Customer Reviews


288 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, Ignore Bad Reviews
First off, I've been playing kart racers for years (since the N64 days). Nothing will top Mariokart because it was (and still is) the cornerstone of this kind of game. That said, if you go into LBPK with an open mind and not expect some sort of revolutionary experience, you will have a ton of fun. The charm of Little Big Planet is all here with the cute visuals, the...
Published 23 months ago by James S. Mccarthy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Karting
Similar to Mario Kart. My kids like to play it. Not my cup of tea. Too bad it is not 4 person multiplayer like the actual LBP.
Published 5 months ago by consumer


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, Ignore Bad Reviews, November 7, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
First off, I've been playing kart racers for years (since the N64 days). Nothing will top Mariokart because it was (and still is) the cornerstone of this kind of game. That said, if you go into LBPK with an open mind and not expect some sort of revolutionary experience, you will have a ton of fun. The charm of Little Big Planet is all here with the cute visuals, the bubble popping, the unlockables and the character customization. Everything is nearly identical to the LBP games, all the way down to the home hub, the planets etc. Racing is quick and the controls are responsive. The game is built on an altered version of the Modnation Racers engine which was already very solid. Story mode is very long and yes, there are some challenging (OH MY!) parts but it has great lasting appeal. The in game track customizer/builder is amazing but they definitely could have done a better job at teaching you the in's and out's of using it. A little trial and error and you'll eventually be creating some killer tracks (just like in LBP).
The reviews I've read of the game seem to be harping negatively on factors that I don't quite understand. IGN complains about the menus/interface not being as easy to use as ModNation Racers. Seeing as the game runs and is created exactly the same way as all the other LBP games, I'm not sure how this could be a complaint. You have your hub, you click on the planets and you race. Not that difficult. They also complain that the game focuses too much on defense, again, not sure how this is such a big deal when the majority of your time in Mariokart, you are trying to avoid being hit with shells etc.
For me, a guy who has a small child, I can tell you, for a family game, this is excellent. He can play along and it's not so complicated that he gets frustrated. My wife plays, my family enjoys the music and the racing and I really like all the customization. It's a game that will continually grow with official tracks and user created content. What more can you ask for?
If you're looking for fun kart game, this is a no brainer. Don't listen to the negatives who are looking at this as something other than what it was intended to be, a Little Big Planet racer. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LBP Karting Hits a Home Run !, November 6, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I picked the game up this a.m. & have now completed 71%, so have a fair idea of what the game comprises. It's levels are vibrant & creative, the soundtrack matches the mood & level themes beautifully; which range from western themes to futuristic flying ... the grapple hook, bounce pads & weaponators have all found their way into the charm & whimsy of this offering. They provide a diversity of challenges from battle arena levels to hold & keep egg captures. This game is neither a pure karting or LBP experience, but rather a hybrid blend of what makes each so enjoyable. The customization features are bountiful & deep ... right down to your engine & horn sounds. I have already over 80 skins for my sackboy, endless kart pieces, & my goodies bag over flows with a bounty of choices.

The game is a 2.2gb install & provides 71 levels. Story mode provides variety & replayability is endless between collecting the loot from each level, placing in the top 3 for each level, which then opens the vs. level for online MP & continues the player through story mode. You can set your controller to either the R2 or X acceleration scheme to allow the player control over how they play, it also supports move control & steering wheel.

The possibility is limited only by the player ... the create function & level editor awaits the brilliant & imaginative community who will create the UGC ... offering a fresh & innovative karting experience with each new published level.

My 8 yr. old son came home from school & had to be repeatedly prompted to leave the game ... he was creating karts & costumes & racing through levels with glee. This game should not be missed !

*Edit*

I spent a couple hours playing online against other players & it was a lot of fun - the players cast a vote for the next level to be played & then 1 level is the winner - I didn't notice any lag, was never dropped from the race, & thought it looks to be a pretty flawless interface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Karting "Adventure" more than a Karting "Racer", November 8, 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Little Big Planet Karting (LBPK) is a karting game developed by the same studio as Modnation Racers (MNR), and it brings a kart racing experience to the Little Big Planet universe.

For background information, MNR is a karting game for the PS3 developed in May 2010 for the Sony Playstation 3 (PS3) and Little Big Planet is a series of 2 dimensional platformers for the PS3. Both titles focus on play, create, and share, where users can develop their own content and share it with everyone else online. Personally, I spent far too many hours of my life playing and creating tracks on MNR and have tons of experience with the editor. I have also created in Little Big Planet 2 and feel that I have some competency with the editor.

LBPK is a game that sits awkwardly between a 3 dimensional platformer and kart racer. If you go into the game expecting a solid racer like MNR you will be disappointed. However, if you accept the game as what it is, a "Karting Adventure," there is much fun to be found. On normal difficulty the game suffers from relentlessly aggressive AI creating some frustration (easy difficulty is supposedly much more accessible). LBPK forgoes the boost/shield system of MNR for a standard block using your current weapon, similar to Mario Kart. The speed of the karts is reduced from MNR and the handling feels "floaty". The handling options and kart speed options are not readily adjustable (they can only be adjusted based on the confines of a specific track). The track design is fantastic, even without the user created content. Load times have been much improved over MNR. Online play is functional but limited thanks to some strange game-flow and interface decisions. It follows the LBP formula where you choose a level and start online play from that level. This relies too heavily on other people playing the level, and doesn't necessarily work as well for a racing game. Overall, the racing experience is average when compared to other kart racing games.

In addition to placing in a race (actually racing), LBPK offers bubbles and prizes that can be found and collected on each track. There is also a wealth of different mini-games and play modes to compliment the racing experience including a battle mode. I find that bubble collecting and playing the mini-games are far more enjoyable than the racing aspect of the game.

Finally, creating is perhaps this game's greatest strength. LPBK has a deep and versatile track editor. However, character and kart editors are limited (it is worth noting the developer promises to carryover most character costumes from previous LBP games, but this feature was not available upon launch). Unfortunately, the track editor can be dense and overwhelming with boring tutorials. Laying a track is simple enough, but creating objects, logic items, and moving parts quickly becomes a complicated affair. The editor doesn't limit the player to just creating races, the player can create weapons and mini-games as well. All created content is also readily shared and easy to find online giving this game endless possibilities if the community supports it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Big Planet-waahoooo!, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Well come on, it's Little Big Planet, what is not to love? I play my 7 year old grandson and it is just too much fun. Controlling these guys is a bit more difficult than the original sackboy games but very entertaining. Be patient if you are playing with a youngster they have to explore every way they can kill their character before getting serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
My daughter loves little big planet and this game has got her attention for the next month or so. It's easy to play and fun for a 5 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but a pretty good kart racing game, March 9, 2014
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I've played many games with this style, and I have to say LBPK is probably one of the best. It does fall short in a few areas, but it's very easy to overlook it's flaws when you focus on the pros of the game. It's a very great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PS3 doesn't have Mario Kart, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Since PS3 doesn't have Mario Kart, this is an adequate alternative. It's good party game that can be played with four player splitscreen, or via online multiplayer with up to 8 players.

Gameplay is simple, but the tracks can be challenging. Rarely to the point of frustration though. The game includes a track creator/editor that is decently complex. It takes some time to figure out, but allows for a lot of creativity.

Since you can make your own content and share it online with others, there is a lot of potential re-playability.

My copy of the game included an online pass code.

Overall, this game isn't amazing. But it's good enough for the occasional casual/party gaming session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for us all!, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I had a hard time getting interested in the Little Big Planet games with my children until now! I am sure it is the Karting addition but Its one that can keep me interested also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment - Fun from Little Big Planet., February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
After two fantastic Little Big Planet Games, expectations are high for anything that carries the LBP name. Karting does not disappoint. It is very much enjoyed by the little ones. Little Big Planet games is the wonderful alternative for those that do NOT want the kids to spend hours of gaming time on violence and aggression. Instead, solve puzzles, race with friends, and build creative levels. Nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This was another item on the Christmas list. He enjoys it very much, I can't get him to stop playing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3
LittleBigPlanet Karting - Playstation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$59.99 $16.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.