Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slayer on Steroids
Holy Hell! Vader is without a doubt one of the most brutal bands I have ever heard. Litany does not let up for a second throughout its total running time. Peter and Mauser's dual guitar attack rivals King and Hanneman. The riffs are fast and furious and the solos are insane. Doc's drumming is simply on a higher level than any other metal percussionist...period. He is...
Published on March 28, 2006 by J. Brittman

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was actually disappointed.
Don't bash me simply because I didn't give Litany five stars like drgonzo insists. I'm giving this album a fair rating based upon the bar that Vader has already set with the other albums/masterpieces of their in my collection. Vader has got to be my favorite Death Metal band. Doc was an amazing drummer; Peter's vocals are unique in the genre and the assault of Peter's...
Published on June 12, 2006 by Gunther Haagendazs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slayer on Steroids, March 28, 2006
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
Holy Hell! Vader is without a doubt one of the most brutal bands I have ever heard. Litany does not let up for a second throughout its total running time. Peter and Mauser's dual guitar attack rivals King and Hanneman. The riffs are fast and furious and the solos are insane. Doc's drumming is simply on a higher level than any other metal percussionist...period. He is technically flawless and overpowering. I can't believe he died so young, this guy was the real deal. Shambo's bass hold the madness together and allows Mauser and Peter to run amok, and run amok they do. Track like North, Forwards to Die and The Calling are absolutely brutal. Most of the tracks on Litany clock in at under 2:00 minutes which I love, but even the longer tracks like Wings, Litany and The Final Massacre are friggin awesome. Overall, this is one of the strongest albums that Vader has produced to date (along with Black to the Blind and Revelations). It is a must-own for any true metal fan. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars death for the blind..., December 1, 2003
By 
"aiylyn" (Washington, Mi United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
What I mean by the title of this review is that, aside from a sample mp3, I bought this album "blind" to what Vader was all about- I was just hoping for something good. And good, is what I got.
Short and very sweet in the pulverizing-death-metal kind of way, this record boasts the usual tight musical performance of the band, with the obvious standout being the drummer, Doc. As a whole, Vader seem to be almost on top of that most-sought of all musical places: the spot where technicality meets listenability. Average Joe metalhead and guitar-freak alike will eat this album up.
Litany brings the bottom end in a major way; the triggered kick drum is just the beginning. In fact I have to say that this is the best-produced death metal album I have heard to date, and that is against some great production quality from bands like Cryptopsy and Skinless. You will hear the difference if you A-B this CD with another one, including the band's older work.
The last component, the lyrics, are something I usually don't hinge on with death metal bands, but here they are actually quite intelligently written. Vader approaches the Egyptian style popularized by Nile, but only slightly so if you hate Nile you will still like Vader.
In short, this is one for the death metal veterans! If you're new to death metal, this might be a good intro for you since its smart, short, and all business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was actually disappointed., June 12, 2006
By 
Gunther Haagendazs (Up High in the Trees) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
Don't bash me simply because I didn't give Litany five stars like drgonzo insists. I'm giving this album a fair rating based upon the bar that Vader has already set with the other albums/masterpieces of their in my collection. Vader has got to be my favorite Death Metal band. Doc was an amazing drummer; Peter's vocals are unique in the genre and the assault of Peter's and Mauser's guitars make an incredible team. However despite the music on Litany being amazing the production could have been a lot better. The first thing one will notice is that the volume of Doc's bass drums are cranked up almost twice as loud as they should be. Though you get to see his amazing skill with his feet, this has a result of sometimes drowning out the rest of the band, Peter's vocals and the rest of his kit, especially when you are not playing on a really good sound system. The sound of the guitars and Peter's voice should have been turned up slightly louder as well.

The other complaint is that there are four songs that are shorter than 2 minutes resulting in a surprisingly short album. Time lengths usually don't bug me, but Vader normally doesn't have this many short songs. Of all the songs on this album, the short ones are not the songs that I crave to listen to; they are fast, but just not that memorable. My favorites would have to be Wings, Cold Demons, Xeper, and The Final Massacre (a song that they re-recorded and was originally on their first album, The Ultimate Incantation).

Even with these problems, the songs are still amazing. If you want music that is difficult to play, this is it. Doc's drumming has always been incredible and he will truly be missed. It's just unfortunate that the production isn't that good. If this album is ever remastered, this rating will probably get bumped to a 4 or even a 5. I saw these guys live the day before I graduated high school (nice way to celebrate, don't you think?) and they were amazing definitely one of the best shows that I've ever been to. If you haven't heard Vader before, I would suggest you start with their albums like Black to the Blind or any of their EPs (they are all amazing) before getting Litany. Vader will also be releasing a new album titled Impressions in Blood that should be released sometime in September so keep an eye out for that as well. Hoped this review helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destruction of your eardrums, July 27, 2006
By 
Peter Azello (San Jose, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
In my opinion, Poland's finest, Vader, is easily the most accessible death metal band. They are better than Slayer in terms of musicianship, talent and songwriting (not a diss to one of the best bands ever, but Vader owns you guys) and even if you hate death metal, you could love these guys because the vocals are not grunts or growls. If Vader isn't recording great albums, they are touring. They do hundreds of shows every year all over the world, and as a reviewer stated, they probably haven't slept in their own beds. Check out their live album from 1998 ("Live In Japan") to hear this act at their best. As the title dictates, this album will shred your eardrums with the dual guitar attack and the insane drumming. "Litany" is not an album that you get to hear nice melodic breakdowns or melody at all. This album is good if you are working out, need an alarm clock or just feel like blasting away your neighborhood and violently headbanging. As I stated already, the vocals are not grunts, so Vader will be easier to digest in that department. If you can't stand this type of metal, go back to your In Flames or such. This album can only be appreciated if you like it loud, fast and no hint of melody.

The production of this album is perfect for something this brutal. The vocals are pushed back and the drumming and guitars are overpowering, creating this ear-shredding sound barrier that would only work for a brutal album like this. The vocals, as stated above, are similar to Tom Araya, just with a Polish accent. The vocals are pushed back, but if you really want to listen to them, they are audible. The lyrics are awesome and some of the best in death metal. Read them...you will be amazed that a death metal band can dish out good lyrics. The bass is...you guessed it...inaudible. It could only be heard if every other instrument stops playing, which is rare. Don't buy this album if you need bass playing inspiration. The guitars are a dual attack, very reminiscent of Slayer. The solos are out of this world. And finally, the drums. Krzysztof "Doc" Raczkowski was his name, and he was in the band since they formed in 1986. He is fast, crazy and could rival any extreme metal drummer. He died in August 2005 after leaving the band earlier the year. His cause of death is mysteriously unknown, and will always be remembered as a huge inspiration in the metal community. He is among the gods of metal. Rest In Peace.

The album begins with one of Vader's best, "Wings". This song is brutal and has a great guitar solo. It is a metal classic and the album should be bought just for this song. The next song, "The One Made of Dreams", follows. It is a shorty, but it is brutal as hell and leads up to the next song, the legendary "Xeper". This is a longer song (for this album) and is very simple, but sounds so good. You could actually hear the bass a little here! The title track follows with a great chorus and more great drumming and guitar work. "Cold Demons" starts off with a little interlude and blasts into another great song off of this album. "The Calling" is the loser, which follows, and I find it quite monotinous, but it is still a descent song. The next three songs are a little under 2:00 long, and they are perfect examples of short, brutal blasts of energy. This is what a grindcore song would sound like without the noise. They are "North", "Fowards To Die!!!" and "A World Of Hurt". I can't call them filler, because they slay. The final two songs, "The World Made Flesh" and "The Final Massacre" follow the same formula of the entire album and really slay. That caps off this legendary 34 minute album. If you don't own this and love it loud and heavy, then go out, turn off your computer and pick this up. "Litany" may be their best album. Their other albums are great, but nothing can cause carnage like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars \\m// ~~MOST excellent Vader~~\\m//, July 16, 2005
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
The opening track is madness. Doc is my hero. There's a good reason why about half of this album constitutes a nice bit of their live setlits. This most definitely belongs in your Death Metal/Vader collection, and if you don't have one, this is a fine place to start. \\m// Hail Vader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P. Doc, August 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
If you didn't know, Vader drummer Doc has passed away. Read about at (...). Damn, why all of a sudden are all these great metal monsters dying? Doc was an amazing drummer. He had more talent in his nuts than every single nu-metal, metalcore, and emo band combined. He is gone buy certainly not forgotten. R.I.P. Doc. As for the album buy NOT JUST because it's awesome, buy it to keep Doc's memory alive. R.I.P. Doc :'(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vader Is Metal, March 10, 2001
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after reading a favorable review of it in a magazine. I have never owned a Vadar album before, but thier reputation preceeds them.
This album lets you know someone is knocking at the door. Heavy, fast, thumping, and interesting. Vader is metal. Two heavy guitars, a harsh growly voice, and a good rhythum section keep this band together. This band is not exploring any new territory, they keep it straight ahead. I mean that in a good way, no messing around.
A solid well-produced package. The opening double bass drum kicks on Wings lets you know what you are in for throughout the rest of the album. It is warmly recieved. This is the album you can play for your other metal buddies and everyone will be satisfied.
The songs I enjoy most are the opener Wings, The Calling and Lithany. Lithany is a group of adjectives and can mean something different to everyone. I like the overall tone of the album, it is good upon first listen and there are reasons to revisit.
It is a not an overly technical metal album, which doesn't mean they don't know what thier doing though. If you like Pantera, Korn, Deicide, Soulfly, Sepultura, etc you will like Vader.
This album is worth your time and your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a definite spine-crusher, May 10, 2000
By 
Mike (Long Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
Like other bands I've reviewed ...I had the chance to listen toan advance copy of this CD a few weeks ago, and it's been gettingheavy rotation in my CD player since the first time I listened to it. My friends in the band Sanctus really dig this stuff, as do I - brutal tempos and vocals, blistering guitars and pounding drums. This band doesn't give you a break - they just keep getting louder and louder throughout the album. The second track (I'm forgetting the name) really stands out for its ultra-tight stop/start rhythms that make you rewind the disc and think "OH MY GOD, how did they do that! " This is one of the best recent releases from Metal Blade out there ...Definitely worth a look, especially if you like Cannibal Corpse or Defleshed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent death metal release by Vader, August 1, 2005
By 
Smithy1185 (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
Although Vader does have many other good cds, I would consider this their best. The whole cd is excellent and there is not a weak song on here. The vocals are great as are the instruments and the production quality. If your new to Vader, then this is a great place to start. I myself prefer more growling vocals but the ones on here are fantastic so it doesn't bother me. Also some people consider Vader a copy of Morbid Angel. While I could agree with that on some parts, it doesn't stop me from enjoying the wonderful music Vader has created over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This thing slays, September 16, 2007
This review is from: Litany (Audio CD)
After taking an unusually long three years off after the release of 1997's "Black to the Blind," Vader, who are one of Poland's top two exports (the other being Behemoth), blasted back onto the scene with an even angrier and heavier sound than ever heard before. That's right, folks, 2000's "Litany" is Vader's heaviest album to date.

With a running time clocking in at just over thirty minutes, this is a very short, concise, and compact affair. In fact, if anything hinders "Litany," it's that it's all over a bit too quickly. But on the plus side, the album doesn't have trouble holding your attention for its duration because these eleven songs never lose their focus or drift into bloated or overlong mini-epic territory.

Vader's musicianship here is, as always, airtight. Peter belts his deep yet still mostly intelligible vocals over a thunderous and uncompromising maelstrom of Slayer-inspired riffs, scorching leads, occasional solos, and impeccable, pummeling blast beats ("Doc" Raczkowski contributes some of his all-time fastest, most technical, and all-around best drumming to this record.)

The onslaught begins with the classic Vader pound of "Wings," and continues through the jackhammering, Terrorizer-esque blasting of "The One Made Of Dreams" before the listener is allowed to catch a breath. Track three, "Xeper," is a much more laid-back piece with great, crunching riffs, catchy, galloping beat, and memorable spoken-word chorus. Similarly, the title track and "The Calling" also begin with restrained tempos (before gradually working up a lot of speed and momentum.) However, on the flip side, the breakneck "Cold Demons," "North" (which is as relentless as a hailstorm of grenades), and "A World Of Hurt" (which is a skull-crushing, grindcore-worthy sneak attack that's less than two minutes long), are all bludgeoning, pedal-to-the-metal speedsters from beginning to end. Elsewhere, "Forwards To Die!!!" and "The World Made Of Flesh" are two scorching riff monsters (the latter is also of note for its fairly ripping guitar solo); and the set closer, "The Final Massacre," boasts more excellent riffs and drumming, as well as some well-placed tempo shifts and a couple of blazing, careening solos.

It could stand to have another song or two, but all in all, "Litany" is yet another Grade A slab of satisfying, terrifically brutal, and technically flawless death metal from a band that seems incapable of making anything else. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Litany
Litany by Vader (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.