Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeffrey Gitomer does it again!!
"Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to RICH Relationships" is a must-read for all who are involved in professions which consist of networking in any regard.

Gitomer starts the book with a riveting question: "How lost would you be if your list of contacts vanished? Let me give you the answer: You'd go beyond lost and into the...
Published on August 8, 2006 by Erin Esposito

versus
92 of 105 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dale Carnegie is a better bet.
I have three of Mr. Gitomer's books and although they all provide some useful information, I just can't help feeling like they are regurgitations of Mr. Dale Carnegie's work. This book (like his 'Little Red Book of Selling') is filled with "Red Bits" or "Git Bits" which are keywords he uses in his books; when you come across one of these keywords you are asked to visit...
Published on May 12, 2007 by German Vasquez Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 105 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dale Carnegie is a better bet., May 12, 2007
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
I have three of Mr. Gitomer's books and although they all provide some useful information, I just can't help feeling like they are regurgitations of Mr. Dale Carnegie's work. This book (like his 'Little Red Book of Selling') is filled with "Red Bits" or "Git Bits" which are keywords he uses in his books; when you come across one of these keywords you are asked to visit his website where you can enter the keyword and get more information, but in order for you to do that you have to register with his website, which means guess what? Yep, a weekly email from Gitomer filled with pictures of him and his crew asking you to buy his products. I think his best book is 'The Sales Bible' and if you want to spend your money on one of his books it should be that one, otherwise, go to the originals such as Dale Carnegie, Earl Nightingale and Napoleon Hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeffrey Gitomer does it again!!, August 8, 2006
By 
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
"Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to RICH Relationships" is a must-read for all who are involved in professions which consist of networking in any regard.

Gitomer starts the book with a riveting question: "How lost would you be if your list of contacts vanished? Let me give you the answer: You'd go beyond lost and into the realm of panic." This book focus on connections and connecting, as his past books focused on selling and so forth. This one is all about the significance of networking.

The 6.5 Assets in this book are:

1.) Who Do I Know?

2.) What Do I Want?

3.) What Do I Do?

4.) How Do I Connect?

5.) Who Knows You?

6.) The Secret Power of Connections

6.5) The Value of Connections

Your new blood type: N+ (Networking Positive) - pretty cool way to look at it!

Gitomer writes with flair and humor. It is this very writing style which makes for an enjoyable read. The book is relatively quick to read - approximately 200 pages - and is not your average book format.

I'd recommend this book to anybody and everybody who cares about their careers and networks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 93 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Think it twice before you buy this book., March 19, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
I would not be surprised if suddenly I discovered that all the 5 stars reviews are product of Jeffrey Gitomer's connections, friends, fans or family. When I read that if you want to meet a CEO, don't use the telephone and give him a "cold-call", you better send him a daily fax for 5 consecutive days with a lead or contact of a customer interested in his company (?!), and THEN call him and tell him you are the guy who sent him these great referrals! Wow, I just wonder if the sales team of this CEO did take Jeffreys sales seminars and got nothing while you, a simple mortal, got 5 great customers in one week for them! It has more like this, like "call all the people you know and ask them: What can I do for you today?", etc. On the other hand, it opens your eyes to really think seriously about your connections, but I suppose you already do, otherwise you wouldn't be reading these reviews and looking for a book like this. Keep looking and if you find nothing, then think about buying this one, it is not that expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh - Pretty obvious stuff, September 8, 2006
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
This book could really be summarized as this.

1) Establish yourself as an expert by speaking, writing, attending networking events thus making yourself known.

2) Be a gracious and generous person, thereby attracting friends and potentially valuable relationships.

3) Give to others... this positive Karma will result in beneficial relationships and opportunities.

There, saved you some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read Red Instead, September 10, 2006
By 
John Cassetta (Near Carmen SanDiego) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
Black is good but Red is better. The fundamentals of networking have already been discussed in both of Gitomer's Red books. Black beefs up the subject matter a little bit but not enough to warrant an entire book. I like it, I'm glad I read it, I'm still a huge Gitomer fan but this did not live up to my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Contains a Lot More than the Title Represents, March 3, 2009
By 
Dianna Sabo (Lexington, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jeffrey Gitomer's writing style is very good for busy people. His books are concise, well illustrated, easy to read, and always contain information from which even a seasoned sales professional will learn new ideas. This book shows a person how to successfully network and build working relationships in a sincere and polished manner. Like all of his books, there are some exercises and questions for you to complete that will personalize your learning experience. This book is so key to excellent selling, it might be one that your read every year or so to sharpen your skills. There 7 sections in approximately 200 pages and they are covering all aspects of networking; climbing the ladder, earning respect of a powerful mentor, building relationships, associating with powerful people, connecting with powerful people, saying the right things, and maximizing the benefits from these relationships. If you are in sales, this is probably a "must have" along with some of the other books Gitomer has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Guy Knows His Stuff, July 19, 2007
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
Gitomer's book fell into my hands and I am glad it did. Although I am not in sales, we ALL sell in one form or another, and who among us couldn't use to sharpen our networking skills?

The book's format makes it a quick read and easy to digest.

I have added it to my desk reference books for future perusal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will bring results, March 1, 2007
By 
Jeff Scurry (Chicago, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
Who do you know, how well are you connected, do you know how to make a connection and who knows you? Why ask these questions? Because, "All things being equal, people want to do business with their friends." "All things being not quite equal, people still want to do business with their friends."

"Dedicated to connections and connecting," Gitomer's third "Little Book" walks through how to make connections and position yourself as an expert. It also covers what not to do.

Completing the work Gitomer gives you in the book and applying his suggestions will work for you. No question. Gitomer's methods are ultimately very simple: do the work and you will get results.

This is a nice follow-up to the two Little Red Books of Sales and a good intro to the Little Yellow Book of Yes!Attitude. Buy them all. Skip them at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GIT MAN GETS IT....Again, again, again., August 6, 2006
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
The Gitman gets it like nobody else. No bull, no PC, no punches, just great stuff. I bought the book this afternoon and could not put it down until I was done with it.

I can't say that about a lot of books but I can ALWAYS say that about Jeffrey's. If you have any interest in being more successful this book is for you. You will get absolutely excellent advice on how to network more effectively and with exactly the right people.

Furthermore you will learn that networking isn't about you...it's about what you can do for others. The cool thing is it ALL comes back to you when your focus is first on others.

I highly recommend Jeffrey's latest book. I am putting Jeffrey on MY top 10 list of people I want to meet one day.

Mick Hager, author of MONKEY BUSINESS

7 Laws of the Jungle for Becoming the Best of the Bunch!

A Short Tale of a Company That Gets It! Gibbs Smith Publisher, March 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No one knows how to more meaningfully and effectively connect with others, February 20, 2013
This review is from: Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships (Hardcover)
Little Black Book of Connections by Jeffrey Gitomer provides practical, step-by-step methods for connecting with others in a wide variety of different roles including:

- Superiors
- Mentors
- Co-workers
- Customers
- Vendors
- Family and friends

As with his other books and numerous articles, Jeffrey addresses each communication challenge with a concise list of immediately implementable actions augmented by insightful tips for further improving individual performance.

Connecting with others is the foundation of individual success. Without personal connections, we are unable to positively engage and influence those around us in a way that propels us to the achievement of our personal and professional goals.

I like the Little Black Book of Connections for its immediately actionable advice for creating meaningful relationships with others in a way that positively engages them to support the communicator. I’ve implemented many of the recommendations Jeffrey presents in his book to great success.

Jeffrey’s principles for connecting with others promote respectful engagement. Recommendations contained within the Little Black Book of Connections focus on positive relationship building through the offering of open, honest communications and meaningful value provision by the communicator.

Little Black Book of Connections provides immediately actionable methods for effectively engaging others in a positive, respectful manner making it a StrategyDriven recommended read.

All the Best,
Nathan Ives
StrategyDriven Principal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships
$19.95 $14.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.