Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live albums I've ever heard, October 23, 2002
By 
J. Sutherland "zeppfan" (Southport, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
Bob Marley and the Wailers were really on that night in London in 1975. Like many great live albums in the pantheon of rock music they were able to find their groove early on and it does not stop until the very end of the album. Bob's singing is as passionate and heartfelt as a blues singer and often times is even more so. His "sisters," the female back-up singers, only enhance the songs because their voices are so beautiful. The guitar and bass playing is, with most reggae, rythmic and melodic and it's impossible to keep from nodding your head or tapping your feet to the beat. The guitar player pulls off some really great solos that once again only enhances the feeling of the song. The organ is rythmic and improves the already incredibly tight sound of the rythm section. It was at this gig that the legendary live recording of "No Woman No Cry" took place. Perhaps even more impressive is "Get up, stand up" which makes you want to start your own revolution against crooked politicians and everything else that is wrong with this world. "Stand up for your right"... that's damn right, Bob. My favourite tracks have to be "Trenchtown Rock," a perfect opening track, "Lively up yourself," "Get up, stand up," and a SWEET song called "Kinky Reggae." The bass playing on that song just makes me wanna cry from joy it is so good. Even though it goes without saying, buy this album as soon as possible. One Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Smokin', July 9, 2001
By 
Denny Angelle (Richmond, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
The definitive Bob Marley live document, re-mastered with care by Island Records. Very nice, bright sound (my old vinyl LP is a bit muddy in comparison). You can even hear the harmony singers' hand claps in the background!
Recorded at the height of his popularity in London, this album gives an overview of Marley's first 3 international LPs with some truly smokin' versions of "Trenchtown Rock," "Burnin' and Lootin'" and "I Shot the Sheriff." The high point for me is the rendition here of "No Woman No Cry," way more soulful than the studio version.
Bonus track on this CD is "Kinky Reggae" which, if I recall correctly, was the flip side of the "No Woman No Cry" single in the U. S.
One of the greatest reggae albums, and one of the handful of truly essential live documents. It captures a time, catches a fire. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London burning!, January 22, 2001
Critical acclaim AND commercial success in one album, finally! Bob's earlier albums had achieved one or the other but not both. 'Catch a Fire' and 'Burnin' were well received in Europe, but less so in Jamaica, especially the former. 'Natty Dread' was welcomed with rapturous praise in Jamaica, but had a short life on the UK album chart. Singles from these albums were selling fairly well, specifically 'Get up, Stand up', 'I Shot the Sheriff' and 'No woman, no cry', but still it was only singles.
These seven tracks were from a two night concert at London's Lyceum ballroom, part of the tour promoting the 'Natty Dread' album. They would go on to be produced as this album - 'Live' and became Bob's breakthrough - (in Europe, anyway; his US breakthrough came later). The actual set that was played at the Lyceum included 'Slave Driver', 'Rebel Music' 'Kinky Reggae' 'Stir it up' and naturally 'Natty Dread' since that was the promotion. The order of the songs was also different. 'Lively up Yourself' was the last played, before the encores. Listen to the crowd noise - in grateful recognition that they had been part of an event.
One of the things 'Live' did was change the rules for all future reggae shows. Previously stage performances were usually simple, staightforward renditions of what was on the album. Not anymore. Bob Marley and the Wailers simply took the album version as a point of reference and then took off, improvising on stage as they saw fit. Stuff that any rock fan was familiar with - long guitar solos, instrumental interludes, vocal improvisations - all were added to live reggae performances for the first time. Mind you, Bob on stage was something else again. He could get caught up into a rapturous, trancelike experience of the rhythm - head held high, 'locks flashing, running on spot like a Nyabinghi, arm outstretched with finger pointing to Jah.
Some of the vocal improvisations that became staples of Marley concerts were introduced here. Along with wailing, Bob uses a throaty, gurgling sound on 'Burnin & Lootin'. On 'Them Belly Full' he repeats lines over and over again with the I Threes keeping him company in a type of call and response singing. On 'Get up Stand up' we get 'Woy-yoy-yoh chants! The harmonies with the I Threes on 'Trenchtown Rock', and 'I shot the Sheriff' are superb. This version of 'No woman, no cry' is the most emotional and beautiful rendition, and the one song persons who were there can recall with crystal clarity, to this day. I wish I had been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, April 24, 2006
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
This live album from Bob Marley and his band The Wailers was my introduction to Bob Marley and reggae music in general. It promptly turned all preconceived ideas I had about reggae inside out. From that moment on, I was a believer. The first time I saw this album, I was thinking to myself, "Reggae, what's so special about that? It all sounds the same, anyway." How wrong I was!

First of all, the sound is spectacular. This performance sounds clean, fresh and lively; as if it were recorded yesterday. Every little thing can be heard clearly. Even so, it's not so clean that it becomes sterile and lacking in character. There's still the energy and authenticity that gives a concert something special.

Secondly, this album has all the classic songs to make it worthwhile as an introduction to Bob Marley's music and indeed reggae in general. Just check the track listing.

Also, the versions of the songs to be found here are fantastic and each musician is really impressive. Anyone who says that reggae is formulated, boring or predictable has yet to give this album a chance. This version of The Wailers has a real western/rock oriented approach to the music and it's really easy to hear why they have begun to appeal to a rock audience. Besides, the playing is fantastic and has plenty of feeling.

You shouldn't any more reasons to buy this album. It is just plain fantastic and made a staunch believer and convert out of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively up yourself cause I say so, February 21, 2005
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
Live! from 1975 marked the introduction of Bob Marley and the Wailers to the mainstream in Eurpoe. The smach hit No Woman No Cry from this album is a song everyone knows, reguardless of where they are from or what type of music they like. This is not a full show, but rather songs taken from 2 nights at the Lyceum in London. The sound is good quality, but at certian points in the recording you can tell that the venue and or the recording equipment are probably not the best. For a first live album this is very good. All the songs have a greater power live than in the studio. You can really tell the band stepped it up for these performances, and the vibe they give off here to the predominately Jamaican audience in London is right up there with any other Bob Marley and the Wailers concert. Many of the band members recall the Lyceum shows as one of the many highlights from the decade. The performances buy the Barrett brother's (bass and drums), AL Anderson (guitar), Alvin "Seeco" Patterson (percussion), Tyrone Downie (keyboards), The I-three's (backing vocals), and of course Bob Marley are simply jaw dropping. The band is at it's best, and if you like powerful concert performances, this cd is one you should not live without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the all time great live albums!, November 27, 1998
By A Customer
Equaled perhaps only by "Babylon by bus", Marley's other fantastic live album, this set is an absolute must for any diehard Marley-reggae fan. Also a great compilation of tunes for those who are relatively new to the man's music and want a good sample of songs in one package.
The show begins with "trenchtown rock" and then really begins to simmer with "burnin and lootin" and "them belly full". These songs represent the pinnacle of the mans passion and musicianship. Songs with a diamond hard edge representing the best that rock music has to offer. All are clearly recorded with the great feel and ambience of an english audience in the mist of a wonderful discovery. The music and hypnotic performance of Robert Nesta Marley.
Note: Fans may also be interested in the video, "Bob Marley and the wailors live." From island visual arts and available from amazon.com............cool runnings....sockscats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insert "Lively Up Yourself pun here, November 23, 2005
By 
finulanu ""the mysterious"" (Here, there, and everywhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
Marley's studio work has always bugged me a tiny bit. I mean, the two albums of his I've heard (Natty Dread and Rastaman Vibration) are both solid works, but I don't really like how he insists on dragging so many early tracks back into the fray. I also find myself scratching my head whenever he involves Rastafari, seeing that I am not a Rasta.

But this live album, it's a whole different story. The setlist isn't really all that creative (Other than Kinky Reggae and Burnin' `n' Lootin', anyway), but that's what's good about it-just a bunch of Bob Marley classics, no more, no less. Trenchtown Rock is one of his early songs. As I mentioned before, I usually don't care for most of them, but this is really an exception! Then there's Lively Up Yourself, which puts a whole lotta enegy into the album. An instantly catchy riff and lyrics about either a) sex, b) partying or c) riots (depend on who you talk to), this is definetly a classic!

The second side does a heckuva job in lining up Bob's three best-known songs (in my opinion, anyway). First, we have this album's resident classic, in the form of No Woman No Cry. If the only version of NWNC we had was the Natty Dread take, I'm sure the song would've been forgotten. But this, to use an enormous cliché, immortalizes it.

Another good tune is I Shot the Sheriff, one of the best-known reggae tunes ever composed. Doing away with the funkiness of the original, we instead get a swaggering organ riff and great backup singers. And, of course, there's Get Up Stand Up. This one's sang almost like a rap, only about fifteen years before rap sadly became mainstream. In the meantime, this is a good song.

Lastly, we have bonus track Kinky Reggae. A light-hearted romp about sex and ganja, it eventually evolves into a loose jam and an introduction of the band. The song is great, and will stay in your head forever, even if it's been weeks since you've heard it last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that music is meant to be live!, April 22, 1999
By A Customer
This is the best Bob Marley and the Wailers album in my opinion! The energy of Lively Up Yourself and Trenchtown Rock are unbeatable! The more mellow mood of Them Belly Full (But We Hungry) and Burnin and Lootin work surprisingly well between them, too. The mega hits I Shot the Sherrif and Get Up Stand Up make great closers! It's an album you can put in at any time of the day and it has something for everyone no matter what mood they are in. This is album has amazing powers! I only wish they would of gotten the whole concert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars.... Marley's (commercial) breakout album, December 23, 2005
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
Bob Marley was making critical waves but not until the release of "Live" in 1975 did he also break through commercially.

"Live" (8 tracks, 45 min.) was re-released in 2001 with a remastered sound and one bonus track. The energy is bustling throughout, starting with the opener "Trenchtown Rock". The band is in top form throughout. This album of course includes the mega-hit "No Woman, No Cry", released as a single and enormously successful. But there are some other great jems, such as "Them Belly Full (But We Hungry)" and "Get Up, Stand Up". The bonus track, not found on the original (vinyl) album, is an equally outstanding "Kinky Reggae".

It is obvious that this is a milestone album in the Markey catalogue. But I still have to wonder why, to this day, the entire show of this legendary London July, 1975 concert hasn't been released. And in my book (which is of course a subjective feeling), the 1978 live album "Babylon By Bus" is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley at his best, April 16, 2005
By 
J. Hayes (NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
I'm not a reggae fan, but it doesn't prevent me from giving this album the 5-star rating it deserves. This is reggae at its best. Excellent recording quality and an excellent performance that will get anyone tapping their foot. Bob Marley's down-to-earth style never gets old and his energetic voice, coupled with some really nice percussion, a good groove, and backup vocals make this album a book you can't put down! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live!
Live! by Bob Marley (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.