Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart's Classic "Little Queen" Is Finally Remastered!
Heart's classic 1977 album "Little Queen" finally gets the remastering it deserves. The sound quality is excellent and is much better than the old version on Epic Records. The album was slightly harder than Heart's debut released a year earlier called "Dreamboat Annie". Fm radio stations jumped on the Led Zeppelin influenced rocker...
Published on July 10, 2004 by highway_star

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Sound! Can't Believe Review's Are So Good
Like other Heart fans, I awaited this release to be re-mastered, and was happy it finally had been. But oh no...a very tin-eared engineer has poorly performed such an enjoyable task! The other glowing reviews about sound (on this page and elsewhere) are way off. Apparently, they are unfamiliar with the original sound of the vinyl...the depth, detail, and richness that the...
Published on January 31, 2005 by manyamilewithin


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart's Classic "Little Queen" Is Finally Remastered!, July 10, 2004
By 
highway_star (Hallandale, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
Heart's classic 1977 album "Little Queen" finally gets the remastering it deserves. The sound quality is excellent and is much better than the old version on Epic Records. The album was slightly harder than Heart's debut released a year earlier called "Dreamboat Annie". Fm radio stations jumped on the Led Zeppelin influenced rocker "Barracuda" (it's still a favorite on many classic rock stations today) which in my opinion is the best song on the album, followed closely by "Kick It Out" and the funky "Little Queen". But the album contains some acoustic gems as well such as "Love Alive", "Treat Me Well" and "Cry To Me". There are several bonus tracks, "Too Long A Time" which is an early demo version of "Love Alive" and a "live" cover version of Led Zeppelin's "Stairway To Heaven" which is excellent (Heart lead guitarist Roger Fisher does a fine job copying Zep's Jimmy Page's guitar licks on this classic song). Unfortunately, the liner notes are minimal, but there are some colorful pics of the band. A classic Heart cd worth adding to any rock lover's collection. Also, out now and newly remastered are Heart's "Bebe Le Strange" and "Dog And Butterfly".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm so glad to have this treasure again!, February 3, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
I had this album on vinyl, 8Trac and casset. I wore every one out.

I remember seeing Heart just before this album was released. Like every other young man in the room I fell in love when Ann Wilson sang "Love Alive." I bought it the week it came out and have loved it ever since. Like Dreamboat, and now Jupiter.

So here's the deal...
This is an album that every Rock fan should own. The remastered values are good and the added tracks fit in whith the theme of the album well. Long live the Queens of Rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is probably my favorite album of all time, December 11, 2005
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
I used to play "Love Alive" every morning on my way to work, so I have strong memories of hearing that music play as the sun was coming up through the trees along the highway. What Heart created here, with their whole Renaissance thing, has been so strong, and it has lived on and on. For example, I've heard Outgrabe talk about the influence of Heart on them, and you can really hear it in their song "Witching Hour," which reminds me of "Dream of the Archer."

I never get tired of listening to this CD and Dreamboat Annie. I guess it's the combination of wistfulness and power. Something about this music speaks right to the core of who I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Sound! Can't Believe Review's Are So Good, January 31, 2005
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
Like other Heart fans, I awaited this release to be re-mastered, and was happy it finally had been. But oh no...a very tin-eared engineer has poorly performed such an enjoyable task! The other glowing reviews about sound (on this page and elsewhere) are way off. Apparently, they are unfamiliar with the original sound of the vinyl...the depth, detail, and richness that the LP had. So, it's a great release that sounds awful...stick with the LP for now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little is right, 'cause this ain't big, June 29, 2003
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
If this entire album had sounded like "Barracuda," this might have been called Big Queen. What this song did establish with that galloping, snarling guitar was that women could rock. Although they did reach rock peaks with the Bebe Le Strange and Heart albums, this set the standard, something that would be duplicated in the song "Back In Black II" from Desire Walks On.
The next three songs have a kind of nature theme sound to them. Must be that album cover with the gypsy-like caravan. The mellow "Love Alive" features some exotic instruments, such as a flute, tabla and an autoharp. The tempo then picks up with drums and electric guitar, mirroring that "sunbeam arch thrilled me to my weary heart/It was the prettiest thing I ever seen" line sung a few verses earlier. In some ways, this reminds me of a stripped down "Magic Man."
The brief instrumental "Sylvan Song" has Nancy Wilson and Roger Fisher on mandolins. That and the moog bass by Howard Leese gives it an alternately folky and new age sound to it.
This segues into "Dream Of The Archer", which gives an medieval lyrical image, with Wilson and Fisher still on mandolins. The sylphs in the forest have clearly bewitched the archer here.
"Kick It Out" is the other rocker about a wild child. Her motto: "Kick out your motor and drive/while you're still alive--kick it out."
The next three songs make a sagging midsection that causes me to deduct a point. The title track is a mid-paced number with a prominent bass. Then comes Nancy's solo vocal number, the ballad "Treat Me Well", which has a touch of blues, and is helped out by piano and drums accompaniment. However, this isn't one of their better songs. The quasi-skiffle of "Say Hello" is lively with the mandolin riffs, with Ann's echoing vocals, but...
Fortunately, Little Queen is rescued at the last moment with the last two songs. It's comforting ballad time with "Cry To Me", where the only instrument is Nancy's acoustic. The last verse is my favourite: "You're lonesome over a stormy Ocean/Lost in the rain and wind/We can clear these clouds away/and feel the Sun again." That segues into "Go On Cry," which starts with a guitar, with strings rising in the background, then drums, a slow bluesy riff. Ann and Nancy sing the title in harmony over and over. They would perfect this style ballad in "Mistral Wind."
Also noticeable on this album is the absence of Sue Ennis, but that's a few albums away. Big Queen this ain't, but there are two rock princesses called Ann and Nancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, December 29, 1998
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
Most of the time, my reviews reflect the critics, but this is not one of those times. This is a wonderful CD. Every Song either rocks or is beautiful. "Barracuda" rocks and I think that's what led to the downfall of this album. Everyone heard "Barracuda" on the radio and thought the whole album was going to be some female heavy metal excursion. Instead they got songs like "Love Alive" which is much prettier than anything Jewel is putting out right now. "Sylvan Song/Dream of the Archer" has lovely Mandolin riffs, a tuly beautiful pair of songs. "Kick It Out" and "Little Queen" get the band rocking again and "Treat Me Well" is another beautiful song in the "Love Alive" vein. The last three tracks, while passable are not up to the level of the rest and keep this from being a 5 star album. P.S. The Wilson sisters we're definitely at their most beautiful on the cover of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another very good Heart album, March 23, 2004
By 
kireviewer (Sunnyvale, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
This is Heart's third album (although many consider it to be their second). It also might be their third best album. Nothing can touch their monster debut album, Dreamboat Annie. And their fourth album, Dog and Butterfly is slightly better than this one. This album is certainly better than anything they have done after the seventies.
This is an album from 1978, so it is just at 40 minutes long. The sound quality is excellent. CBS records has always done a wonderful job of putting old records on CD. (Other record companies have done a horrible job of convertion old records to CD).
The "professional" reviewer of this record is very far off base. He writes that this CD is not very accessible. That is ridiculous, as is all of his other commments. There were 4 hit singles released from this album. How could that be inaccessible? This reviewer is obviously a fan of juvenile hard rock and does not like softer or more artistic music.
The two best songs on this CD are the accoustic ballad Cry to Me and the rocker Love Alive. Heart is at its best when it mixes folk music with hard rock. But there really isn't a bad track on this album. At the same time there is really no monster track either.
This is really Heart's third album. After Heart released it's first album, Dreamboat Annie, it got into a contract dispute with its record company at that time, Mushroom Records. Heart's second album, Magazine, was released, and then quickly pulled back. You could still buy Magazine in Canada. After Little Queen was released, Magazine finally got an official release in 1978. But, my Canadian copy of Magazine has a copyright date of 1977.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastered treasure, January 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
Little Queen is arguably Heart's best album. "Dreamboat Annie" and "Dog and Butterfly" sit closely behind. There are a number of gems on this album including "Love Alive", "dream of the Archer" and the single "Barracuda". I owned the vinyl for a number of years and bought the first CD edition of it back in 1987 for my sister. That particular CD sounds dismal in comparison to the new remastered version which this review focusses on. Remastering allows old analogue recordings the chance to sound like they were recorded yesterday. Some purists claim that remastering makes songs sound more tinny and lacking depth ... however, this is not the case with "Little Queen". It is evident that careful remastering has been done on each track, particularly noticeable on the acoustic tracks.

This edition also comes with two bonus tracks including an early version of "love Alive" which is gold for any Heart fan. A nice bit of history in the making as such. The next bonus track is an outstanding version of "stairway to heaven" recorded by Heart in 1976. I was not expecting it to be as good as Led Zeppelin's original, but it really is. Heart have covered other Led Zeppelin tracks including "Battle of Evermore" and "Black Dog", both of which can be accessed on the CD and DVD "Heart: Alive in Seattle".

I would recommend any Heart fan considering buying this remaster to get it before the bonus track edition goes out of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart's best album, November 8, 2009
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
Little Queen is my favorite Heart album, and I'm a big fan who has most of their stuff. A total classic in the style and league of Zeppelin IV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Heart, June 29, 2004
This review is from: Little Queen (Audio CD)
I must say I disagree with Jon Wiederhorn's introductory review of this Heart work. This album is much more accessable than their debut effort and clearly reveals their Zeppelin influences with heavy mandolin/acoustic guitar plays. The other reviewer who liked Dream of the Archer and said he did not like Sylvan Song seems unaware that Sylvan Song is the lead in or introduction of Dream of the Archer. I'm uncertain how you can dislike one and prefer the other. No more is it clear that this is a 70's album when one hears Ann play the flute. As much as I enjoy their new work Jupiters Darling, I miss hearing that wonderful flute sound! To me this is the best album that Heart released and it's too bad there's not more music out there like this today. Pick up the newly remastered version of this today and enjoy a couple of extra tunes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Little Queen
Little Queen by Heart (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.