Customer Reviews


408 Reviews
5 star:
 (329)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Everybody's mother cried."
Imagine the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Thousands of people displaced and in danger. Families separated and unsure where to go or what to do. A government in chaos, unable (at least initially) to be of any assistance. Then imagine that this chaos had lasted an ENTIRE decade. That some of these families were so poor and so desperate to keep their children safe, that...
Published on November 10, 2010 by Biblioholic Beth

versus
46 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Important issue, but don't get caught up in the 'hero' story
Having lived and worked in Nepal for 3 years, I was very excited to see a book come out about a country and people I love. Unfortunately, I have mixed feelings about this book.

This is a very important issue, and it's good that Conor's book is bringing attention to it. However, I was surprised that he felt the need to create his own organization in a country...
Published on July 5, 2011 by SDK


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Everybody's mother cried.", November 10, 2010
By 
Biblioholic Beth (Portland, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Imagine the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Thousands of people displaced and in danger. Families separated and unsure where to go or what to do. A government in chaos, unable (at least initially) to be of any assistance. Then imagine that this chaos had lasted an ENTIRE decade. That some of these families were so poor and so desperate to keep their children safe, that they sold just about every possession they owned in order to PAY to try and keep their children from being conscripted into a rebel army that had formed in opposition to the government. Then imagine that, far from being the safe haven they had imagined, these families never heard from their beloved children again. As days turned into weeks, then into months that turned into years, they realized their children had just disappeared.

This is the situation in Nepal. From 1996-2006, Nepal suffered through a horrible civil war between the monarchy and Maoist rebels. The country was torn apart. Elementary-aged children were abducted by the rebels to serve in any capacity. And of course, as is so often the case, an even darker force came into play. Using fear as their weapon, child traffickers took thousands of children to "safety" - taking enormous sums of money and then turning around and either abandoning them hundreds of miles from home, or using them to make more money in donations that they pocketed while the children lived in squalor.

Little Princes is the story of one man who went to Nepal to volunteer for 3 months because he thought it would sound impressive. Conor Grennan decided he was going to take a year off and travel the world, using the volunteer time to make it sound better to his friends and family. However, he found that when when his 3 months as a volunteer were over, he left a large part of his heart behind. So he went back. And then he went back again, with a mission to help these "orphaned" children find their parents again.

I found Little Princes extremely well-written and incredibly heart-warming. Grennan was able to make Nepal come alive, and the children just leapt off the page and right into my heart. I giggled at their antics and I cried with their pain. I empathized with Farid and Conor as they struggled to help these children in a place where the government was often corrupt and where things run on "Nepal time" - so much slower than our own. And then, after I finished reading the book (within a day), I went to [...] to learn more.

I cannot recommend this book more highly. It's fun and heart-breaking, it's informative and it has a wonderful message to send. You CAN make a difference, one person at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Transformational Journey!, January 25, 2011
By 
KKB (Vienna, Austria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
Conor Grennan's Little Princes' offers one of those rare reading experiences that are all of joyful, gripping and transformative. The story is a serious one - about one man's decision to set aside his own self interest to serve an incredibly sympathetic and needy group of people in a region to which he - at first - has little personal connection. Remarkably, Grennant tells his story of his personal transformation and his quest to help these people in a relatively light and genuinelyvery funny way. Grennan's writing moves at a fast pace - making it difficult to put down and exciting to resume. I would predict that reading this book will span more than a weekend for most! Moreover, as he narrates the story of his quest to reunite the vulnerable children with their parents, Grennan touches on themes of self-interest verses the interest of others who are far more needy, the touching and inspiring resolve of people who survive with so little advantage, and through the account of Grennan's interaction with the children's parents- the importance (and challenge) of honoring others who have so little by Western standards but yet show such amazing humility, dignity and strength.

Perhaps my favorite aspect of this book is that as a true story, the reader can continue to engage with the infectiously optimistic cast of characters by following the progress of the real life non-profit - Next Generation Nepal - that Grennan and others went on to build. Our sadness about the childrens' plight and their families poverty is greatly assuaged by the hope and excitement of Next Generation Nepal's continued progress. Overall, "Little Princes" is a fantastic read - and a story that you will think about for months even years to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be Careful What you Promise, October 31, 2010
By 
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I ordered this book for several reasons:
1. Nepal is a part of the world of which I am woefully ignorant.
2. The use and abuse of children is a problem about which I know too much
3. I am a sucker for the underdog

After reading it, I can say that I learned a lot about Nepal and child trafficking, my spirit was recharged despite expanded awareness of the reality of life, and my guy won. Conor Grennan's life is in flux so to find some adventure in a way that does not appear to be entirely self-serving, he volunteers for 3 months at children's home in Kathmandu. What he learns about the children (all who were victims of a lucrative trafficking scheme) and himself reshapes his perspective on life. After completing his world trip, he returned to the Little Prince's home with the goal of reconnecting the families. In spite of the bureaucratic, political, cultural, physical, climatic and emotional barriers, he succeeds. This is a well told story about the sacrifices parents make to provide a better life for their children, the strong bond between a child and his parent and the truth that making the world peaceful is the responsibility of every individual. Informative, honest and critical in a way that seeks to nurture rather than destroy, "Little Princes" challenges the reader to examine their own values, set aside judgment and take some action to become and advocate for the vulnerable people that cross their paths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye-Opening Window To Nepal, February 22, 2011
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
When Irish American Conor Grennan decides to take a whirlwind year-long trip around the world, he opts to spend his first three months volunteering at a children's orphanage in Nepal. The instant he walked through the gates of Little Princes, he was mobbed by laughing little boys attaching themselves to his legs like leeches hungry for blood. Running, playing, giggling children swarmed Conor from the moment he arrived, so ecstatic to have a foreigner visiting them. For Conor it was love at first sight, although he was a bit terrified. Never had he spent time with children, never mind work with them for three months.

After settling in and getting to know the children of Little Princes, the facility high in the Nepali Himalayas, Conor finds he loves Nepal and all the hazards, poverty, and trials that come with it. In 2004 when he steps off the plane from America, a Maoist civil war is raging around him. Nepali villagers are hungry and starvation is a large problem. Winters are harsh in the Himalayas, the cold freezing climate hardens the people of Nepal as they eek out a meager existence and the food shortages of winter. However, impoverished people, little heat, border patrols, and starving children, still doesn't put Conor off. For the next few months he digs in to help the facility and works with these charming love-starved kids with great enthusiasm. Rice bowl after rice bowl, Conor finds he has found his life's calling.

Weeks into his assignment, through various sources, Conor learns that the kids of Little Princes are not really orphans. Shockingly the staff learns that these children were stolen. Child trafficking runs rampant in Nepal, thousands of children have been taken from their families. Parents are scammed by men who knock on village doors offering to take children away from the war, where they will be taken to a facility that will be safe from the danger, fed well, and schooled. Believing these men, parents pay high prices to keep their children safe only to be swindled. When months and years go by, both child and parents believe each other dead.

Conor and the staff at Little Princes are outraged to hear this disheartening news. Together they form a plan, gather resources, devise fund-raising programs, and ambitiously embark on a hell-bound mission to reunite these adorable imps with their mothers and fathers. Conor and his assistant Farid plan and complete mission after mission, endangering their lives as they hike through the treacherous mountains and locate one family after another hidden within the small villages of Nepal. Threatened by Maoist soldiers at gun point, locked in place by snow blizzards unable to keep moving, hiding themselves in family huts away from roaming militia, Farid and Conor never give up as one family after another are found.

This profound and eye-opening memoir is one of the best I've read yet. In the style of Mortenson's Three Cups of Tea only much better, Little Princes is extremely heartwarming. Readers will fall head over heels with the kids who offer nothing but hugs and unlimited affection for Conor, and will not be able to put the book down once turning that first page that will take them on a journey they won't forget. I laughed at the author's dry sense of humor, I cried when these children both broke my heart and in turn made me smile. How these children persevered and knew unlimited joy during these times of chaos and crimes against them was simply beyond inspiring. Their faith in Conor, their playfulness and insight into his own heart when he falls in love, showed a level of uncanny intelligence and a depth of human compassion that will just astonish readers everywhere. This book is one of those that you say "Standing Ovation Please"!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Important issue, but don't get caught up in the 'hero' story, July 5, 2011
By 
SDK (Michigan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
Having lived and worked in Nepal for 3 years, I was very excited to see a book come out about a country and people I love. Unfortunately, I have mixed feelings about this book.

This is a very important issue, and it's good that Conor's book is bringing attention to it. However, I was surprised that he felt the need to create his own organization in a country already over-saturated with Non-Governmental Organizations, several already working in this area. While this may seem trivial, I have seen first-hand how too many organizations with good intentions can get nowhere, when all those people working together could have been very powerful, impactful, and less wasteful of resources. I would have been more impressed if he had joined up with other groups already doing this work, but that may be less impressive to the general public.

The writing is ok, not great. The individual stories of the kids are charming, but there is a lack of coherence to them that could have made the book better. The central thread of the book is definitely Conor's story, not the kids' stories (as I thought it would be when I started). I would have like hearing more about the kids and their families, less about his bum knee. That is possibly a marketing issue -- the book shouldn't be promoted as "One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal" (that subtitle makes me want to gag anyway) but "Conor Grennan's Personal Journey from Slacker to Caring Mature Adult" or "Conor Grennan's Really Grueling Trek to a Really Remote Area, and other assorted tales."

Even after I figured this out (that it's all about Conor), I was still frustrated when he ignores or minimizes the contributions of Nepali men and women. Again, I would have been more impressed if he had worked with others, done some research in the area, recognized hard-working Nepalis striving for the good of their own country -- but he was more interested in being a hero.

All this being said... I appreciate what he's trying to do. I just wish he wouldn't try to make it sound like he single-handedly discovered child trafficking, and that he is single-handedly saving them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible story., October 31, 2012
I wasn't quite sure what to expect when I started this book, and was a little apprehensive because I haven't always liked the books recommended to me by people who think they know what I want to read (usually social-justice type things). I was afraid it was going to be preachy or just touch around the pressing issues without really delving into anything too deep, or paint such a two-dimensional picture that a reader wouldn't fully grasp the situation at hand.

I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. As I said to a friend, "I laughed, I cried, I was moved, and I would watch the movie if they made one." I think Conor does a fantastic job of explaining the mindset and struggles of a long term volunteer in a 3rd world country and how difficult that can be, but then also how much the experience can move you to totally alter the course of your life. The light he sheds on the child trafficking problem in Nepal is eye-opening and really should be discussed more.

I would recommend this book to anybody- not only because I think the issues it raises are very important, but also because it's a touching story throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Joy, February 28, 2011
By 
Sassy Lady (Louisville, Ky.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
I have read a great deal over 50 years, and I found this book a standout. It represents a passion many people look for their entire life, a humor that endures in the midst of potential tragedy, and a window on a world that many people do not know or understand. It is ripe with hope, endurance, and a charming glee evoked by the voices of the trafficked children of Nepal during the Maoist revolution. The audiobook bursts with personality-----of the children, the author, and Nepal. The joyous relationship between the caregivers and the children keeps a giggle only around the corner from struggle and deprivation. You can watch the author grow from a young man to a grown and committed man who is giving a part of himself to a world which does not resemble his own. I was very sad to see this book end. My next read has much with which to compete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as inspiring in book form as the blog was, Conor!, February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
I remember reading Conor's blog and experiencing much of what's in the book in semi-real time - I laughed (often until I cried) at his travel adventures and stories of the kids at Little Princes, and then later I cried outright and repeatedly with joy.

Conor persevered in the face of what seemed like insurmountable odds, perhaps because he didn't know any better (but really, that's how lots of previously-thought-impossible stuff gets done in this world), and he and his team have made a profound difference in the lives of many people in Nepal. Reading this book reminded me of all the things I felt when reading the blog - especially how one bull-headed person with a big heart can make an enormous impact in the world. Conor's story can be a lesson to everyone who thinks their voice is too small to be heard.

Oh, and the big bonus here is that the book is well-written. This is an important story, well-told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes you can go home again, November 30, 2010
By 
Jeanne Tassotto (Trapped in the Midwest) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Conor Grennan had accomplished quite a bit for a 29 year old. After college he had taken a job in a think tank and worked in Prague and Brussels, rising to the level of deputy director but after eight years he felt he needed to take a break, to do something fun. He decided to take a year off to travel the world but he felt that others might feel he was being irresponsible to essentially go on vacation for a year so he decided to spend three months doing something 'noble', eventually deciding to work with orphans in Nepal. Within a few days of his arrival Conor was beginning to think wistfully of other volunteer opportunities he had rejected, ones that involved warmer locations with food and toilets he understood, ones that were not in the middle of a war zone. A few days later he had become totally captivated by the children and their plight.

Nepal had been at war for nearly a decade, their own government was rife with corruption unable to protect their people from the Maoist guerrillas who roamed throughout the country. Many families were struggling to care for their children to feed and clothe them, and to keep them from being taken by the guerrillas to become soldiers. Some of these desperate families fell prey to child traffickers who promised to care for the children, giving them educations far beyond what was available in their remote villages. The families paid large fees to ensure their children's safety, not realizing that the traffickers took the children into Katmandu where they were sent out to beg in the streets or were sold into slavery. When it came time for Conor to leave for the fun part of his adventure he could not get the images of the children out of his mind. Despite the deteriorating political situation Conor knew he had to return to Nepal to try and help the children.

This is an exciting story, one that is well told and liberally sprinkled with Conor's wry sense of humor. In addition to the 'feel good' adventure aspect of this story it is also the story of a young man learning about himself and what is truly important in life. A portion of the proceeds from this book will help fund the relief organization the author founded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All That Great, March 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted to like this book a lot more than I did. It is fairly well written, but it seemed to me to be lacking in insight about the children and their parents. Perhaps because of the language barrier, we really don't get to know much about any of the people in Nepal. Also, because the author was forever going back and forth from Nepal to the U.S., the book seems disjointed to me. While the effort to save these children is admirable, at no point do we get to know exactly what the children think and want. And short shrift is given at the end to explaining which children were reunited with their parents and how that affected them given that it must have been very traumatic to be back in the poor villages from whence they came. At the end of the book, I was left with more questions than answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.