Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series that grows with your child
While the text may be lengthy for toddlers (I have a 3-1/2 year old who loves this book, borrowed from the library, that I'm buying him a copy), this is certainly a book that grows with the child. The engaging, simple pictures allow for much imaginative story telling (who ever said parents are supposed to read every word when the child isn't ready?), moving into reading...
Published on December 30, 2004 by Amelia S.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not like Cowboy Small, even though it looks like it is
This book is OK, but it's not a fun story like Cowboy Small, it's a description of the things that happen when a pilot takes a plane out for a flight, mostly about the parts of an airplane. So it's not a very interesting story, although it might be good if your child was interested in learning more about the parts of an airplane. If you're looking for another book like...
Published 19 months ago by Heath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series that grows with your child, December 30, 2004
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
While the text may be lengthy for toddlers (I have a 3-1/2 year old who loves this book, borrowed from the library, that I'm buying him a copy), this is certainly a book that grows with the child. The engaging, simple pictures allow for much imaginative story telling (who ever said parents are supposed to read every word when the child isn't ready?), moving into reading more and more of the text as the child grows older. I trained for a private pilot license, and the details given are simple and factual; just the kind of real stuff that children interested in airplanes would want to know; it's stuff they absorb readily if the subject interests them. I'm glad to see these books back in circulation. The other books in Lois Lenski's series are great, too.

I don't know what the board book is like, but the rating of Baby-Preschool isn't accurate, at least for the 56-page Hard- and Paperback editions. This book is also great for older children who want to know more about the basic mechanics of airplanes and flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly captivating book, June 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
This book was a gift and I originally thought that it was too detailed to be interesting to my 22-month-old son. However, it has a very calming quality and he insists on it every night before bedtime. The adventures move along frequently enough to hold his interest, without being overly stimulating. And he can identify elements he likes from the drawings, such as the propeller, the wind sock, the hangar, and the car on the ground.

His father and I appreciate the accurate details. I'm now on-line looking for other books by Lois Lenski, hoping that they, too, will be a hit for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not like Cowboy Small, even though it looks like it is, January 6, 2013
By 
Heath (SEATTLE, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
This book is OK, but it's not a fun story like Cowboy Small, it's a description of the things that happen when a pilot takes a plane out for a flight, mostly about the parts of an airplane. So it's not a very interesting story, although it might be good if your child was interested in learning more about the parts of an airplane. If you're looking for another book like Cowboy Small this is not it.

We bought this for our son because we (and he) love Cowboy Small. Unlike Cowboy Small, which has short text and focuses on various events in a few days of the life of a cowboy, this book has lengthy explanation of avionics stuffed into a non-story about a quick light. If Cowboy Small were written the same way, it would just be about him mounting his horse, riding around for an hour, then putting his horse away and most of the pages would be detail about all the parts of a saddle and what they are for, then a detailed inventory of everything in his saddlebags, including items he never uses in the story. That wouldn't bad bad book for an older kid, but it wouldn't be as much fun as a simple story for a younger kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Right Stuff, January 3, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
This review was actually written by the father of the child to whom I gave the book. He is a pilot as is the child's grandfather.

"The plane looks just like a red Piper Clipper, so Grandpa Tom will be delighted. Clearly written by someone who has flown taildraggers, as it is a perfect and simple primer in how to fly one properly. I wish I'd had that down in Florida [where he took flying lessons]..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prop Aeronautics Lesson 101, May 28, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
This little book is a basic lesson in how airplanes work and would be a great prologue if you're reading HATCHET by gary paulsen in which the kid learns to fly a prop plane the hard way. Introduces all the basic elements of fixed wing flight in non-cutesy language. Also would be a fine book for first-time flyers to reassure them that airplanes do indeed NOT fall out of the sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is such a sweet book. My three year old loves it, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
This is such a sweet book. My three year old loves it, and I like the step-by-step description Lenski gives of driving to the airport, checking the plane, taking off, banking, and all the other things that go along with flying an airplane. The language is clear and concise with a good rhythm. It's also a nice gift, especially if you know of any children who might be interested in aviation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real treasure, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
I'm so glad I bought this classic for my grandson. The illustrations are priceless, and the text (for a child who can sit still, and who enjoys "getting the facts"), is just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, May 1, 2014
By 
E. Rob (Mobile, AL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful book, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
My son had this book as a child and now I am buying it for his son who is just 2. The illustrations are wonderful. A real joy to read together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, charming story and drawings, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) (Hardcover)
Love Lois Lenski books; reminds of when my mother read these books to my brothers and I many long years ago. Perfect for small people just learning to read- or with short attention spans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books)
The Little Airplane (Lois Lenski Books) by Lois Lenski (Hardcover - May 27, 2003)
$11.95 $9.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.