Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning - Review of the DVD!
I'm not sure why a number of people have chosen to review or bash a movie that they've never seen, but I for one found this movie to be very well done. Is it worthy of a big screen release? Not necessarily; it is a low-key story, but nonetheless, a VAST improvement over some of Disney's previous direct-to-dvd movies. The story is a prequel to "The Little Mermaid (Two-Disc...
Published on August 17, 2008 by Dave

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing but really pretty average
In the long-standing tradition of direct-to-video sequels, ARIEL'S BEGINNING continues the story of a beloved character without really adding anything new. The music is OK, but doesn't come close to the brilliant exuberance of the original (it's telling that the most inspired musical number, "Jump in the Line," was NOT written for the movie). Likewise, the animation is...
Published on August 27, 2008 by A. Gammill


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning - Review of the DVD!, August 17, 2008
I'm not sure why a number of people have chosen to review or bash a movie that they've never seen, but I for one found this movie to be very well done. Is it worthy of a big screen release? Not necessarily; it is a low-key story, but nonetheless, a VAST improvement over some of Disney's previous direct-to-dvd movies. The story is a prequel to "The Little Mermaid (Two-Disc Platinum Edition)," and explains how King Triton banned music in his kingdom when his wife was killed. We learn how Sebastian became the music conductor for King Triton, and how Ariel & Flounder met. Naturally, it is the full-of-life Ariel who helps bring music back to her father's life. Although the villain is not as fun and nasty as the legendary Ursula, Marina Del Rey (ably voiced by Sally Field) is plenty of fun as the evil governess for King Triton's daughter. Not content to be a governess, she plots to usurp Sebastian's position, even if it means getting rid of Ariel. The one odd character in the movie is Marina's sidekick, Benjamin. His style of animation looks like something out of Barney. It is particularly jarring since the animation on this film is SOOOO good! It does not look like your typical straight-to-dvd release; in fact, I would go so far as to say that it is on par with the original feature. Jodi Benson returns as the voice of Ariel. In both singing and acting, she is fantastic and totally believeable as the songstress under the sea. As Sebastian, Samuel E. Wright returns...who else could voice this classic animated character? There are seven musical numbers in the film, and the fact that it was directed by a choreographer (Peggy Holmes) is a plus. The movement of the characters in the film AND the dance numbers is fantastic.

Extras are also great. 2 backstage Disney featurettes: "Splashdance" is a behind-the-scenes look at the making of the movie, hosted by director Peggy Holmes. "The Little Mermaid: Under the Sea and Behind The Scenes On Broadway" gives a backstage look at the Broadway musical production, featuring interviews with the cast. There are 2 deleted scenes (shown in storyboard form), "Music & More" (where viewers can directly access the musical numbers AND watch them karaoke-style with the words on the screen), and the game "Mermaid Discovery Vanity Game," where you can learn about each of King Triton's daughters by clicking on the personal items on their vanity/makeup tables.

Overall, a wonderful DVD for children of all ages. Definitely a quality production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun prequel to The Little Mermaid!, August 29, 2008
"Ariel's Beginning" is a fun animated feature that had my 3.5 year old daughter asking for more. The story is the prequel to The Little Mermaid - it tells the story of how King Triton lost his beloved wife Athena in an accident [back when Ariel and her sisters were little] and thus banned music and all forms of gaiety in his kingdom, living in seclusion and with darkness within his heart. When the pirncesses grow up, they all chafe against the restrictions imposed by King Triton, especially Ariel who, like her mother, loves music and singing. Ariel starts to dabble in music secretly, much to her father's anger and finally runs away with Sebastian in tow, until Triton realises his folly.

It is in this movie that we find out how Ariel meets and befriends Flounder, and how Sebastian becomes the music conductor in Triton's court. There is also a villain in the form of nanny, Marina del Rey, though she is not as scary or menacing as Ursula, the sea witch in The Little Mermaid.

Ok, it is not as enchanting as The Little Mermaid, but all in all, I thought it was a decent effort by Disney, considering some of the other animated features out there.

The songs in this feature are not as catchy as in The Little Mermaid, but they are still pleasing and fun. The songs here are: I Remember, I Will Sing, Athena's Song,Just One Mistake,Jump In The Line [Shake, Senora], and Man Smart, Woman Smarter.

The extras include Deleted Scenes, Music and More [the Disney Song Selection option allows the words of the songs to appear on screen, making it easy for sing-alongs], Games and Activities [Mermaid Discovery Vanity Game- allows viewers to unearth secrets about the princesses by clicking on their personal scrapbooks, or compare which of King Triton's daughters you are most like with the Personality Profile Game]. There is also a Backstage Disney feature [a behind the scenes featurette centring on animation director Peggy Holmes].

I watched this with my little one, and we were both entertained - so much so that we watched it again! Having been long-time Little Mermaid fans [me longer than my little one of course:)], this was a delightful addition to our collection of Disney features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing but really pretty average, August 27, 2008
By 
A. Gammill (Tupelo, MS United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
In the long-standing tradition of direct-to-video sequels, ARIEL'S BEGINNING continues the story of a beloved character without really adding anything new. The music is OK, but doesn't come close to the brilliant exuberance of the original (it's telling that the most inspired musical number, "Jump in the Line," was NOT written for the movie). Likewise, the animation is well-done, but pales in comparison to the theatrically-released original.

Still, young children may find enough to like about the antics of Ariel and her sisters. As sequels go, it nowhere near as awful as The Hunchback of Notre Dame II, but falls short of even the studio's less-celebrated theatrical releases like Home on the Range.

A brief behind-the-scenes peak at Broadway's "The Little Mermaid", a couple of deleted scenes, a profile of the film's director, and the requisite DVD game round out the bonus features.

If you're a completist, or have young children who love The Little Mermaid, this is not a bad addition to your Disney DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Visuals, Mild Story, Continuity Give and Take, August 31, 2008
By 
Monty Moonlight (Austin, TX, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a big summer for me, because my two tippy-top favorite Disney girls, Ariel and Tink (despite the fact that I really go for the Alice and Wendy performers the most at the theme parks), are getting very special DVD releases; direct-to-video prequels, to be specific. The first is out now, sometimes referred to as The Little Mermaid 3, but released as "The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning".

The plot of this all new, thankfully traditionally animated feature (unlike the upcoming Tinker Bell CGI movie, though that one still looks good), involves King Triton's tragic loss of Ariel's mother, Queen Athena (And yes, we do see Athena in the film, and she looks more like Ariel than one would probably have imagined), and the way the entire kingdom is soon forced to suffer as he does. King Triton places a ban on all music in the kingdom of Atlantica, because music reminds him of his lost beloved, and this results in ten years of boredom and misery for Triton's subjects and his own seven lovely daughters. After that flashback, narrated by Sebastian the crab, we catch up with Triton and his family sometime during Ariel's fifteenth year, when an encounter with a new fish friend named Flounder leads her to discover a secret, underground club in which music is played and celebrated nightly. Ariel's curious and excitable sisters soon join her on her visits to the secret club, and this is their undoing. For their governess, the scheming Marina Del Ray, is out to get Sebastian's job, and that means she's out to get Sebastian, who just happens to be the illegal, musical nightclub proprietor and head entertainer. It's a rather simple plot about how music was brought back to the kingdom of Atlantica, which isn't a spoiler if you've seen the original film at all, with a mild villain thrown in for a little danger. Marina does turn out to be a threat, but the real hurdle for the heroes in the film is Triton and his anti-music agenda.

"The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning" is definitely a film that walks the line of great and disappointing probably more than any Disney sequel. It's beautifully animated for the most part, with my only real complaint being a few scenes of some significant music box figures done in CGI that looks unfinished in close-ups. The plot is not too shabby, but probably too simple to meet most adult viewers' hopes and expectations (yes, there are tons of adult Disney fanatics out there, like myself). Disney tends to aim its direct-to-video films more squarely at kids than its usually MUCH better bigscreen outings or even its animated TV shows. I consider this to be part of the problem with Disney's line of direct to video releases. Also, the villain of a Disney film is often the best aspect for most folks, and in this case, Sally Field's Marina Del Ray is a good character played beautifully, but not all that important as a villain and certainly not very imposing. She has a creepy pack of electric eels to increase her danger quotient though. Of course, she also has a comedic sidekick, a manatee named Benjamin (who seems to not require much oxygen), who I found a bit annoying really but others seem to enjoy.

The biggest problem with the story and the film itself though, for hardcore Little Mermaid fans anyway, is probably that it is hard to buy as a precursor to the original, classic Disney masterpiece. And don't get me started on how annoying it is that the direct-to-video prequel and sequel present Ariel's life as having 10 years of misery and deprivation in her childhood years and ten years of misery and deprivation at the start of her marriage. I know Anderson's mermaid was a tragic character, but this is the most internationally beloved Disney princess of them all! That's beside the point though. As I was saying, it is a bit hard to buy these events as having led up to the original film, and I consider the Disney animated TV series, which I suppose is no longer considered canon (though it is to me), to be a much better prequelization. Something that increases that feeling is the problem "Ariel's Beginning" had with character continuity. First, there's the issue of voices, most noticeably, King Triton's (though Ariel's sisters sound totally different from in the theatrical film too). Jim Cummings has taken over as the voice of King Triton after years of Kenneth Mars playing the role. Now, Jim Cummings is a Disney treasure, but he doesn't sound like Triton much at all, and it just doesn't work for me. In fact, of the two biggest complaints I've read about the characterizations in "Ariel's Beginning", that's one of them. The other is the character of Flounder. He is a completely different character in this film. Flounder, the cowardly "guppy" of the classic film and TV series, is presented here as a Baloo/King Louie wannabe with a rebellious streak. The saddest part is that the one scene in which he really acts just like the original Flounder can be found in the deleted scenes section.

But let's talk about chicks, man. Specifically, Ariel, the girl of my dreams, and her six hottie sisters. Ariel is voiced perfectly here by her original voice actress, Jodi Benson, whose voice is still straight from Heaven. And, thankfully, Ariel is totally in character in this movie. Her sisters finally get some decent screen time too, and I gotta tell ya, the exposure we get to Ariel's sisters here is one of the biggest strong points of "Ariel's Beginning". I came away from it absolutely adoring Arista.

Not a hot female, but also reprising his role perfectly here is the great Samuel E. Wright, who voices Sebastian the crab. Mr. Wright actually performs the most memorable song in the film, which unfortunately is not one of the new, original songs written for the film, but instead is the well-known "Jump in the Line". This song is performed twice in the film in two different ways, and it's the best musical aspect aside from Ariel singing "I Remember". Sadly, the original songs here are not very memorable. This is usually a problem with direct-to-video animated films that attempt to be musicals, and a prime example of a mistake frequently made is the villain's song here, "Just One Mistake", which attempts to emulate the song sang by Ursula in the first film but instead is just all over the place and fails to establish a catchy tune.

So, when all is said and done, "Ariel's Beginning" is a visually impressive, mildly entertaining new story about Ariel and her friends that unfortunately holds to very little character/story continuity and feels more like it takes place in a parallel universe rather than in the same one as the original film (and totally, disappointingly disregards the TV series; I hate it when they do that!). Honestly, though I still need to rewatch and review it (haven't seen it in a while), I'd be just as comfortable tossing "The Little Mermaid 2" into that parallel universe too. I don't care to see Ariel having another 10 years of sadness, nor do I care to see her married to anyone other than me, or with a kid I didn't sire. *ahem*

Folks who simply don't feel we need new stories about the Disney princesses shouldn't bother to watch or review this film, but for those of us who do, we would love to see more if they had this level of visual quality but were just written better. Of course, it is said that this is to be the last of the Disney direct-to-video prequels and sequels (we'll see about that), the Tink movie being more of a Fairy franchise thing like the Barbie DVDs, but the real problem was never the concept of making such films, it was just how much work, heart, talent, and of course money was put into them. "Bambi 2", despite the uninspired title, remains the best of the Disney animated sequels (aside from "Rescuers Down Under", of course) and is really an outstanding film with only the flaw of some all-too-modern sounding songs. "Ariel's Beginning" was one of the ones that came close to that level. Visually, it is beautiful. As a stand alone film, it's pretty good/enjoyable. Good enough for me to give it four stars. It just disregards too much of what has already been established as part of Ariel's universe, and writing down for a younger audience is never really a good thing. If they didn't have to do it for the bigscreen films, why do it for the direct-to-video ones? Is it worth a purchase though? Yes, unless you just hate Disney sequels. It's a good film that looks gorgeous on DVD (it's anamorphic widescreen, by the way). The continuity issues may make you mad, they may not, but it's a good film, and truly the real highlight is getting to know Ariel's sisters better. The DVD includes a couple of deleted scenes, song selections, a short behind-the-scenes featurette with the director, Peggy Holmes, a personality match game (I got Ariel, no cheating!) that is part of a bigger interactive experience that teaches you more about Ariel and her sisters by letting you explore their individual vanities, and the best extra is a behind the scenes look at the new "The Little Mermaid" Broadway musical, which I'm DYING to see. A couple of the sisters in that one are cuties too. If you're a fan of Ariel the Little Mermaid, yeah, it's a must purchase. I just so badly wish that Disney's "The Little Mermaid" TV series would get a complete DVD release too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The most ovverrated Disney sequel..., August 21, 2011
When you watch this movie, you will release something is terribly wrong. Well, not right from the start.

This movie opens with a wonderful scene featuring Ariel's mother, a younger King Trident (with a brown beard!), and all of their young children hanging out on rocks on the surface. Since we all know what happened to Ariel's mother, we know something sad is about to happen. This takes over about the first seven minutes of the film.

Being a prequel, this is before 1. King Trident is noticeably far more angry and withdrawn, so much that he doesn't want to hear any music. His time spent with his daughters consists of a short walk in the morning. This gives the movie an interesting tone.

But what happens next goes downhill. We get introduced to the girl's caretaker, "Marina Del Rey," and "Benjamin." To start, Benjamin is so lazily animated that he doesn't even fit in the rest of the movie, which is above normal quality for direct-to-dvd Disney films. "Marina Del Rey" is a very typical female villian; all about the glamour, ready to decieve and steal, etc. In fact, all she really is comes off to be the poor man's (or women's) Ursula, who was very unique and down-right great. In fact, Morgana from Little Mermaid II was a thousands times better.

The movie moves into more trouble. Does anyone remember little Flounder, scared and terrified of everything? Apparently in this so-called "prequel," he dances to music and acts obnoxious. Um, what? This makes no sense.
Not a whole lot happens at this point-they do some traveling, being a club dancing to "Shake Senora"(can't even come up with an original song), and have more trouble with the evil Marina Del Rey. Her song on her own pails terribly to anything done by Ursula or Morgana. In fact, it's terrible.

So the "big conclusion" has "Marina Del Rey" unleashing electric eels on the characters, and them ultimately winning, with Marina and Benjamin being put in jail. Right there, it is so obvious that the movie had a chance to be far more than it was. With a female character who uses magic, uses electric eels as weapons, doesn't she seem to have some connection to Ursula? Why not turn her into a pre-Ursula, have her be cursed to be an octopus, or change, or anything? It is ultimately the uninspired, boring villian that brings down the movie from it's little mistakes.

This movie is far from terrible. The beginning is actually very good. However, if you are looking for a good sequel to the original Little Mermaid, the 2nd one with her daughter and Morgana was far better, darker, more detailed, and never "out-of-character."

Overall the high ratings of this movie are not deserved, though it is better than many Disney direct-to-dvd sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If love old school Disney, avoid this "movie", May 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another direct to DVD sequel/prequel from Disney. Bland color palette and lack luster animation are the foundation of this latest installment to the little mermaid series.

The thing that stands out the most is the awful, awful musical score to a series where the original is known for having an amazing variety of songs.

Seriously, they have "Jump in the Line (Shake Shake Senora)" as one of the songs. Are you freaking kidding me? Not an original Disney creation, one of the crappiest swing songs I have ever heard. I seriously hate the **** out of that song and they play it like 2 or 3 times throughout the movie because it's practically the only song they have.

If you had fond memories of the Little Mermaid, you owe it to yourself to NEVER see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandaughters will love, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been looking for this for a while, my grandaughters loved this movie and our copy is damaged. Thanks so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the only Disney sequals that hasn't left me disappointe!, August 26, 2008
I think there should be a rule against leaving a review for something you haven't even seen!
I'm giving this one 5 stars because its a great sequal. Maybe 4 stars if it were something I went to see at the movies. I was doubtful that this movie would be anything more than 90 minutes of poor-quality animation with a weak story line and annoying songs, given that this is what Disney sequals have amounted to over the years. Fortunately, this movie is different than those other disappointing sequals. The first thing I noticed was how much nicer the animation is in this movie than in previous Disney sequals. The animation stays fairly true to the original Little Mermaid movie and doesn't look like a series of computer coloring page! Not only that but the storyline is really very sweet. (my daughters were really turned off by the first sequal that showed Arieal growing up and becoming a mother...gross) I think this movie does a nice job of adding some depth to the original story. As a mother of teenage daughters who grew up with Disney Princesses, this is a nice addition to our collection. I hope that Disney continues to release more quality movies like this one instead of just throwing things together quickly to capitalize on the demand for all things princess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Disney sequels, August 31, 2008
I was extremely skeptical when I first heard about this movie, but was pleasantly surprised when the movie ended. The story is quite charming and it seems like this is one of the first sequels Disney writers gave some thought to.

The basic plot summary actually is that King Triton's kingdom is alive with music until his wife, Athena is killed in an accident. He is overwhelmed by grief and music only exacerbates his pain so he bans music forever. Ariel is still the headstrong girl from the original Little Mermaid movie and is unahppy with the status quo. She meets Flounder and winds up following him to an underground club, who is run by Triton's righthand crab, Sebastian. Ariel's emotions are stirred as she is moved by the music and she begins to remember what it was like before her mother died. She brings her sisters and they are all happy again, until Triton finds out.

What is nice about this movie is that instead of the usual hostile takeover theme to overthrow the king, the villian is actually after Sebastian's job. Marina Del Ray, who is a bit like Ursula without the sorcery, wants to climb the corporate ladder but has little desire to be royalty, an odd departure from the usual fairy tale faire. Her sidekick, Benjamin, who I think is a manatee, is not evil, which is also different. It seems that Disney ditched the formulaic method they have been using to compose their previous subpar sequels and created what Disney was after originally, a charming family movie that you can watch and smile and laugh at over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My 4 year old was asking for Barbie's 'Swan Lake', August 30, 2008
... halfway thru this horrid production. I feel sorry for the folks involved ... Jodi Benson and the rest, they did there usual great job, but they had an absolutely AWFUL story to put across. Slow, boring and, I'm sorry, the banning of music from Atlantica is just too high a concept for conflict. Every movie in this vein has GOT to have some evil... Sally Field's "Marina Del Rey" character AIN'T it... she's just annoying.

I was also quite disappointed we only got to spend three minutes (if that) with Athena, Triton's lovely redheaded wife. No back story, no chance to care about her...just an odd scene with some hapless pirates and bad weather and she's gone. No tears, nothing... just a ban on music in Atlantica because Triton can't stand to hear 'their song' anymore. No laughs, poor music, and ho-hum 'production' numbers. I DID laugh when Sebastian turned out to be the 'star' of the underground music club.

Disney had a real chance to let us get to know Athena, find out where Ursula and Morgana came from and why they've such an ax to grind with Triton... some back story on Sebastian, maybe... but they squandered it. The original and the 'Return to the Sea' sequel are far better than this direct to the bargain bin by Halloween release.

R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.