Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Family Christmas Film or For Any Time of Year!
This version of Frances Hodgeson Burnett's classic novel, staring Alec Guiness and Ricky Schroder, is excellent! Excellent acting by all the cast!! The story line: Young Cedric Erroll is summoned to England from New York by the Grandfather he has never met. His crusty grandfather begins training him to be the next Earl of Dorincourt. Needless to say, the grandfather...
Published on November 24, 2001 by KittyKins

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this VHS version!
The movie is great but the quality of the VHS is horrible. It is the worst quality of any production I have ever seen. It is very blurry and fuzzy. I bought it a few years ago and was very disappointed as the story is lovely. I have been looking for a DVD or blu-ray ever since...I certainly hope good quality versions come out.
Published 24 months ago by Teri


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Family Christmas Film or For Any Time of Year!, November 24, 2001
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This version of Frances Hodgeson Burnett's classic novel, staring Alec Guiness and Ricky Schroder, is excellent! Excellent acting by all the cast!! The story line: Young Cedric Erroll is summoned to England from New York by the Grandfather he has never met. His crusty grandfather begins training him to be the next Earl of Dorincourt. Needless to say, the grandfather himself becomes transformed by Cedie! I especially appreciate that the movie producers used the novel for the story line without the typical "Hollywood twist". The last half an hour of the movie happens during the Christmas season, and it is a touching climax to a wonderful presentation of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Lord Fauntleroy, May 15, 2005
By 
William Compton "Bill" (Kitsap, Washington USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The Alec Guinness/Ricky Schroder version was so beautifully filmed, that the scenery and costuming become a member of this stellar case. I watched this (made for TV) movie when it first aired, and have been amazed that such an elaborate production has not become a yearly tradition. To my knowledge it has never aired but the one time--what a waste and what a pity. I search the TV listings each year.

I am forced to watch our extended-play, grainy VHS copy--the beauty of this story has become a family favorite. Christmas would not be Christmas without seeing it.

The story is perdictable--from the start you know all will turn out well. In the best Dickens-ist tradition. Bad is turned into good, eventually. You willing gallup along anyway because the cast captures the roles so comvincingly and the beauty is equally captivating.

What will it take to have this movie released on a remastered DVD? This holiday season do yourself a favor and ferret out a copy--Then kick back and let the Christmad spirit wash over you.

I don't promise any surprises, but you might find yourself drawn into the faithful circle that believe this film is among the very best of Christmas stories filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Version I've Seen of Little Lord Fauntleroy, September 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This version is far, far better than the old 1936 version. It is faithful to the book and a pleasure to watch. Young Cedric Errol is a real child in this one, rather than a stuck up little prig. This version should be released as a DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in every way!, December 19, 2001
By 
S. Crutchfield "icemtn" (Young Harris, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I can't believe this isn't on DVD! ...when so many other lesser movies are. Alec Guinness and an outstanding cast are offset by the incomparable English country side. This is one of the best Christmas movies ever made. Full of the Christmas Spirit. If this movie doesn't warm your heart, it's made of stone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super family movie brilliantly performed, December 12, 2005
By 
skiruguy (Lancaster PA USA) - See all my reviews
We've watched this time and again--even twice in succession on New Year's Eve--because we enjoy the story and the performances. Why won't someone wake up and put a restored version on DVD????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Version I've Seen!, February 16, 2006
By 
JustMe (Lansing, Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
This version of "Little Lord Fauntleroy" is far and away the best I've seen. While there is a lot to recommend both the Mary Pickford version and the Freddie Barthlomew version, neither of them has Alec Guinness. I would say that Freddie is better than Ricky, but since this is actually the story of the grandfather's conversion, and no one is better than Alec Guinness, this is the version that prevails.

When will we get the DVD!!!!!!!

Extra bonus: Patrick Stewart in the small role of the stable master - a gem of understatement.

UPDATE: (July 2007)
The DVD is available from European sources!
I just found one on ebay.co.uk!
Check around, you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Heartwarming, November 28, 2003
By 
"josss1987" (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is the ultimate in feel-good Christmas movies that has become an annual tradition in my family. I am sorely disappointed that it is not available on DVD because the VHS version that we have is not the best quality. If you want to see Rick Schoeder at his absolute cutest as a little boy, or if you are a fan of Alec Guiness, you must see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lively, festive production that deserves to be on DVD!, November 29, 2006
By 
C. Reynolds "tondea4" (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
This production of "Little Lord Fauntleroy" is a pure joy to watch. It is much better than the Freddy Bartholomew production and more fun to watch than the BBC miniseries. Unfortunately, the movie has not been updated to DVD which is a shame since new generations will be stuck with watching the less well-done movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little lord fauntleroy, December 14, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a beautiful film and rare.costly because the rights have expired.who ever owns the film will not allow it to be available to the public.It won academy award for the scenery etc.great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Xmas Movie, July 2, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie has become a Xmas tradition around our house. The cinematography is superb, as is the casting. I always end up reaching for the Kleenex box before the end! I would really like it in DVD since my VHS copy is wearing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS]
Little Lord Fauntleroy [VHS] by Alec Guinness (VHS Tape - 1992)
$21.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.