Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Wait...
I was really frustrated this was not released sooner but it was likely smart strategy and we are benefitting from recent restoration and processing technology. I honestly don't know if there's a more powerful and meaningful live show available. While Peter Gabriel: Secret World - Live [Blu-ray] is excellent and offers more theatrical elements, it was photographed in 16mm...
Published 17 months ago by Loop7

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just glad the concert and performance was preserved.
It's hard not to love Peter Gabriel's live performances but this camera crew does their best to make you try. I'm just glad the tour was caught on film at all, even if done rather poorly and without vision as this video displays. I am a huge Peter Gabriel fan and own all of his other concert DVD's but this one is probably a one-time view.

Gabriel is a genius...
Published 16 months ago by John K. Mixon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just glad the concert and performance was preserved., November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's hard not to love Peter Gabriel's live performances but this camera crew does their best to make you try. I'm just glad the tour was caught on film at all, even if done rather poorly and without vision as this video displays. I am a huge Peter Gabriel fan and own all of his other concert DVD's but this one is probably a one-time view.

Gabriel is a genius at telling and acting out the stories of his songs. Sadly, the ad-hoc camera crew seemed unable to consider that Gabriel designed the stage show to be seen from a distance and they kept him close in frame most of the time, negating the effect he was going for in the first place.

The other thing which is troublesome is a SPOILER ALERT so scroll down a bit if you're interested, otherwise buy the video and be happy.
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
So, it's like this... I have a pretty good eye for certain details of live performance which is a blessing and a curse. Several songs into the show I realized that with VERY little exception, the vocals (and perhaps much more) were overdubbed later. It was done very well with Peter clearly watching his own mouth to match the cadence but between microphone positioning and the obvious problem of dancing and moving around so much, all except maybe one or two songs are overdubbed in a studio later. This is, in my opinion an unpardonable sin. Big stage shows often do it from Michael Jackson to Madonna, what you see on video is not what happened live and MJ even lip-synced much of his show due to the complexity and energy required for his dance numbers. And, so it is possible the same has happened here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Wait..., September 21, 2013
By 
Loop7 (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was really frustrated this was not released sooner but it was likely smart strategy and we are benefitting from recent restoration and processing technology. I honestly don't know if there's a more powerful and meaningful live show available. While Peter Gabriel: Secret World - Live [Blu-ray] is excellent and offers more theatrical elements, it was photographed in 16mm and the graininess is a bit revealing on Blu-ray. Live in Athens was photographed in 35mm and the impact is stunning. The Athens show captures emotional music played by elite musicians. Manu Katche's drumming is so musical while Tony Levin, David Sancious and David Rhodes are all superhuman.

Also worth noting, we finally get to see and hear Youssou N Dour's opening set with his band Le Super Etoile de Dakar which, alone, might be worth the discs's price.

I paid just over $20 in 1990 for the VHS so the $18 Blu-ray disc is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent concert, transfer, video and sound, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I watched my vhs copy of this concert many times, many years ago. The concert is still as great as I remembered, with minimalist but very expressive lighting and choreography. The blu-ray does justice to it, with great video and sound quality. Including the Youssou N'Dour opening set is a very nice touch. The extra "Play" DVD makes this a pretty good deal for any Gabriel fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent concert video, September 25, 2013
By 
Fernando A. (Aventura, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is easily one of my favorite all time concert videos. The quality of this video recording is superb. This show features an all star musician lineup with a great setlist. Peter Gabriel is at the very top of his game in this show. Highly recommended for any fan of Peter Gabriel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Signal Overload! Distortion ruins great concert., March 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have been waiting years for the release of this video on DVD or Blu-ray. I have the original VHS of this concert called POV. I know how disappointed I was with the Secret World Live DVD because it was cropped at the top and bottom to make it "appear" widescreen when it was not shot that way. Tops of heads cut off. While I expected more of the same with this release, I expected the sound quality to at least match the VHS. The output of this disc is so high that it causes signal overload. All but the quietest songs are distorted. The difference is staggering. If I usually play a disc with the volume set at 75%, for example, with this disc, I set it to 25%. It was mastered so high as to be all but unlistenable as the audio signal is so hot coming out of the player that it overloads whatever I send it to. Distortion is there no matter the set volume. I really loved this concert and saw this tour but I'll be playing my old VHS next time I want to relive the memory. I can't believe I'm the only one that is offended by the sound. Is it possible to have a single disc in a batch have this issue? Not likely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Concert!!, September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I saw this (POV/Live in Athens) concert tour in Dallas, Texas. It was my first Peter Gabriel (PG) concert, and to this day, my favorite concert EVER!!

Peter "connects" with his audience in a way few performers can. He feeds off the crowd energy, and is the one artist who consistently outperforms his studio tracks with his live renditions.

Those who were fortunate enough to see PG (& his amazing team) perform during this tour ought to feel extremely blessed & privileged. There are some magical moments in his Secret World & Growing Up tour performances, but the entire POV/Live in Athens tour was TRULY MAGICAL!!

This concerts versions of San Jacinto, Shock the Monkey, No Self Control, Mercy Street, Lay Your Hands On Me & In Your Eyes are the best of all the live performances I've witnessed. Biko is a close second to PG's Secret World tour.

If you are a long-time PG fan, I know you've likely been awaiting the release of this Bluray disc, which also LOOKS & SOUNDS AMAZING. I can [finally] put my Laserdisc version to bed. I had purchased 2 copies on Laserdisc, just in case one ever got damaged. That is how much I LOVED (was moved by) this concert performance, and this Bluray version is even better, as well as more complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing concert, amazing video, stale audio, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The video quality is amazing, and it is great that they have produced such an amazing quality document from an amazing tour after 20 years. However, the audio is so treated and rerecorded in the studio that it taints an otherwise amazing experience. How is Peter Gabriel so vain in this area that he continues to rerecord live concerts in the studio, as in his Play's Live CD and Genesis Boxed Sets? If people wanted a studio recording, they would not be buying the live recording. We want to hear the energy and flaws, just as we have seen in the actual concert. What we have here sounds excellent (quality) yet stale (content).

The other problem in this set is the Play DVD (note: not blu-ray) which is great to have, but uses often inferior quality sources and a poorly designed menu. Every time you play a track, it goes back to the menu again, so very confusing to play all tracks.

So, this is an awesome concert and amazing performance, and quite a good price for what you get...but could have been so much better if not for some silly things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Gabriel Live + - Like 3 DVDs in one, September 28, 2013
By 
applewood (everywhere and nowhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens (DVD)
4+ stars.

The core of this 2 disc set is Gabriel performing in Athens Greece in October of 1987 (supposedly the "full show", but probably culled from a multi date set),and it is a really great concert - a great band, great set list, and great audience - despite the dated clothing/appearances on stage - lol. I especially like that it is Gabriel as his dramatic self, but without all the elaborate yet somewhat distracting props that were soon to come (see Peter Gabriel - Secret World Live). This show alone would be enough reason to get this DVD, but the real bonus for me is that Youssou N'Dour was with him.

The concert disc begins with N'Dour and his Senegalese band Le Super Etoile De Dakar as the warm up act with a set of 5 vibrant songs, that are a nice contrast to the slick PG show that follows. I think this is the first concert DVD I've ever seen that also shows the warm up band! Youssou is at the beginning of his meteoric rise here. He would on go to become an even more popular and famous performer than Gabriel (in 2004 Rolling Stone described him as "perhaps the most famous singer alive", I'd also add that he is perhaps in the top handful of the greatest vocalists alive). The inclusion of Youssou's set is a real treat, and having him and some of his band join PG for the last 2 songs of the main concert are the highlights of that show (the 15+ minute version of "In Your Eyes" is quite remarkable).

Disc 2 is another great bonus; Gabriel's 23 music videos from 1980 to 2004. Gabriel always has had a reputation for theatrics and top quality production, and these videos show an abundance of creativity. They may not be the kind of thing you want to watch very often but they are nice to have - and express an era (early MTV) well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully remastered Peter Gabriel concert, November 18, 2013
By 
Masud R. Syed "Groo" (Santa Clara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What else can I say, PG of yore and this newly remastered concert is sublime. The DTS-HD soundtrack roars to life, each song is wonderfully rendered by PG, Levin, Katche and co.
One bonus is the fact that they included a remastered PLAY DVD with the correct DTS normalization. If you are fan of PG, add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Peter Gabriel fans, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Athens (DVD)
This concert DVD (or BluRay) is an amazing representation of two periods in Mr. Gabriel's oeuvre, showing off first his classics from the 1980s, which touches on his earliest solo efforts (which struck nerves with both political consciousness and pop celebrity), and the latter DVD (for the two-DVD edition) demonstrating a marked change in his embrace of technology within his music (while also focusing, in both instances, on using unusual "world" instrumentation along with vocals). While interesting simply as a side-by-side comparison, what is also amazing is the way in which this concert DVD demonstrates that Mr. Gabriel's love for the audience and his commitment to providing an unforgettable and provocative show did not dim in those intervening years. The amount of included songs is great without being overwhelming (if such a thing is possible). Highlights include San Jacinto, Sledgehammer (both versions), In Your Eyes (both), and Steam, although all are worth viewing from beginning to end in order to get an idea of the ebb and flow of the concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live in Athens [Blu-ray]
Live in Athens [Blu-ray] by Peter Gabriel (Blu-ray - 2013)
$24.97 $18.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.