Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 24, 2003
Plenty of people have already reviewed these DVD's complaining about the sound quality and other related gripes that are probably valid. However, I can't give this series any less than 5 stars simply because I'm so thrilled to have them available at last! Rather than reminisce about my vicarious childhood in Walnut Grove (which no one cares to hear), here are the episodes of Season Two, in case anyone wants to know exactly what they'll be buying. These episodes were first aired from September 10, 1975 to March 31, 1976.
The Richest Man in Walnut Grove
Four Eyes
Haunted House
In the Big Inning
The Campout
The Spring Dance
Remember Me, Parts 1 & 2
Ebenezer Sprague
At the End of the Rainbow
The Gift
His Father's Son
The Talking Machine
The Pride of Walnut Grove
A Matter of Faith
The Runaway Caboose
Troublemaker
The Long Road Home
For My Lady
Centennial
Soldier's Return
Going Home
44 comments|163 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
Why are you doing this, Amazon??? Blu-ray hasen't even been released yet, and all of the sudden there are TONS of so-so reviews on here which are referring to the sub-par quality OLD DVD releases from over ten years ago!!! Totally unfair! This NEW BLU-RAY release of Season 2 of LHOTP will likely be just as amazing as the Season 1 blu-ray release! Way to confuse your customers!!!
77 comments|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
Once again Lionsgate comes through for LHOTP fans with this new release. This is NOT the same pitiful DVD collection that fans put up with for years. This is remastering the way it was meant to be done. The opening theme has been restored (it was left out the other time) and from what I've watched, the episodes are back to their normal length. Outside scenes especially look very vivid and fresh as though they were filmed just yesterday. Even far away shots aren't as grainy and unclear as they were the other times I've watched them. As a side note, I just compared the remastered version to the original DVDs. There is NO comparison. Volume is terrific and even with its basic 2.0 sound, the music and dialog come through quite easily. As far as the casing is concerned, I doubt you'll need to worry about any scratched discs as they are all firmly attached to their cradles.

Many (including myself) put up with the inferior previous release with little hope of actually watching this classic the way it was meant to be watched. I can say with conviction that this is no longer the case. The only thing I would have liked better is if they included more bonus features. But even then, just having the show look this great is in many ways a bonus enough.

Buy this collection. Ignore the fact that you invested a couple hundred dollars with the previous releases. Do it again. You won't regret it.

Michael Landon would be proud.
22 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
It's unfortunate that the reviews for the new Blu-ray versions are lumped in with the old DVD versions, because they share almost nothing in common. The picture and sound of the Immavision DVD releases were atrocious and the episodes were time-compressed, making Michael Landon sound like he had been inhaling helium. Honestly, the DVD versions are among the worst commercial releases I've seen of any TV show, just abominable and terribly unprofessional. I vowed to not buy anymore seasons until the product was improved.

Well, I'm here to report that day has arrived. In contrast to that old garbage, these new Blu-ray releases have sharp picture, nicely saturated color, and good sound. I haven't been able to detect any trace of time-compression. Where the DVD versions were a besmirching of the series, these are a must for the Little House fan!
33 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2014
I've hit an age where I look at specific television shows and movies and think to myself, "How could that have come out so long ago?" The 40th anniversary of "Little House on the Prairie" is celebrated through the release of the second season of the beloved series on Blu-ray for the first time ever. All 22 episodes are fully restored to broadcast length for the "Little House on the Prairie:" Season Two Blu-ray.

Season Two of the series is packed full of action, excitement, drama, suspense, and humor. Charles Ingalls is forced to take on different jobs to pay off his debt. His entire family shows their support by helping to earn the money they need. Meanwhile, Mary becomes the talk of the town as she reveals her mathematical gift. A sick widow taking care of three children catches Charles' eye and he rushes to her rescue. The nation's centennial is cause for a great celebration and the Ingalls hit the town to show their patriotism.

The deluxe remastered edition of the "Little House on the Prairie:" Season Two Blu-ray is presented in 1080p High Definition with English 2.0 DTS-HD Master Audio. The picture is fully restored and looks better than it ever has before. It also includes Spanish and French 2.0 Dolby Digital Audio and English SDH.

The Blu-ray release of "Little House on the Prairie:" Season Two doesn't have much in the way of bonus material. A 15-minute featurette entitled "The 'Little House' Phenomenon Part Two - In the Beginning" continues where the last edition left off on the Season One Blu-ray. It includes interviews with the children of Ed Friendly and Michael Landon.

The "Little House on the Prairie:" Season Two Blu-ray will thrill families looking for something wholesome and exciting to watch together. There aren't very many shows coming out anymore that cater to parents and their children sitting down together to enjoy a relaxing night of television. "Little House on the Prairie" can definitely help fill that gap.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
It is a shame that this remastered edition has all the pre-2014 reviews lumped in with it. To be accurate, they should only be showing reviews as of May 6, 2014 when this Season 2 remastered edition was released. We have seen the first 3 episodes, and it has perfect sound clearity, picture, and ALL the original material is included, as was not the case in the pre-2014 versions. I grew up with House on the Praire and the Waltons in the 70s and wanted my 3 little girls to have that experience watching each episode as i did. When this re-mastered version came out just this year I was very excited and we've now watched the pilot and first 3 episodes which are exactly as i remember seeing it with perfect picture and sound quality. Thank you so much Lionsgate for taking this project on and doing it so well. I've now purchased their remastered Season 1 and Season 2 and am just hoping it makes good business sense for them to continue with seasons 3 and beyond.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 10, 2014
Bought the first season on DVD and my daughter LOVED it so I purchased the second, and surprisingly, found it cheaper to purchase on blu-ray instead of DVD. This is a wonderful set! All of Season 2, the uncut, broadcast length shows, nicely remastered so the picture looks great. The best part? There's like over 20 episodes on this thing.... I think it's over 20 hours of shows! Super good deal when you think of it that way. I can't wait for Season 3 to come out in September because the remastered quality, blu-ray discs, etc. makes it worth the wait over the other (older) dvd offerings. My daughter loves the stories so much she has started wearing a bonnet just like Laura and Mary.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
This is a superb release. The sound quality deserves 5 stars as well. The audio is crisp and clear. Exactly what you would expect from a HDMA audio track. The picture quality is way better than I ever remembered it. It has a very smooth film like appearance and is crisp and clear. Once again Lions-gate has done it right! They delivered a quality product. Season two looks just as good as season one. They obviously put a lot of painstaking care and love into the restoration of these episodes. Every Little House fan will be pleased with these new re-leases. These absolutely are the original un-cut releases. The only thing I wish is that they would use these re-mastered versions on TV when they show the re-runs. I am proud to have these new remastered Seasons up on my shelf alongside all my other blu-rays. I want to give out a big THANK YOU to Lions-Gate for giving Little House on the Prairie the blu-ray treatment. Michael Landon would be so proud of these releases if he were alive to be able to see them. If you purchase Season 2 you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
As a child, I'll admit that I thought the Little House Series was boring. There is not a ton of action and the story focuses on the relationships, trials, and tribulations of the family and nearby town folks.

As I get older, I find that the themes of family, hard work, perseverance, and community really resonate with me. It actually makes me yearn for a time when people knew their neighbors and relied on the people around them to survive and thrive. The themes in the series are very important and seem very "American".

The actors in the series do a wonderful job, especially Michael Landon as Pa, and make you root for the family to be successful in their endeavors.

Highly recommended!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
LOOOOOVVVVEEE this set! Seriously, buy it. Now. Did you know that Pa's pants had a design? Or that Laura had exactly 1407 freckles? Just kidding, but the picture is so clear and the audio is crisp! Feels like I get to watch the episodes hot off the press :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse