Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for introductory literature classes!
I am a part-time ("adjunct") professor at a California community college, and I switched from using another LARGE literature anthology to this one for English 1-B for the following reasons:
1) Very good selection of readings, including a smattering of very contemporary authors like Edwidge Danticat and Sherman Alexie, a section on "small press" poetry and poets, and...
Published on November 11, 2010 by David Fortnight

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
awesome!!! normal delivery. I like so much.
much better than my expectations
very useful, helpful.
I can recommend this book to my friends
Published 9 months ago by Young Sang Song


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for introductory literature classes!, November 11, 2010
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
I am a part-time ("adjunct") professor at a California community college, and I switched from using another LARGE literature anthology to this one for English 1-B for the following reasons:
1) Very good selection of readings, including a smattering of very contemporary authors like Edwidge Danticat and Sherman Alexie, a section on "small press" poetry and poets, and so on.
2) I found on opening the book the first time that for Faulkner's story, "A Rose for Emily," there is an excerpt of an interview with Faulkner where he recalls what image (in his mind) inspired him to write this story--very informative, good supplement to the story, and a more personal artistic element that I haven't found in other anthologies.
3) The price is high--but not as high as some other anthologies, at least for the paperback edition. I try to give my students SOME break in the governmental and corporate campaign to bankrupt them (seemingly) by the time they are educated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Coffee Table Book, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
Bought used for about $8 shipped, there is so much bang for the buck here. Leave it by your favorite seating place like I do and every time you pick it up you'll find something new to read. Or something good to read again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP., April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for my 2nd year college english class and for only 2 dollars ! What a steal. People bought the new edition for around 70$ while i only spent like 6 in total, with shipping. This book has almost all the stories your professor will assign you. Don't buy a new one, get this one and save money. If you're missing like 2-3 stories from your syllabus, all the stories are well known and you can easily find them online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A textbook purchase, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
Purchased as a textbook for a course my wife took in college. Good quality book and it shipped fast, but it's a textbook so of course the price was elevated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
awesome!!! normal delivery. I like so much.
much better than my expectations
very useful, helpful.
I can recommend this book to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Literature textbook, October 9, 2013
By 
SisterSue (Englewood, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
The price was excellent for this textbook. It came quickly, was packaged well, and in good shape - especially for a used paperback book. I'm glad I found this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sucks, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
Never revived book a complete waste of time. And I better get my money back. Waited three weeks for something and never got it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was fine, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
It was what it was advertised and was shipped quick. It came in on time and is worth what I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
Writing is sometimes easy to read.
Would recommend this to any literature student.
I do like and enjoy this reading so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama (Paperback)
Came on time and the book was neat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Literature and Its Writers: A Compact Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama
Used & New from: $2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.