Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay awake, don't close your eyes
If a children's book author were to sit down one day and think, "I'm going to write a bedtime story," there's a possibility that they find themselves in a bit of a muddle. Bedtime stories, like ABC tales, sound relatively simple until you actually sit down and try to write one. Then you begin to think it through. Will this be a story that is actually about going to...
Published on January 10, 2008 by E. R. Bird

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute
It was ok but most kids today want a little more energy going throught the story. I liked it as an adult.
Published 20 months ago by J.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay awake, don't close your eyes, January 10, 2008
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
If a children's book author were to sit down one day and think, "I'm going to write a bedtime story," there's a possibility that they find themselves in a bit of a muddle. Bedtime stories, like ABC tales, sound relatively simple until you actually sit down and try to write one. Then you begin to think it through. Will this be a story that is actually about going to bed? How do you make it interesting without being SO interesting that it keeps child readers awake rather than sleepy? What is going to make your story any different from the thousands of bedtime picture books already out there? I have seen effective bedtime tales in my day, but few are such perfect little packages as "Little Hoot". It's the newest product from the crackerjack team of Rosenthal and Corace and though it shares some similarities with its predecessor Little Pea, this is one nighttime tale that separates itself from the pack.

Here's how a normal day is for Little Hoot. Like most owls he goes to school, plays with his friends, and practices his pondering and staring. That's fine. He's fond of all of that. What he doesn't like, however, is bedtime. Every night Little Hoot wants to go to bed at a reasonable hour like his other non-owl friends, and every night it's the same story. "If you want to grow up to be a wise owl, you must stay up late." On this particular night Little Hoot begs to go to bed but his mom lets him know in no uncertain terms that he must stay up one whole hour before she'll let him sleep. Finally, after counting down the last ten minutes of play, Little Hoot is allowed to go to bed. And before his mother and father can engage him in a drink of water or a bedtime story, "Little Hoot was already fast asleep."

The craziest thing about "Little Hoot", and I don't know why I was so surprised by this, was that it actually made me crave sleep. By having a protagonist who's sole goal in this story is to bed down for the night you, the reader, really feel for him. Boy, that bed really does look comfy doesn't it? Author Amy Krouse Rosenthal's tone in this tale is pitch perfect. She twists the reader's expectations perfectly so that child readers may find themselves utterly baffled on a first reading of this tale. They may even be baffled on a second or third re-reading. Eventually, though, I have faith that the young `uns will catch on and find Rosenthal's new take on an old childhood complaint a lot of fun to play with. The dialogue works pretty effectively as well. "Ten more minutes of playing, Mister. And please don't ask me again," will ring true, if slightly skewed, in more than a few ears. I also loved how Little Hoot's ways of keeping awake involved the activities that kids partake of when they themselves are trying to keep from falling asleep. Playing with "swords", building forts, jumping on the bed, that sort of thing.

Here's the deal with illustrator Jen Corace... uh... she's awesome. Not very descriptive but whatcha gonna do? Maybe it's her design background and alternative feel, but when Corace illustrates a book, that book has done been illustrated, consarn it. Look at the endpapers of "Little Hoot" for a start. There is a leafy theme to this book. Little Hoot's bed is a mix of leaves and branches. His toys are sticks. And the endpapers are a subtle and lovely burnt umber backdrop with light orange leaf outlines and a sole motion line zooming about the pages for kicks. The illustrations within the book are also filled with small details that will reward adult readers (a kindness to those parents who will hopefully get to read this book over and over for a fifty-fifth time). There is the owl teacher who is covering the words Who, Whom, and Whose. There is Little Hoot's father, brewing himself a stiff pot of coffee for the long night ahead. There is the leaf/branch inspired furniture in the home, a mouse patterned blanket (would that be the equivalent of a human blanket with a pattern of cheese sandwiches?), and Little Hoot's stuffed animal toy. And like Rosenthal and Corace's previous book "Little Pea" there is a final page where the sleeping Little Hoot is seen in FIG. 1 ("snooze"), FIG. 2 ("snore") and FIG. 3 ("drool").

Speaking of, "Little Pea" that was a mighty popular story. So popular, in fact, that "Little Hoot" is going to find itself compared to it over and over again. After all, in one story you had a pea that didn't want to eat his candy for dinner. In the other, a little owl who doesn't want to stay up late. The two concepts are similar, but "Little Hoot" is clearly the better book. All credit where credit is due to "Little Pea", but there is the small matter concerning how peas don't actually eat candy. Owls, on the other hand, really do stay up late, so from a logical point of view "Little Hoot" has a stronger foundation. I like to think of "Little Pea" as a successful trial run and "Little Hoot" as the superior end product.

So let's hold this book up to the light and give it a final glance and a gander. It's beautiful from a design standpoint, and yet its child-friendly pictures and adorable characters will appeal to all readers. It has a smart story and a fun plot but at the same time the author has written a bedtime tale that will partake of the old reverse psychology technique and maybe even get some kids to WANT to go to sleep. It is funny. It is memorable. I say we have a winner. Though it bears some definite similarities to a previous Rosenthal/Corace creation, "Little Hoot" will charm you on the basis of its own merits alone. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable and Funny, May 14, 2008
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
I have to agree with the other reviewers (all 5 stars at this point) and say that this book is delightful. My husband and I were cackling as we read it to our 4-year-old daughter. A very clever story that is simple enough to amuse children and adults. You won't regret reading this book to your child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cute book with a nice twist on staying up late, July 9, 2009
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
My little girl loves this book. It is very cleverly written and the characters are very sweet. It's reverses the idea of kids that want to stay up late and not go to sleep. In this case the little owl wants to go to sleep but he has to stay up late like the other owls do. I think my favorite line is when the little owl says when he grows up, he's going to let his kids go to bed as early as they want. Great bedtime story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Hoot, February 10, 2010
By 
Cathi Bodell (Onondaga, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
I purchased this book for my 4 year old grandson for Christmas. There are nights when he's not so keen on going to bed.
This book is the neatess twist on that, as the little owl wants to go to bed like the rest of his friends, and his parents make him stay up and practice doing what good little owls do. I can't say the book is a quick fix to bed time, but we all LOVED it and so did he.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me sleep!, December 14, 2009
By 
J. Jex "daisy girl" (Menomonee Falls, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
My daughter giggles at little Hoot as he begs his mom to let him go to bed early like the rest of his friends. The twist on normal life is so funny! We love this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little hoot is a true hoot..., April 12, 2009
By 
N. Rosenbaum "book worm" (Redlands, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
We have loved the book "Little Pea" for years now and when we saw this one we were excited. It is not only written in the same witty style (what's not to love about parents who won't let their kid go to bed early?) but it has great illustrations and a good message. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great use of reverse psychology!, April 10, 2009
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
Little Hoot hates bedtime. Why? Because it's just so LATE and it's not FAIR and when HE grows up he'll let HIS kids go to bed as EARLY as they WANT!!!"

It is, frankly, a hoot to see him grumpily playing an extra hour before bed, and to hear his parents begging him for a glass of water or a story before he tucks himself in!

Definitely a must-read, even if it isn't *quite* as good as its predecessor, Little Pea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Story, September 23, 2008
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
This is a very sweet bedtime story. My six & eight year olds both enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew reverse psychology could be so delightful?, December 18, 2013
This review is from: Little Hoot (Kindle Edition)
My daughter has a fondness for owls, so I was delighted to find this title at the library. I wasn't sure what the story would be like, but I was immediately drawn to the illustrations. The pen and ink pictures are simultaneously adorable and clever. They create a real sense of character.

And there is a story to match. Little owl likes pretty much everything--he likes school, playing with friends, and practicing important owl skills (like pondering and staring). But he does not like bedtime. His friends get to go to bed early, but Little Hoot has to stay up very late. Even when his eyes are drooping and threatening to close, his parents insist he stay awake just a little longer.

I love the little twist of a child who wants to go to bed. It's a nice bit of reverse psychology for children who read the book.

The prose is nicely written, too. It has clear sentences and age-appropriate language. Definitely worth reading with your 2-6 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too cute, September 28, 2011
By 
H. Stull (Gig Harbor, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Hoot (Hardcover)
I have a 5 year old and a 3 year old. They adore this book and request it all the time. It fulfills all my critera - excellent illustrations, creative story line, and fun to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Hoot
Little Hoot by Amy Krouse Rosenthal (Hardcover - December 20, 2007)
$15.99 $12.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.