Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $1.59
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Little Lulu Volume 1: My Dinner With Lulu Paperback – May 10, 2005


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$96.98 $159.40

Spring Books
The Big Books of Spring
See our editors' picks for the books you'll want to read this season, from blockbusters and biographies to new fiction and children's books.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Little Lulu (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 200 pages
  • Publisher: Dark Horse (May 17, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1593073186
  • ISBN-13: 978-1593073183
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.1 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #564,811 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
83%
4 star
17%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Michael R. Brown on May 5, 2005
Format: Paperback
While this is 'volume 3' of Dark Horse Comics' reprint series of Little Lulu, it actual reprints the first 5 of the 10 "Four Color" Little Lulu comics (#74, 97, 110, 115, 120) which were published before Little Lulu got her own title. Hopefully volume 4 of the series will reprint the last 5 of the Four Color issues.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Only-A-Child VINE VOICE on December 2, 2006
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The numbering and publishing order of Dark Horse's "Little Lulu" series is rather confusing. Although "My Dinner with Lulu" was their third release, it is labeled Volume #1 in the series. This is because it reprints the first comic "books" featuring the character; Dell Four Color #74, #97, #110, #115, #120 (published over a two year period, 1945-1946). All 52 pages of content from these five books is included, unfortunately the covers and advertisements are not. And the reprints are black and white, which makes the volumes very affordable if poor substitutes for the original four-color pages.

John Stanley did all the pencils and some of the inking for these five books, in partnership with Irving Tripp. Cartoonist Marge Buell created the characters in 1935 for the Saturday Evening Post and the early comic books had to secure her approval before publication. Judging from the obvious style differences, it is likely that several of Buell's multi-panel one-page SEP stories were included in the comic books and reprinted in this volume.

The 1945-46 drawings are more faithful to Buell's style than later Lulu issues. Note that the characters' mouths are only shown when they are speaking and they have only a single eyebrow line going across their foreheads. Despite this both Buell and Stanley are able to convey an amazing number expressions and emotions.

Do you know why Tubby calls himself the Spider? It's because he spins a web to catch his prey.

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By DJ Joe Sixpack HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on February 6, 2007
Format: Paperback
I recently finished plowing through the collected paperback editions of the classic 1950s "Little Lulu" comics, and wanted to put in my vote... yes! yes! yes! True, it's a little disappointing that the strips are reprinted in black-&-white and not in the original color versions, but the real genius of these works is in the draftsmanship of artists John Stanley and Irving Tripp, and once you get onto their wavelength, even these half-size B&W reprints are a pure delight. They can say so much with such economy -- a single panel of Lulu's unbridled mischief can have you laughing your head off, and here, in this multi-volume collection, you've got a real treasure trove of some of the best graphic-art humor produced in the 20th Century. Great stuff, highly recommended, and major kudos to Dark Horse for making this artwork both available and affordable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?