Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Yesterday's Tales of Tomorrow ... Today!
Not long ago, I had only heard about the television show Tales of Tomorrow just twice: once as a passing reference as an inspiration of Rod Serling's Twilight Zone in his PBS documentary, and once more when I saw the episode "All the Time in the World" at the Museum of TV and Radio in NYC when I visited there last August. I had always liked TZ and I was happy to see one...
Published on January 12, 2005 by J. A. Hazelwood

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrowland
TALES OF TOMORROW was the televison predecessor of such anthologies as "One Step Beyond," "The Twilight Zone" and "The Outer Limits." Many of this show's stories were based on classic fiction while other scripts were written by some of the best names in mid-20th Century fantasy/sci-fi. The four season #1 episodes here originally aired on ABC-TV, Fridays at 9:30 p.m...
Published on August 4, 2007 by Annie Van Auken


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Yesterday's Tales of Tomorrow ... Today!, January 12, 2005
Not long ago, I had only heard about the television show Tales of Tomorrow just twice: once as a passing reference as an inspiration of Rod Serling's Twilight Zone in his PBS documentary, and once more when I saw the episode "All the Time in the World" at the Museum of TV and Radio in NYC when I visited there last August. I had always liked TZ and I was happy to see one of it's predecessors which had left the air before my parents were even born. I was not disappointed as the episode was another example of intelligently wielded suspense and science fiction, the kind of show that they just don't make any more (well UPN tried, but let's not talk about that right now). There were other available episodes, but my family and I had to leave the museum, but imagine my happiness when I heard that a DVD boxset of Tales was coming.

Tales of Tomorrow: Collection One is a series of selected episodes from the first season of televisions first sci-fi anthology series (including the one I previously mentioned); many of us are used to full season sets but after all, some episodes may no longer be accounted for. There are no extras at all except for scene selection, though somehow I doubt there could be things like deleted scenes or creator commentaries (since many of the creators are probably no longer with us).

I'm giving this collection 5 stars not because these episodes are timeless classics but because they are a rare and fascinating window into television's early history. The shows feature commercials recorded on the same film as the show, and it's also apparent that TV producers at the time weren't big advocates for reshoots as they could be called today. Actors badly flub their lines in many shows but keep on going. Lon Chaney gives a well-known and confusing scene as Frankenstein where he hefts a chair in rage, calmly puts it down, then pantomimes smashing it. My favorite is from the "Miraculous Serum" where a doctor listens for a dying woman's breathing without putting the stethoscope in his ears first. Ha!

But these stories don't deserve to be laughed at. Seeing these shows made so long ago with such clarity is one of the greater gifts of the DVD revolution and I would recommend "Tales of Tomorrow" to anyone who loves television in general. I'd love to see another installment, perhaps with a documentary. Who knows what tomorrow will bring?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most interesting artifact from television's early days...., April 8, 2006
By 
Kenneth M. Pizzi (San Mateo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tales of Tomorrow is really the forerunner of so many popular science fiction programs that dominated sci fi's "golden age" during the late 50's thru the 60's. The ideas for series like "One Step Beyond," "Twilight Zone," and "Outer Limits" can trace their ideological and creative roots back to this series. For example, one episode, "What You Need" was also picked up by Rod Serling as a story idea. Even John Newland, host of "One Step Beyond," plays a protagonist in one of the less memorable and weaker episodes.

While it is easy to be put off by the flubs in dialogue or the flimsy and cheap sets, the series is fun to watch while the story ideas remain different, imaginative, and creative. The episodes have been restored and remastered as best as possible by Wade Williams Productions. Wade Williams and his production team was responsible for restoring such greats as "Rocketship XM" and "Destination Moon" back in the mid-80's, often finding and restoring lost (in some cases replicating long shots with extras) or damaged footage from the original print.

The episodes here are restored with their original commercials for Kreisler watch bands in their appropriate commerical breaks, and watching the epsidoes in their original and intended format is a fascinating glimpse into television history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set!, September 9, 2004
By 
Larry Commons (Arlington, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank you, Image, for releasing TALES OF TOMORROW on DVD. This first set contains 13 episodes from the first season. The quality is excellent, considering these shows were made more than a half-century ago. Some of them even include the original commercials! Menus are fine and include chapter markers within each episode. Please, Image ... release more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, November 29, 2005
I'd never heard of this series before viewing the DVD, and didn't know what to expect having never really seen much 50's Television programs. But this was a pleasant surprise. The episodes are done like plays, e.g they were done live with the focus on stories and characters, not FX. As such, you relate to the characters as people, and that makes the viewing enjoyable.

Also interesting is that the original commericals are included with each episode. These are fun to watch from an historical perspective, and entertaining in their own right. Botttom line, don't expect modern FX or space opera sci-fi. This is story telling with a sci-fi overlay, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, April 3, 2009
By 
Jim Hatrak (Tuscon, Arizona) - See all my reviews
The picture quality is superb from kinescope masters. Thanks to IMAGE, the original network commercials are intact and do not feature the crappy new-style computer imagery that was made to substitute the opening and closing credits. Wade Williams, who claims to own the rights to this series, re-edited the episodes so he could copyright the new versions. Those were put out on VHS and TV airings for years but thanks to Image, these are uncut and unedited. Only flaw is some of these episodes were already released commercially (and on dollar store DVDs) such as "Ice From Space" and "Frankenstein" so there isn't a lot of new stories here. Image did not put out all the episodes from the first season as they skipped to the second season after putting out two-thirds of the first season. Apparently they only want to release the episodes with name stars. This is sad as this is a landmark science fiction series from the live television era that needs a complete release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TELEVISION FIRST, January 10, 2008
By 
KEITH T. KALKANOFF (GARDENA, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember watching Tales of Tomorrow back in the early fifties on our 12" black and white TV with my mother. Remember this show was done "live on stage" with primitive props and technology. America never did science fiction before and did not know how to present it at first to the viewing public. Actors did not really know how to act in a science setting. I can remember the one called "The Caccoon", when a couple of the prop people who were moving wires were shown in the scene. It was our first try in this country. From this we learned and "War of the Worlds" was produced and even today it beats the the new version. So considering the time and live stage acting, it was ahead of its time especially with some of the weird creatures shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi Television, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The television 'Tales of Tomorrow' mirrored the comic book versions
published by DC Comics. I truly enjoyed the suspense and the blossoming
of young actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars early tv and early advertising, January 25, 2013
By 
Robert A. Bowers "Bowers" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The other reviews say good things about the quality of the discs and so on. The booklet included also offers good information about casts, first broadcast dates and chapters in the programs. For those not familiar with early television, these programs were performed live on staged sets and recorded for later broadcast on the west coast. Actors do indeed flub lines, camera focus is not always steady etc. because they just kept going rather than stop and reshoot as they would have done on film. This is considered to be the first actual sci-fi series. I have to say the scripts are not up the the standards of later shows like Twilight Zone and Outer Limits. Some of the performances are uneven as well, but it's fun to see future stars like Paul Newman in their early days. The commercials from the original broadcasts are included and are interesting in showing how things have changed. Some episodes were sponsored by a carpet company, which also made fishing vests. Watching the man demonstrate the vests is a lot of fun. Most episodes were sponsored by a watchband company featuring things like a watchband called the "Monte Cristo", which came in plastic dueling pistol case! They also feature the Kreisler Kids, a singing duo with a jingle that is so funny it sounds like a Saturday Night Live parody of early commercials. I warn you it is also one of those tunes that gets caught in your mind for days! The disc set is very inexpensive, and a lot of fun, if you are a fan of any of the actors in particular or just old tv shows in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great set of freaky tales, December 31, 2004
By 
Michael Kleinpeter "Mike Klein" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like Twilight Zone, Outer Limits, The Veil, and One Step Beyond then you'll like this. Then again, if you've heard of Veil and OSB then you probably already know about this set of spooky stories.

Great mix of stars and stories/subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from Tomorrow is a collection for anyone interested in 1950's TV Sci-Fi., February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The video collection, "Tales of Tomorrow: Collection One" was one of three I have been looking for for some time. It is a series I remember fondly from my childhood. The quality is very good and would recommend it to anyone interested in this particular series. The series has many stars from movies and television from the 1950's. Anyone looking for this series would be pleased with this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Black Bag
Little Black Bag by Paul Newman
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.