Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars87
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 9, 2010
I caught this film just last night at a local film festival and had to go online to see when the blu-ray would be available. Alas, it isn't available yet, but I will be the first in line to buy it when it is available. This was a fantastic movie overall and, in my opinion, one of Jackie Chan's best. I'd rate this up there with Drunken Master and for a recent Hong Kong film I'd say it was better than Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, but not quite as good as Hero. Jackie Chan's physical comedy is perhaps the best in the business and is definitely showcased here, but there are so many more layers to this film. The story line is fantastic and the cinematography is top notch. My two cents is that this is a must-see.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2011
After watching a portion of an earlier version of this film with NO subtitles and no dubbing, I ordered this new DVD version which DOES have the English dub audio, but will probably listen to the Chinese with the English subtitles, admittedly.

Jackie may be getting older, but shows no slowing down in his directing, acting and comic relief! I highly recommend "Little Big Soldier" to everyone!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2012
Others will review this deeper so I'll keep mine short. Some people used to nonstop Chan action and comedy throughout and up to the end credits may be a little taken aback by this film (which is why I gave it four instead of five stars) but if you look at the ending bringing a resolution to the early charge of disgrace regarding Chan's character, the ending makes sense. The two leads work fantastic against and with one another. As I am only acquainted with Chan's previous work, I will write this is the best acting I've seen from him. There's none of Crime Story's solemness and none of the (for a better word) mugging of Chan's early comedies (though I also love that Chan as well). Add to that an excellent script, fantastic cinematography and music and this movie is a winner. Comparing this with Chan's last American movie "The Spy Next Door" is like night and day. I wish THIS movie would have gotten a wide theatrical release in the States. It surely deserves it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2012
I've seen most of Chan's ouvre and, as I was watching this enjoyable little film, I kept thinking to myself, "Wow, a JC film that feels modern." Of course Chan has other films that "feel modern", like some of his recent American fare, but even those play for wide audiences and are conventional. "Little Big Soldier" feels more like a major Hong Kong release that appeals to regular joes and an artier crowd; think "Hero" or "The House of Flying Daggers" only far less dramatic and with far less fanfare. The story, while fairly conventional, employs some storytelling touches that are more prevalent in modern films (the surprise situations that come about only because the main character is dreaming; the red-herrings that set you up to believe the story is about to go one way or will head one way only to go the other; the seemingly upside-down ending). The shooting locales and the visuals (while rarely expansive) are all stunning and expertly filmed. All of these things elevate "Little Big Soldier" and make it more than it probably ought to be. The movie is about Jackie Chan's seemingly deserting soldier who is not about being a soldier at all but about being a survivor. This is actually quite deceptive because Chan's soldier, while unorthodox, is a man of his army through-and-through but he is imbued with a mind of his own and a trickster spirit. The movie focuses heavily on Chan's character who ends up catching the general from the opposing army and he takes him, despite much trial and tribulation, back to his city. This movie is supposedly set at a time in China's history when there were several ruling (and warring) dynasties. It is about one man's take on life and how he passes this along to another, but both soldiers have some things to learn from each other.

There is a lot to like in the movie. It goes down easy and is non-abrasive. Chan, still capable of putting on some fun action scenes, plays someone closer to his age and who is a bit weary so the action suits his character; he is not the Chan of old who is fighting Benny Urquidez or a slew of diamond-obsessed mobsters and thug-punk street gangs at a breakneck, frenetic pace. Chan also does what he has talked about doing for a long time: he acts. There are a couple of scenes that showcase Chan's acting chops and his character's warm pathos. I think that this is my favorite Chan film of the last 5 years (not counting "The Forbidden Kingdom" but having the dream of Chan and Li together after so many years...that just isn't fair to compare by). Chan fans and non-fans alike can easily enjoy this movie. The younger audience probably will too.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 24, 2011
Despite its outbursts of humor, there's a sort of melancholy, elegiac feel to LITTLE BIG SOLDIER. Viewing this period film, you can't help but be struck with how Jackie Chan is now opting to sit out the more arduous action stunts. Not even Jackie can beat down Father Time who, I'm assuming, can easily divert whatever everyday household utensil Jackie cleverly applies against him. But our man is aging gracefully, so give him that.

LITTLE BIG SOLDIER ("Da bing xiao jiang") has long been a labor of love for Jackie. It's been in the works for so long now, that when it was first proposed, Jackie had intended to play the much younger role of Leehom Wang's warlord. Instead, today, he plays the reluctant old soldier. The movie is set during China's Warring States Period, before the Qin Dynasty united the country. From this chaotic era seven feuding states eventually rose to prominence. In 227BC our story begins, in the aftermath of the horrific battle at Phoenix Hill between the armies of the Wei and the Liang.

There are only two survivors, a timid footsoldier from Liang (Jackie) and the Wei's fierce young general (Leehom Wang). The footsoldier, the heavy years pressed on him, has survived by playing dead (dude has a collapsible arrow on his chest). He sees an opportunity to seize the wounded general captive, hoping for a fat reward and safe passage home to Liang. LITTLE BIG SOLDIER, more a buddy film than a wuxia epic, chronicles the pair's bicker-colored journey. Inevitably, the soldier and the general learn, to their dismay, that they would have to cooperate with each other to surmount the obstacles they encounter. And close behind, the Wei's crown prince is in hot pursuit, intending to slay his own general for some mysterious purpose.

After decades of killing himself for his audience, Jackie Chan deserves some slack. Now in his mid-fifties Jackie Chan eschews his patented death-defying stunts in favor of character acting and slapstick comedy, except that his slapstick does still feature the occasional remarkable bit of acrobatics (that creative sequence with the rock-throwing, for example). Jackie and Leehom Wang make a fun odd couple. Jackie's ebbulience and natural screen presence keep the whole enterprise afloat, and his pragmatic coward is inherently appealing and, to me, very reminiscent of Charlie Chaplin and Buster Keaton (except, y'know, more talky). The plot does tend to ramble, and just when you think this is a straight-up chase comedy, the story throws in a swerve at the end. Except that I'm not sure the movie's earned the emotional reaction it's seeking in its closing moments. LITTLE BIG SOLDIER is an amiable film showcasing a fine acting performance from Jackie Chan, but the story lacks weight. The film also loses traction by featuring characters that only provided jarring moments and made me scratch my head in bafflement: those weird bandits and that cryptic songstress, what the hell was up with them? I'm trying hard to be objective, to not compare this one with past Jackie Chan classics. So let me say this, with an eye towards its genre contemporaries, LITTLE BIG SOLDIER is not as good DETECTIVE DEE but is better than Vicki Zhao's MULAN. 3.5 out of 5 stars for this one. It's worth a peek.

As ever in a Jackie Chan flick, stick around for the outtakes during the closing credits. The DVD's bonus stuf: the Making Of featurette, with English sub-titles (00:14:04 minutes long); Jackie Chan Music Video (theme song to LITTLE BIG SOLDIER, with English sub-titles); and trailers for LITTLE BIG SOLDIER.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
Little Big Soldier is in Mandarin with English subtitles. It tells the story of the aftermath of a great battle between two warring states in China around 220 BC. The soldiers of Liang and Wei fight a horrific battle before the movie begins and the only to two survivors are Chan, the soldier from Liang and a General from Wei. Chan takes the General captive and is going to return to Liang and claim a reward of 5 acres of land. The comedic journey is full of action and Drama. In this time period China as we know it did not exist. There were 7 warring states each fighting for control of all the others. The movie is based on the real events of that time period, but the story itself is fictional. Don't expect the Jackie Chan of the American films, but you will find he story interesting and fun to watch. The stunts involve a water buffalo crashing through a brick wall, sword play, throwing rocks in a fight, a well choreographed fight for a sword, between the Soldier and the General. There are a few fantasy scenes, that might confuse you as you watch the film because you don't realize they are a fantasy scene until it is over. The Film takes place in the same time period as Hero, with Jet Lei and is about same subject matter, the wars between the Seven states. I recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
I highly recommend this movie.....good story, good points to ponder, and yet a funny movie. The sub-titles... who cares, they are not a problem in this movie .... the visuals communicate as much or more as the words do. This has to be one of Jackie Chan's best movies I've ever seen.

I highly recommend seeing this movie.

I have handed it to some people and told them they needed to watch it. They look at it, and say ... " I don't think this is my type of movie at all " .... and I've convinced them to watch 10 minutes and turn it off if they don't like it. Everyone has ended up watching it all the way thru and telling me how great a movie it was, and they had to buy a DVD of it as well. Typically, they are sharing "scenes" that they enjoyed the most, and laughing at some of them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2011
I still remember a time, not long ago, when Jackie Chan was the flavor-of-the-month in Hollywood. He was hot, and it seemed that he was going stay that way for a while. But his popularity, for many reasons, began to decrease in the USA, and his movies did not succeed as before. It doesn't matter, though: Jackie Chan is a marketable star all over the world and he keeps doing quite entertaining films, the majestic and absorbing "Little Big Soldier" being the latest, an effort that should not be missed.

The film is very ambitious, with an impressive production design. It is a period piece set when China was divided into several states fighting with each other, some looking for an eventual unification. It was at one of these battles between two different states, that we meet the soldier (Jackie Chan), the sole Liang survivor between hundreds that fought a battle between the Wei and the Liang. He is not alone: among the Wei, he finds out that The General (Leehom Wang) is still alive, although badly wounded. The Soldier "captures" the General, and takes care of him, eventually curing him. He is planning to take his prisoner to the Liang State as some sort of valuable trophy of war. However, the soldier is not the only one that values the General. They are followed by a little, strong group led by Prince Wen (Steve Yoo). In addition, on the way to Liang, the soldier and the general will face and fight with bandits and others, including a treacherous, beautiful woman.

"Little Big Soldier" is about an important period in Chinese history, when brothers were fighting brothers, apparently for the same reason. Jackie Chan plays a serious role, but being, well, the funny and acrobatic Jackie Chan that we know. He plays a simple and honorable peasant that had to go to war. He adds some hilarious moments to the movie, and some quite dramatic, too. Probably because of his age, Chan doesn't include too many martial arts scenes, and the fighting is mostly done with weapons. The cinematography is also quite grandiose. The ending will take you by surprise, and I may add that it probable changes the tone of the film. This is one special movie. The Blu-ray + DVD edition includes a making-of documentary, music video, and more. (China/Hong Kong, 2010, color, 92 mins plus additional materials). Exclusively reviewed on August 29, 2011 by Eric Gonzalez. Well Go USA Entertainment
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2012
Far from playing the clown and other trade mark antic , this Jackie Chan film is acually touching , and ends on a melancholic existentialist human condition sequence not unlike Kurosawa's endings
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
This is another great Chinese period film (the 6 kingdoms conquest by the Qin dynasty). It has an involving and entertaining story; is well acted and well made. It has comedic moments, but it's not really a comedy, despite a running joke. It could vaguely be called a buddy film, but the two protagonists aren't really buddies until the very end, which ends up being very sad. I won't spoil it.

Highly recommended.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse