Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING book for both YOUNG and OLD!!
I have four words to say... I loved this book! It was an amazing book. It taught me many, many valuable lessons.

A young little girl named Sara Crewe, daughter of Captain Crewe, is an only child who was always treated like royalty. Her father was a very wealthy man and the two lived in India. Sara's father had to go to war so she was sent to Miss Minchin's...
Published on June 4, 2006 by LiipGLoss BeaUTie

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine edition; formatting flaws
The price of this edition is right, and I understand it was volunteers who provided it. However, they chose to make emphasized words all uppercase rather than italics, and I'm finding this distracting as I read.
Published on August 13, 2011 by Laura Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING book for both YOUNG and OLD!!, June 4, 2006
This review is from: A Little Princess (Hardcover)
I have four words to say... I loved this book! It was an amazing book. It taught me many, many valuable lessons.

A young little girl named Sara Crewe, daughter of Captain Crewe, is an only child who was always treated like royalty. Her father was a very wealthy man and the two lived in India. Sara's father had to go to war so she was sent to Miss Minchin's Select Seminary for Young Ladies. There, Sara was also treated like royalty. Sad to say, Sara's father had died and at that moment, Miss Minchin turned Sara from riches to rags. Sara has always been a wise, smart, independent- spirited girl who would stand tall and believe in what's right. Whenever something went wrong Sara always turned the negatives into something positive. Sara made many friends, one of them being a rat. Another friend is a man that moved near Miss Minchin's Seminary, and made Sara's life a little bit better.

Sara found out why this man had moved here from India. The reason was he was in search of a certain young girl.

I do not want to give the ending away but I strongly believe anyone who reads this novel, will enjoy it as much as I did.

I feel this book was interesting, sad, emotional, fun, spritual, exciting and shocking all at the same time. That is why this is such a great book to read.

Check this book out and you too will love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Magical Books You'll Ever Read, October 17, 2006
This review is from: A Little Princess (Hardcover)
"A Little Princess" is one of the most wonderful, most magical books ever to be found in the world of literature--and you don't have to be a little kid to enjoy it. This book appeals to people of all ages. You don't even have to be a little girl, either. Boys will likely find this book charming as well. It's full of warmth, charm, hardship, and perseverance in the face of adversity.

Sara Crewe, a young and tenderhearted girl with a wealthy and devoted father, is sent to London to go to school. Her father has always given her everything she's ever wanted, but now he must go to India to attend to some important business affairs, leaving his only child in the care of Miss Minchin, the strict and hard-hearted headmistress of the school.

Although Miss Minchin is inwardly resentful towards Sara, she makes the girl's stay at school as pleasant as is humanly possible. Some of the other girls harbor the same cold feelings as their headmistress, but many others look up to her, mainly Ermengarde, one of the most unpopular girls in the whole school; Becky, the poor and friendless scullery maid; and Lottie, a motherless and highly spoiled young child.

At first everything is going just fine, but then Sara's whole world comes crashing down when she receives word that her father is dead, and that her entire fortune has seemingly disappeared. Miss Minchin permits Sara to stay, but she forces the poor girl to work as a maid, and threatens to turn her into the streets if she does not do exactly as she is told. Life for Sara, as you can well imagine, becomes very bleak. Nevertheless, Sara does not abandon hope, and eventually everything turns out okay when her father's fortune is recovered (and becomes even greater than ever before), and one of her father's dearest friends takes Sara under his wing and adopts her as his own child.

This book plainly teaches us that we must all use our inner strength in order to maintain our sense of worth and ultimately triumph in the end. Even through the most difficult times, if we just hang in there and don't give up, things will turn out for the better and, just like Sara, we can live happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough times do not last, tough people do, February 20, 2002
This review is from: A Little Princess (Audio Cassette)
Tough time never last, tough people do is the underlying message, which the author tries to portray through this novel. This is a very beautiful attempt to mesh all the various values, various morals in a story so as to appeal intuitively to the children. Another main idea in this book is that faith can move mountains and further faith in yourself can change bad time to good and can actually turn the unpleasant things around you into pleasant ones.
The author has choosen Sara Crew as the central character moving her from good days to bad days and then back to good days. In these three phases of the novel the author has outlined for children, what it takes to be good during such times.
In the good days author tells children not to be an egotist; never look down upon others be it your classmate or even a scullery-maid; never disrespect your teachers, no matter how much you dislike them. Even if you have everything in the world, which others can only wish, still be kind and helpful to others. Sharing brings joys more than any amount of consolidated wealth ever can.
Even if you are intelligent don't go around boasting, God has given you extra intelligence to share it with the less privileged ones. Above all children have one wonderful gift, which we adults loose somewhere during our growing years and that is IMAGINATION. The author subtly describes the power of imagination.
In just one stroke of luck (or say with pen) the author tries to show how one second is more than enough for fortunes to be changed. Within a moment our little princess is reduced to a pauper and has nothing but a doll left with her. In this phase the most remarkable thing that turns out is that none of your wealth remains with you forever, what indeed remains is your kindness, your kind deeds and yes your imagination. In the character of Ms Minchin, the head of Sara's school, author tries to account what becomes of those who are not kind, not human and for whom money is everything. Many times we hear toddlers having a dream of being a princess or a prince. The author, nicely and in a very graceful manner, explains that being a princess has got nothing to do with wealth. It is indeed how you behave when you don't have wealth or rather when you loose your wealth and when you have nothing but the hardships to call your own.
It is indeed true that we learn more in our bad times and so while our character passes through this phase, author has thrown so many messages around that one may like to read this part again and again. Never, even once, does Sara criticize or crib about loosing her good days. Author has also shown that love can get you friends both humans and animals, even in an attic. Love and concern can even make a rodent your friend.
Further, the author has shown how the knowledge from books, especially history can inspire you in your troubled time. This is one rare case where it is manifested that book and knowledge from those books has more to it than just passing exams.
Ultimately at last the good time returns. But even here author finds an opportunity to compare two characters Sara and an Indian Gentleman. The latter had run away when troubles knocked on his door and did not have the courage as demonstrated by our little princess and, once again, in subtle manner author conveys to children that what happens if you don't face your problems. Finally author also exhibits how you must not forget, what all was learned during the sad times. Author impresses upon children that time never remains the same.
This is an excellent classic and must be gifted by every parent to his/her child. To the parents one could say that if you want your child to be a prince/princess, amassing wealth is certainly not the way. Then what it is, well read this book and find it out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every girl is Princess...., September 13, 2000
By 
Cy (Manila, Philippines) - See all my reviews
I met Sara Crewe when I was 8 and I loved her eversince! Why? It is simply because Sara is the best example for each of us. She knows how to deal with everything without getting out of hands especially when people almost condemn her. She also knows how to carry herself properly. When she was still rich she shares everything to everybody but still she has her feet touching the ground. Her positive outlook in life and her smile helped her face the reality. Her make believe stories gave her additional strength to move on. But her greatest weapon against all of the hardships is her love for other people. She practices everything her father had taught her when they were still together. She never lose her hope for a brighter tomorrow. She is a friend to everybody even to her enemies, dolls and to animals! This book will help other youngsters to love their own fathers even more. They will see another side of a father's love that is clearly expressed in this story... that even in death, daughters are still the princesses of a father's life. Another thing is that one's personality does not depend on what she has. Richness are just ornaments that enhance one's look on the outside. What values more is how you face life's difficulty. Just like Sara said, if she was dressed in gold it would be easy for her to act as a princess, but it is more rewarding to be a princess when you're in rags and tatters.Each of us can be a princess,no matter what! You need not have a crown or robe or be a member of the royal family to consider yourself as a princess. We are all princesss. It just depends on the view,sincerity and simplicity of the spirit. So,don't waste time! Learn the whole meaning of being a true princess by heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive read, January 1, 2008
Having been already exposed to both film versions of the book, I was finally curious enough to engage myself in this classic and this time with my seven year old daughter.

Needless to say this is a fairly direct departure from the films. Sara Crewe and her world is not the sappy musical world of Shirley Temple nor the melodrama of the more recent version. This is an exploration of character. Sara Crewe is struggling with her identity and the toolkit she had built up to cope with life and discovers that poverty and cruelty cannot repair a hungry stomach or a lonely heart. Readers may be surprised by the ending which is far less melodramatic than the film and frankly much better. This book is a more gentle Oliver Twist. It is a reminder to us all that we cannot hide from the torments of the world around us. Instead we must face the trials of society if we are to make them better.
At the end of the story, Sara learns the true meaning of being a Princess and the ending is as poignant as anything I have read for it is real drama based on real situations.

Just as a caution please be aware the language is a bit dated. The term 'queer' is used to describe strange long before other meanings were added on. The term 'oriental' and 'yellow man' were used as well but this is just a reflection of the time, not overt racism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Princess is a very well written book., October 16, 2000
By A Customer
When Sara Crewe's father dies and leaves her with no money Miss Minchin, the owner of the school,does not know what to do with her. Miss Minchin decides Sara is to live in the attic and run errands for the cook. Sara was once the richest girl in the school, but now she is basically a slave. Living in the cold, lonely attic Sara is stuck with barely any food and one dress that does not fit. Sara is so lonely she starts to make friends with a mouse living in the attic wall and the two girls that sneak up to her room. After many years of living in the attic Sara's life begins to change for the better. Her hope of someone moving in next door comes true and she makes friends with the man. Someone is even leaving things in her room like food, blankets, and a fire to warm up the room. Will things get better for Sara? I think the book was very well written. It was interesting and kept you wondering what would happen to Sara next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cherished childhood book, January 24, 2000
By A Customer
A Little Princess is a wonderful book. It captured my imagination as a little girl of 8 when my grandmother read it to me for the first time. The book is about a young girl, Sarah, who is unwillingly left at a London boarding school by her adoring widowed father because the physical and political climate of 1930's India is not acceptable for his precious only daughter. The book follows Sarah through her high and low points at Miss Minchin's Seminary for Young Ladies. Young girls will find themselves whisked away to another time and another place when they pick up this book. The main character, Sarah Crew, will have a place in the heart of everyone who reads it. I recommend this book to girls of all ages. I just began reading the book again after many years because I wanted to revisit those wonderful memories from childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Book!, December 1, 2005
By 
Suzanne (Boulder, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Little Princess (Sterling Unabridged Classics) (Hardcover)
I read this book to my first through fourth grade students last year, and they loved it! Even the youngest were transported to another time and another place through this book. Our school targets students in need (mostly lower-income, minority children), so Sara's story really is a world away from the lives they know. Yet they truly enjoyed this book, and so did I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT STORY, October 15, 2005
This review is from: A Little Princess (Sterling Unabridged Classics) (Hardcover)
This book is more dated than THE SECRET GARDEN, but it's still a great story. It's hard NOT to identify with Sara Crewe.

I loved this book as a child (though not as much as I loved THE SECRET GARDEN, which I think is a better book). However, A LITTLE PRINCESS is far better than most books written for children! It tells a great story and it makes you think, even if some of those thoughts make you uncomfortable, like the thoughts about differences between rich and poor children.

For a modern, well-written book about a girl at an English boarding school, read Libby Koponen's BLOW OUT THE MOON. It has the same classic feel, though the American heroine is very different from Sara and MOON is quite funny in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read 100s of books as a child, this is one of the few I remember, November 13, 2006
This review is from: A Little Princess (Hardcover)
This is a lovely, engaging, vivid tale that will live with the reader long after other, lesser stories have faded away. It's a tale not about lace or London or privilege, but about personal dignity and maintaining one's own spirit through all experiences, good and bad. In this way, every little girl is "a little princess".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Little Princess (Sterling Unabridged Classics)
A Little Princess (Sterling Unabridged Classics) by Frances Hodgson Burnett (Hardcover - October 1, 2004)
$9.95 $8.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.