Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salubrious Sociological Snuggery
.

Little Folkers is a superb film. A little critique can reveal its brilliance.

First, If you enjoy slapstick, you will adore this film. You will see creative "pie in the face" comedy (in this case using puke), people tripping, people falling into pits, people wrestling and bopping one another. This is the "three stooges" reincarnated...
Published on October 24, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood - Please Stop Making Terrible Pointless Sequels
So it's been 10 years since Meet The Parents, and boy has this franchise been mined to death. For the 3rd movie, let's strip away all writing talent, all of the jokes, and hey throw out the plot while you're at it. There is absolutely no point to watching this movie, the gags are the same as 10 years ago, and most of the major players simply phone their parts in. They...
Published on April 12, 2011 by T Boz


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood - Please Stop Making Terrible Pointless Sequels, April 12, 2011
So it's been 10 years since Meet The Parents, and boy has this franchise been mined to death. For the 3rd movie, let's strip away all writing talent, all of the jokes, and hey throw out the plot while you're at it. There is absolutely no point to watching this movie, the gags are the same as 10 years ago, and most of the major players simply phone their parts in. They even had to shoehorn Hoffman and Streisand into the film, gee wonder why they're in scenes by themselves? Because they couldn't clear their schedules enough to show up for major filming. (Valentine's Day ring a bell anyone?)

Anyway, avoid this like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Juvenile, Laugh-Free Nail-in-the-Coffin for the Series, March 31, 2011
This review is from: Little Fockers (DVD)
The third film in the Meet the Parents series takes place five years after the last outing and reunites the original cast, while adding some new characters and expanding previously smaller roles. Not only has original director Jay Roach been replaced by Paul Weitz, a sign of trouble to be sure but you know a series is in trouble when it has to introduce children into the mix...Writers tend to introduce children in order to expand their story when that story has run its course. Despite the title, the children don't play too big of a role in the movie and are pawns of the script used to create a reason for these characters to reunite a final time. I enjoyed the first two films in the series and I admit that I went into this thinking it was unnecessary but despite these reservations, I watched the movie with an open mind expecting a mediocre comedy that would entertain me for 90 minutes. While I wouldn't call this movie "boring," I was not prepared for just how mediocre it actually was.

Greg (Ben Stiller) and his wife Pam (Teri Polo) are now the parents of five-year-old twins, Henry and Samantha. Greg, in addition to being a male nurse, has taken a job moonlighting for a drug company after meeting the drug representative Andi Garcia (Jessica Alba). The drug is Sustengo, a drug like Viagra that is safe for patients with heart problems. It is pretty obvious where this is going to lead. Jack Byrnes (Robert De Niro) has recently become interested in tracing the genealogy of the Byrnes family and has still has not completely warmed up to Greg. Jack has developed heart problems and does his best to keep his wife Dina (Blythe Danner) and others in the dark about the severity, while simultaneously growing worried about who he'll appoint to lead the Byrnes family after his demise. Among other things, the movie deals with Greg and Pam planning their twins' upcoming birthday party while attempting to get them into the Early Human School, an expensive, prestigious kindergarten. Barbra Streisand and Dustin Hoffman return as Greg's parents Roz and Bernie but with Roz hosting a TV show and Bernie staying in Spain, it's apparent that the writer's had little use for them. In an expanded role, Owen Wilson returns as Kevin and Laura Dern co-stars as Prudence, the director of the Early Human School. There's also a two-scene cameo by Harvey Keitel, which sounds greater than it is.

Only minutes into the movie, it feels like a work of lesser quality than the previous movies. Even worse, the movie is working with established characters that have already been embraced by moviegoers and yet it still insists on dumbing them down. Every character is basically the same and is embodied by the same actor, but character traits have become noticably more cartoonish. These movies have never been built on refined and sophisticated humor, but the humor drops directly into double-digit IQ territory. I'm no snob; I can appreciate and find amusement in double-digit IQ humor but this movie strains so hard for laughs it resorts to bodily functions, including flatulence and projectile vomiting, for laughs. Willing to go anywhere for the sake of comedy, it actually expects us to laugh at the tired gag of someone slicing their finger while serving dinner. It's hardly putting forth more effort when Prudence mistakes Jack and Greg for a couple. Low-brow humor is acceptable, but this type of low-brow humor is on the same wavelength as a movie like Daddy Day Care which it even shares elements of its plot with.

The first two films had plots, but this one can't be bothered to provide that kind of coherency. This movie seems like a series of separate gags, re-written as scenes and then strung together in an attempt to create a comedy. The writing by John Hamburg (who actually co-wrote the other two movies surprisingly) and Larry Stuckey is so uninspired and lazy its mediocrity brings down the entire movie. I have put more effort into my writing here than they put into their script. I honestly don't know for sure if this is hyperbole. What I know is not hyperbole is that this has the quality of a straight-to-DVD sequel. It managed to be a financial success, but it effectively puts a nail in the coffin of this series. Even the performances are by-the-numbers, lacking the comedic energy that made the first two movies funny. The actors and the movie fail miserably at re-capturing that old magic and you have to question any film that reunites Keitel and De Niro in the same frame and achieves nothing. Jessica Alba is the only significant new addition to the cast and since she's an actress that's usually heavily criticized, I must mention that she's no worse here than anyone else. I actually think this role would have been a good fit for her if it existed in a better movie.

As I mentioned, Kevin is given a larger role although his character adds nothing to the proceedings that another character couldn't have been written to do. It's like Owen Wilson was broke and hanging out on the set due to boredom and was cast and given a paycheck as a favor. Streisand and Hoffman are only incorporated into the movie because they were part of the last one. They serve no purpose here and are extremely underutilized. Hoffman initially declined to reprise his role after finding the script unsatisfactory and was only cast after he reached an agreement with the studio to shoot six scenes. It's no exaggeration that Bernie's role in the movie is literally tacked on. Is there anything good about the movie? Not really, besides the bit of nostalgia from seeing these characters together again even if it's under such unfortunate circumstances. Weitz is a capable director with a good script, so the direction is not as amateurish as the writing but there is really no saving grace here.

I expected it to be predictable and formulaic, but it commits the ultimate sin a comedy can commit by being unfunny. I'm not hard to please and can usually find something to enjoy about the most poorly made, poorly written movie. Imagine my surprise that this is so unsuccessful that I literally did not laugh once, a fact that is truly pathetic considering the talent involved. When there is a "Jaws" reference in the final minutes of the movie, it becomes apparent just how lame this movie is and serves as further evidence of the weak writing and sheer laziness of the filmmaking. The more I think about it the less it seems like laziness and the more it seems like indifference. Rarely have I seen a movie that makes the truth that it's a cash-in more obvious. Anyone (besides Teri Polo maybe) who claims they were motivated to make this movie by anything other than a paycheck are lying. Mid-way through the film Andi tells Greg, "Those stories about your family were hilarious." If only she knew just how much emphasis she should have put on "were."

GRADE: D-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, April 26, 2011
This review is from: Little Fockers (DVD)
awful do not waste your time or money, probably the worst movie I have seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salubrious Sociological Snuggery, October 24, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Opa" (Colorado Rocky Mountains) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Fockers (DVD)
.

Little Folkers is a superb film. A little critique can reveal its brilliance.

First, If you enjoy slapstick, you will adore this film. You will see creative "pie in the face" comedy (in this case using puke), people tripping, people falling into pits, people wrestling and bopping one another. This is the "three stooges" reincarnated.

Second, I enjoy the study of child psychology. In Little Folkers the children rule. The five year old son intimidates his father with projectile vomiting - on cue. The five year old daughter rules her father with silence and regularity outsmarts both her father and grandfather. The grandfather is the biggest child by far. Jack loves playing spy so he follows people, sets traps for people and tattles on them. Like many kids he ingests pills from the parents medical supplies and suffers hilarious effects. Each child is comical, but most important from a psychological point of view - the kids are in charge.

Third, I sometimes suffer from insomnia and nothing much helps (warm milk, hot toddy, reading a textbook - all useless to me). But Little Folkers is a true cure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the first two movies, May 22, 2011
This review is from: Little Fockers (DVD)
This movie was nothing like the first two movies.....it was not funny at all....I rented it from the redbox so I am glad I only wasted $1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Good.., May 30, 2011
This review is from: Little Fockers (DVD)
The first two were funny, this one is not. This movie is not funny, and the plot is lame. Don't waste your time, see another movie that is funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Third Time Is Not the Charm, More Like a Comic Lobotomy, January 22, 2011
This review is from: Little Fockers (DVD)
From a storytelling standpoint, this is one lazy film, a dismal studio-manufactured concoction that I hope signals the end of the "Fockers" franchise for good (although judging from the ending, it's not very likely). Coming six years after the mega-successful Meet the Fockers, this apparent 2010 comedy is bereft of any real laughs. Director Paul Weitz (About a Boy) has taken over the reins from Jay Roach, and even with the married-with-children angle, the endless shenanigans pile up in a toothless screenplay by John Hamburg and Larry Stuckey without really adding up to much of anything that hasn't already been done in the previous films. All the stars of the last movie are presented and accounted for although barely in a couple of cases, and a few new ones are added this time around. What prevents me from rating this movie one star is simply that it doesn't offend me more than it acts like a 98-minute sedative.

Instead of building the comedy on the angst of meeting someone new as in the first two movies, the plot focuses on Greg and Pam well into their marriage and dealing with the challenges of raising their five-year-old twins, Samantha and Henry - in particular, the need for extra money to finance a major renovation of their dream home and fund the kids' admission to an exclusive private school. At the same time, Jack suffers a heart attack and is focused strictly on his legacy. After being disappointed by another son-in-law who recently split from his daughter, he decides to anoint Greg as the "Godfocker" to uphold the sacred honor of the Byrnes family lineage. The two plot threads intertwine when Jack and his all-too-patient wife Dina some to Chicago for their grandchildren's elaborate birthday party. Complicating the mix are an overenthusiastic pharmaceutical sales rep named Andi Garcia, who convinces Greg to endorse an erectile dysfunction drug called Sustengo, and Pam's old boyfriend Kevin, who still naturally carries a torch for her ten years after the first movie (!)

The comedy is predictable, most often void of genuine yuks, and punctuated by useless scenes of anal tubing, projectile vomiting, bloodletting during a nasty turkey carving scene, and a traumatizing penile inoculation. Ben Stiller is still Greg, and I give him credit for giving his passive character a bit of a backbone this time in order to generate some minor-league humor. However, Robert De Niro's Jack, the ex-CIA operative, still feels like slumming from a great actor. As the Fockers, Barbra Streisand and Dustin Hoffman, who produced the most laughs in the last movie, have about five quick scenes between them, so they really amount to cameo appearances this time. Blythe Danner and Teri Polo are still relegated to the sidelines as Dina and Pam. In his typical hey-dude manner, Owen Wilson returns as the mega-wealthy, emotionally needy Kevin. The new additions are Jessica Alba, who apparently fancies herself as a comic actress as Andi, and the film's one fresh bright spot, Laura Dern as the pretentious head of the private school. And just to have a comic face-off with De Niro, Harvey Keitel shows up in a cameo as an unethical contractor. This is an overstuffed, yawn-inducing bore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Fockers, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I haven't laughed so hard in a long time. Thank you, you Fockers. I loved all three of the movies and will watch them all again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ripped Off, August 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just purchased this item in June and while I'm happy with the movie I was blown away today when I tried to download the digital copy in iTunes only to find that the code has now expired just 2 1/2 month after buying this. It might not be worth the extra money for the BR/DVD/DC if the digital copy is worthless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, Awful, Awful sequel, July 2, 2011
This review is from: Little Fockers (DVD)
This sequel absolutely ruins the first two movies in the series. If you are expecting hilarity as was in the second movie with the baby drinking vodka, etc. you will be sorely disappointed. The kids are too old, not funny and the endless storyline about viagra is not amusing either. It isn't funny that DeNiro has a heart condition and collapses either. There really isn't anything redeeming about this movie whatsoever. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Fockers
Little Fockers by Paul Weitz (DVD - 2011)
$29.98 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.