Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (76)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


296 of 299 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Add and AC adaptor and it's great
We've had this cd player for a year with two young children (now ages 2 and 4), and it's held up great. We've even packed it (carefully) in suitcases to take on plane rides, and it's still going with no trouble. I like the "hold" switch in the back which basically shuts down the button operation so that no matter how much the kids press the buttons, it won't respond (so...
Published on November 19, 2006 by busymama

versus
83 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too soon to say
We just got this unit as a gift and I'm amazed to find there are no reviews online anywhere! It seems to work pretty well so far but our biggest complaint is the loudness of the microphones. It's pretty easy for my kids to drown out the music with their singing, so then the music gets turned up louder and the racket begins. There's a built-in volume limiter on the CD...
Published on November 17, 2006 by Mom of two


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

296 of 299 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Add and AC adaptor and it's great, November 19, 2006
By 
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
We've had this cd player for a year with two young children (now ages 2 and 4), and it's held up great. We've even packed it (carefully) in suitcases to take on plane rides, and it's still going with no trouble. I like the "hold" switch in the back which basically shuts down the button operation so that no matter how much the kids press the buttons, it won't respond (so it keeps on playing just as I had intended when I first hit play). Of course, you can flip off the hold switch and let the kids do as they wish. The microphones are fun, but the cords are a little short so they give feedback until the child figures out that they need to walk a little further away from the cd player (which they can, but my kids don't generally do so). We mostly use it just as a cd player for now and don't use the microphones all that much yet. Also, you will definitely need an ac adaptor as it eats batteries. We got one at Radio Shack (bring the cd player with you as they'll need to see it to get the exact right adaptor for it.....there are more choices than you'd realize). Overall, we're quite pleased with this and actually looking to buy a second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


135 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond my expectations, September 21, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
I have a just turned 3, very active, music loving, little boy. I just received the cd player a week ago. The quality is superior. The sound is better than some of my cd players! Very sturdy and well made. They seemed to have covered all aspects for toddler-preschooler usage. My son was anxious to "do everything himself"...I showed him the stop and play buttons, the power button, and the volume. He is able to pretty well manage all of those. I haven't had to use the "hold" button (which is nice to "Lock" all the buttons in place). He has taken care of it pretty well so far. He loves the microphone, and the 2nd one I can sing along with him. It makes a great family activity. I'd like to purchase some sing along cd's with books to follow along and I think that is pretty educational!!! I have big plans for this cd player. I bought it straight from Kazoo.com and paid about $6 more. They were out of it here. It's a bit over priced...but for the few extra dollars, I definitely give this a 2 thumbs up. I did extensive research before my purchase on all the kid cd players. I think I did well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too soon to say, November 17, 2006
By 
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
We just got this unit as a gift and I'm amazed to find there are no reviews online anywhere! It seems to work pretty well so far but our biggest complaint is the loudness of the microphones. It's pretty easy for my kids to drown out the music with their singing, so then the music gets turned up louder and the racket begins. There's a built-in volume limiter on the CD player itself, which is nice, but I just wish we could control the microphones. Of course, we're talking about a 5- and 2-year-old, so there's some issues with controlling noise already, but still, they're the age the toy is designed for. The unit also can't function at all without the ESP activated - skips and stops - so I'm sure that will eat up the batteries. I'll be looking to buy an AC adapter. I'll be curious to hear what others think, because there are not many things like this out there that have the two microphones - a must for us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD player for a little one!, September 1, 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
My daughter LOVES singing and music, so for her 2nd birthday, I bought her this CD player. At the time, there were not too many reviews and they were very hit or miss, but really there is not much of market for children's toy radios with microphones so I took a chance and I am glad I did. It's been 6 months now and she really enjoys it. It has held up well to rough handling by a 2 year old as well as her constantly sticking the microphone in her mouth with the "aaaaaaaaaahhhhh" as another reviewer mentioned. I haven't bought an AC adapter yet and agree it would be nice, but my daughter likes to move around and dance with it so I'm not sure it would work for her, but truthfully the first set of batteries held up well and I'm now on my second set of batteries after 6 months. The only things that I think could be improved about this is that: 1) the volume can be a little wonky. You have to set the volume up very high, like over 20, to really hear it. The lower volume numbers are ridiculously low. Also, the microphone seems to have MUCH a louder volume as compared to the music no matter what. 2) The microphone coil is pretty short (which might make sense for safety reasons, but it is not unusual to hear that screeching noise due to microphone interference. Obviously, I would prefer microphone interference to a strangulation hazard, but if they can't make the coil longer, then I think they need to address the microphone interference. 3) while I really like the hold function which prevents the child from constantly rewinding, fast forwarding, stopping, etc. while the music is playing, it has a drawback, which is that the child CAN open the cd player while the hold button is on. So if they are very determined like my daughter, they can succeed in playing with the buttons to make it do something other than play music, such as insert, remove cd player, stick your finger in when cd is spinning. Frankly, I think the open and close feature should be disabled while a cd is playing. Now, these are just helpful suggestions if the maker was interested in improvement, but I am actually really happy all in all with the CD player. Seems like I got lucky because it's been 6 months and it keeps working.

UPDATE: This product is still going strong 10 months later. I would say that the microphone interference can be annoying particularly because you can actually have the microphones turned off and still get a tiny bit of static/interference. Again, not hugely annoying but still weird. Looking into other CD players with microphone for kids, it seems like this is a problem across the board with some microphones that actually stop working.

The other thing that is great is that my daugther is not yet 3 obviously cannot read yet, but because the CD players had distinctly shaped buttons (some are squares, triangles, octagon/hexagon, circles, etc.) she is able to memorize that the triangle is for playing and the square for stopping, the smaller up and down triangles for volume control, etc. I think this is advantageous for a smaller group of kids than a CD players with all circular button let's say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME! LOTS OF FUN!, January 24, 2007
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
This is a big hit from Christmas! My kids (4 & 2) love to dance and sing...and now they can sing with their favorite music! Even mom enjoys playing with this toy! It is very sturdy and seemingly easy to use. My 2 year old can even rough it up a bit...and it still works! (not that I recommend that) When you put your fave CD in, if you don't hear anything, make sure to turn up the volume as it resets everytime a new disc is put in. Very cool toy! LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment for Your Small Fry......, December 14, 2006
By 
Gina M. Pace "aka wicce" (Scranton, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
What a lovely music player for kids! There are toys on the market that don't perform half as well, and some cost twice as much as this. Here is a player that will do the job nicely because it is a REAL player, not just a toy, but it is strong and sturdy and colorful and bright, so it catches and keeps the child's attention, all the while teaching him or her about music, audio storybooks, and so on. What I like about this is that you can never teach a child too early in life how to respect electronics equipment, and with this player Mommy and Daddy's equipment is more safe; first the child will have their own version of the grown-up player, but more importantly by the time they graduate to more grown-up players themselves, they will have respect for the buttons and knobs and whatnot.

An excellent investment in your child's growth and future as well as fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like this kid CD player, November 29, 2007
By 
G. Cruz (Middletown, CT) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
This kid CD player is very useful. I bought it to take it on a plane trip and for the subsequent 2 week vacation. I have been using it constantly for about 4 months. My son is now 18 months old. I really like the child hold feature but I wish that the hold also prevented the power button and the eject button from functioning. Otherwise, this CD player is great. It is the best I have seen on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little CD player for kids!, September 1, 2010
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
My daughter LOVES singing and music, so for her 2nd birthday, I bought her this CD player. At the time, there were not too many reviews and they were very hit or miss, but really there is not much of market for children's toy radios with microphones so I took a chance and I am glad I did. It's been 6 months now and she really enjoys it. It has held up well to rough handling by a 2 year old as well as her constantly sticking the microphone in her mouth with the "aaaaaaaaaahhhhh" as another reviewer mentioned. I haven't bought an AC adapter yet and agree it would be nice, but my daughter likes to move around and dance with it so I'm not sure it would work for her, but truthfully the first set of batteries held up well and I'm now on my second set of batteries after 6 months. The only things that I think could be improved about this is that: 1) the volume can be a little wonky. You have to set the volume up very high, like over 20, to really hear it. The lower volume numbers are ridiculously low. Also, the microphone seems to have MUCH a louder volume as compared to the music no matter what. 2) The microphone coil is pretty short (which might make sense for safety reasons, but it is not unusual to hear that screeching noise due to microphone interference. Obviously, I would prefer microphone interference to a strangulation hazard, but if they can't make the coil longer, then I think they need to address the microphone interference. 3) while I really like the hold function which prevents the child from constantly rewinding, fast forwarding, stopping, etc. while the music is playing, it has a drawback, which is that the child CAN open the cd player while the hold button is on. So if they are very determined like my daughter, they can succeed in playing with the buttons to make it do something other than play music, such as insert, remove cd player, stick your finger in when cd is spinning. Frankly, I think the open and close feature should be disabled while a cd is playing. Now, these are just helpful suggestions if the maker was interested in improvement, but I am actually really happy all in all with the CD player. Seems like I got lucky because it's been 6 months and it keeps working. Also, shop around for this, because the prices are highly variable.

UPDATE: This product is still going strong 10 months later. I would say that the microphone interference can be annoying particularly because you can actually have the microphones turned off and still get a tiny bit of static/interference. Again, not hugely annoying but still weird. Looking into other CD players with microphone for kids, it seems like this is a problem across the board with some microphones that actually stop working.

The other thing that is great is that my daugther is not yet 3 obviously cannot read yet, but because the CD players had distinctly shaped buttons (some are squares, triangles, octagon/hexagon, circles, etc.) she is able to memorize that the triangle is for playing and the square for stopping, the smaller up and down triangles for volume control, etc. I think this is advantageous for a smaller group of kids than a CD players with all circular button let's say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality and so much fun!, October 18, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
i bought this cd player for my 5 year old after a lot of research.
i am very happy with this product. the quality of the sound is excellent. the microphones work great. the machine is extremely durable (my 2 year old uses it, too). my daughter loves to sing along with the music and can carry it around while she sings. i have been using the microphones to call the kids to dinner and when it is time to go! they think it is hilarious and actually come when i call them. i would recommend this without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy enough for a 2 yr. old to handle, February 7, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sing Along CD Player (Toy)
I purchased this CD player, for my 2+ yr. old toddler, who loves listening to music. She's not so into the microphones, yet, but loves being able to turn on the machine and get the CDs going on her own. Granted, she's scratching up a bunch of CDs, but I feel her sense of triumph is worth it.

We've had it since xmas 07, and so far, so good. Seems to be of excellent quality. I like the fact that the music starts off on a very low volume, so that it's never on high right off the bat. I taught my daughter how to raise it slightly to hearing level. The safety feature, anti-shock is very good too. I'm not entirely up on how that feature works, but it's there and working. No time to read manuals. Getting an adaptor to save batteries is a MUST. It took a couple of trips to the Radio Shack, and still i think they sold me one that works, but doesn't fit in exactly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sing Along CD Player
Sing Along CD Player by Little Virtuoso
$59.99 $47.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.