Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing and heart-wrenching tale
This is an amazingly crafted and heart-wrenching tale of a man who lost his wife, a member of the French Resistance, and infant son in World War II... only to discover that his son may, after all, still be alive and living in an orphanage in Normandy.

This book has you sitting on the edge of your seat until the very end. It is very well written, and a very...
Published on November 11, 2004 by Megan

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weakest of Persephone's three Laski novels, but worth a look
Two of the strongest and most thrilling of the novels Persephone Books has reisuued include two by the critic and religious scholar Marghanita Laski: the chilling time-travel novella of confused identity THE VICTORIAN CHAISE-LONGUE and the absorbing postwar comedy of manners THE VILLAGE. Their third Laski re-issue, LITTLE BOY LOST, is not as strong as the other two. The...
Published on December 28, 2004 by Jay Dickson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing and heart-wrenching tale, November 11, 2004
By 
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Paperback)
This is an amazingly crafted and heart-wrenching tale of a man who lost his wife, a member of the French Resistance, and infant son in World War II... only to discover that his son may, after all, still be alive and living in an orphanage in Normandy.

This book has you sitting on the edge of your seat until the very end. It is very well written, and a very moving story. I think if I said more, I would be giving away too much. Read it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE THAN WONDERFUL!, January 22, 2010
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
A browse in a bookstore can be deceptive. One finds a pleasant-looking book, not too long, and seemingly an entertaining work. ETHAN FROME as authored by Edith Wharton would be a good example. Upon delving into the text, however, the reader of this classic piece of American literature soon discovers that this is not going to be a romp, but a deeply moving experience, best appreciated reflectively. So it is, maybe moreso, with Marghanita Laski's LITTLE BOY LOST.

This is the story of a man in search of his lost child, as well as a search for himself. Both uniquely disappeared in WWII. The carefully planned and developed plot sucks the reader into its movement from the opening scene on Christas day, for some the happiest day of the year, the family feast. The story which was first published over sixty years ago becomes a contemporary page-turner because one comes quickly to care about the main character and his journey. The clever use of symbols and metaphors is cause for the rapid reader to stop, ponder, and appreciate the very human challenge unfolding, as well as the delicious quality of superior prose when savored.

What was it like to live in a less-than-memorable French village after the war? What influence did the war have on the lives of those who lived through it, not in urban centers, but in villages as just-ordinary folks? The response to these interrogatives forms the setting, and one of the major point/ counter-point aspects of the novel. To miss this element of the writing, point/ counter point, is to really miss the challenge and depth of this human adventure.

This is a narrative that will not soon be forgotten.

THOMAS PATRICK HULL, Chicago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weakest of Persephone's three Laski novels, but worth a look, December 28, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Paperback)
Two of the strongest and most thrilling of the novels Persephone Books has reisuued include two by the critic and religious scholar Marghanita Laski: the chilling time-travel novella of confused identity THE VICTORIAN CHAISE-LONGUE and the absorbing postwar comedy of manners THE VILLAGE. Their third Laski re-issue, LITTLE BOY LOST, is not as strong as the other two. The protagonist, Hillary Wainwright, is so ambivalent and ineffectual he deserves his name; while part of the novel's suspense rests in the fact that, in trying to determine whether a war orphan is his own lost son, he may scotch the whole thing because of his egotism and moral weakness, these qualities make him a difficult character to spend an entire novel following. The best thing LITTLE BOY LOST has going for it is its sharp-etched portrait of the dismal quality of life in France after the Nazi Occupation, and here it excels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, special ending, April 26, 2009
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
I have enjoyed every Persephone book I have read so far. This one is no different.

Hilary marries a French woman during the war and after he briefly sees his baby son, they are separated and his wife eventually dies. He finds out that his son was cared for by another woman who also was taken away and killed and that his son is alive but where oh where is he?

The growth Hilary goes through as a person and as a father is worth reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, January 7, 2014
By 
Adventurous Reader "SY" (Washington, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
Brings you back to the days in England and Europe following the Second World War and the moral and emotional choices made by an Englishman. Fine work. Beautifully detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Boy Lost is one for the Ages., July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
I read this book many, many years ago and found it fascinating. I remembered it in detail and told my husband about it. I thought also, that it would be a good book to pass on to my grandson - of course they know nothing of World War 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional roller-coaster of a book set in the period just after WW2., September 11, 2014
By 
Sandy (Westlake Village, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
Forget the horribly mawkish old movie starring Bing Crosby! I first read this book in the 1950s; it was out of print for many years and I am so glad to see it is available again. I have already purchased copies as gifts for friends who love well-written and thought-provoking literature. The little orphan boy, Jean, will steal your heart as you accompany Hilary Wainwright on his search for his "Little Boy Lost". The story is crafted with a simplicity and depth of feeling that will touch your heart and keep you guessing the outcome until the final page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the read, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
I became aware of this book via an online recommendation, and I am glad to have discovered it. I felt there were a couple of segments that kept the book from being great, but it is certainly worth the read. Very thought-provoking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars little boy lost, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
My Book club's selection. When I read it I realized that I had read it previously and still liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story. Thought provoking., April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Boy Lost (Kindle Edition)
Lovely story, not too long. In fact I was left wanting more. Well written and tear jerking to think that some children had to endure life like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics)
Little Boy Lost (Persephone Classics) by Marghanita Laski (Paperback - December 31, 2008)
$19.95 $16.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.