Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Landmark Freestyle Album, January 2, 2001
By 
Luis Hernandez (New York, New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Before starring on the new Nickelodeon-network children's series, "Taina" (she plays the title character's mother), a young girl by the name of Lisa Velez was transforming the music scene inside out. Going by her stage name, Lisa Lisa, she teamed up with two other local musicians to form one of the 1980's most famous trios. Shattering the mold of pretty white kids singing pop, Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam showed the world that three Latino kids growing up in one of New York City's tough neighborhoods, Hell's Kitchen, can make memorable dance music.
Partnered with the talented songwriting/singing group Full Force, Lisa Lisa, scored hit after hit with such songs as "All Cried Out" and "Lost in Emotion." On their debut album, they rocked the dance world with their very own brand of freestyle music.
Freestyle, a musical style popularized by young Puerto Ricans living in New York, would capture the world by storm in the upcoming years as many artists and groups such as Lissette Melendez, George Lamond, Expose, and Safire became well-known names on radios and music video shows throughout the United States.
On this debut album, Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam hits us with three memorable songs: The hit "I Wonder If I Take You Home"; the love ballad "All Cried Out"; and the dance-hit "Can You Feel The Beat?". Their first hit, "I Wonder If I Take You Home" sealed their fame as one of the 1980's most memorable songs due to it's catchy beats and lyrics. "All Cried Out," a slow, yet soulful ballad was one of the first freestyle-love songs out there and it paved the way for more such songs (e.g., Brenda K. Starr's "I Still Believe"). "Can You Feel the Beat?" is a lengthy, fast-rhytmn song that made waves throughout all of the major clubs in New York and Miami. While the other songs are good, these three songs stand out as the top songs on this landmark album.
If you are an 80's-phile and need a dose of freestyle music in your musical diet, then add this album to your shopping cart. While no longer together, Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam will forever be pioneers in the emergence of Latino artists in the English-language market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Freestyle, August 31, 2003
By 
Kent Browning (SPRINGFIELD, OHIO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam's debut is a freestyle classic. With each song a extension of the other, all leading to a complete finish. "I wonder if i take you home" is their well known classic. A listen to "Behind my eyes", "You'll never Change", and "Private Property" and you'll realize each of those cuts are just as good. The whole album is consistent. The ballad "All cried out" with FULL FORCE is essential. A song to note as well is the dance hit "Can you feel the beat?". FULL FORCE produced this effort and it is one anyone interested in 80's r&b and freestyle should have. A winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC DANCE NEW YORK STYLE!!!!!!, February 15, 2002
LISA LISA.......LISA LISA'S MUSIC TAKES ME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF DANCE MUSIC,HER STRONG VOICE WITH THE GREAT DANCE CUTS MAKE A GREAT COMBINATION. I CAN STILL REMEMBER GOING TO THE DISCO BACK IN 1984 AND DANCING TO "CAN YOU FEEL THE BEAT", "TAKE ME HOME", AND OF COURSE MY FAVORITE "I WONDER IF YOU TAKE ME HOME", THIS SONG REALLY BROUGHT DOWN THE HOUSE BACK IN THE 80'S. TODAY WHEN I HEAR IT BRINGS BACK VERY FOND MEMORIES. BUY THIS CD AND KEEP IT IN THE ARCHIVES, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD will take you back., March 20, 1999
For all you freestyle purists out there, I highly recommend this CD. Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam with Full Force definitely define the freestyle sound and was at the forefront for this genre of music. This group has set the stage for many dance artists today. Definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hip Hop Soul Is Created, September 10, 2005
By 
Tall Paul (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Historical landmark achievement. Full Force created a new genre of music, Hip Hop Soul. This blueprint was copied by countless artists including Miche'lle and Mary J Blige. Full Force needs to get the credit they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another amazing remaster from BBR, August 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
perfectly remastered with a perfect selection of bonus tracks, the BBR edition of Lisa Lisa and The Cult Jam with Full Force features the actual original label design of the Columbia Records label on the vinyl, bringing the nostalgia back before you even play the disc. The booklet features plenty of liner notes and an updated essay on the album. Sound quality is fantastic.

As for the bonus tracks, it's numerous remixes of two of the big dance singles from the album. The 12" full force remix of I Wonder if I Take You Home runs less than 10 seconds longer than the original album version, and I think the only real difference is an a cappella intro of the "home, home, home home" part. There might be a slight remix in terms of EQing and what instrumentation is brought to the front, but it is really essentially the album version. the Shep Pettibone mix is a treat because he became such a strong force in 80s dance remixes, but the mix itself is not very fluid. I personally prefer the LP version or "full force remix". And finally, you get the Cult Jam Dub Edit of the song. Next, "Can You Feel the Beat" is also presented in a "Full Force Remix" that is more than a minute shorter than the album version but definitely has some noticeable remixing, including added percussion and a heavier rhythm track. Finally, you get the 12" dub remix of the song.

Hopefully, BBR and Cherry Red Records will now focus on releasing Lisa Lisa's bigger hit album "Spanish Fly" with bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lisa,Lisa and Full Force never lets you down!, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have all of Lisa,Lisa's work.I always loved "All Cried Out" with Full Force,even when Mariah Carey's short lived girl group
"Allure" remade it. But I'm Ol' Skool and my vinyl album is shot.So yes I would indeed recommend any of their work as well
as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back to college!, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lisa Lisa And Cult Jam With Full Force (MP3 Music)
This album transports me back to college! Just like I remember. Great price too! Has some great songs on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lisa Lisa and the Cult Jam, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i know this cd,i lost mine when it first came out.still sounds as good as it did when back then,even better.Love my cd!I couldn't fine this cd anywhere,except for on amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lisa Lisa And Cult Jam With Full Force
Buy MP3 Album$6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.