if man didn't have enough smarts then His animals would do the job the natural way that would make His plants grow healthy and strong. I spent several years in the military over in Germany and wondered why they sprayed human waste on thier food growing in the fields there. Thought it was a very dangerous practice at that time. Now I have a very different way of thinking. I pee on my yard plants now and they are beautiful. Save yourself tons of money buying chemicals because pee is free!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (not) illogical captain!, July 25, 2007
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
Doreen and I have been cultivating a variety of plants over a number of years now. In the past we had always used peat but (thanks to the riots at Clonycavan) prices soared and we were left helpless. It was at this time we turned to the pioneering research of Carol Steinfeld and fortunately she did not disappoint. Despite a couple of minor setbacks (before Doreen started going through a funnel) our indoor plants were soon growing better than ever before!

PS. Anyone who disputes the logic of using human-fluids to grow plants, need only turn to the actions of the grandfather of logic: Dr. Spock (not to be confused with the child psychologist Mr. Spock!). Who could forget the episode of Star Trek in which he relieves himself into the ship's yucca plant?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sword-fight!, March 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
Quick and wicked good read. I was already privvy to much of the logic contained in this book, I purchased it to convert a more straight-edged step-father. The book is a plethora of straight-science rife with anecdotes and great comics. The book contains much medicine and lore while it is written in a political way, only promoting the agricultural, closed-system use of urine. The book will leave you fully believing in the power of Liquid Gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, November 7, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
I really like this book. What a great way to save money all around. I dilute the urine and use it for house plants.
I use it undiluted on my leave compost pile.
Thanks...George KellyLiquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars liquid gold, May 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
Amazing how great liquid gold works. I'm using it in conjunction
with my rain barrel. It's better than even Bloom Busters and
I used to swear by that product.....and better yet, this one is
free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source of Information, January 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants (Paperback)
I live in a rural area, have no running water or septic. I use two Luggable Loo Seat Cover one for liquid, one for solid waste and compost both. This little book is a terrific source of information and inspiration.Lots of history and facts and a few laughs. I write about my adventures at persimmonglen dot com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants
Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants by Carol Steinfeld (Paperback - April 1, 2007)
$12.95 $10.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.