Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Live & Cokin
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Live & Cokin Import, Original recording remastered

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, Original recording remastered, September 6, 2004
"Please retry"

Dawes Dawes

Editorial Reviews

Digitally remastered.

1. When I Laid Down I Was Troubled
2. I Didn't Know
3. Mean Mistreater
4. I Had A Dream
5. Call Me The Wolf
6. Don't Laugh At Me
7. Just Passing By
8. Sitting On Top Of The World
9. Big House
10. Mr.Airplane Man

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 6, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Universal Japan
  • ASIN: B0002J51Q2
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,197,812 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Docendo Discimus on September 26, 2004
Format: Audio CD
This album has been quite hard to get a hold of for a while, but here it is, remastered and featuring Howlin' Wolf backed by his powerful early-70s combo, the Wolf Gang, which included guitarists Hubert Sumlin and L.V. Williams, bassist Dave Myers, drummer extraordinaire Fred Below, legendary piano player Sunnyland Slim, and saxist Eddie Shaw.

Wolf himself was in his early sixties at the time this recording was made, and starting to suffer from ill health, but he could still rise to his former heights when it came to winning over an audience.
This album was originally issued on LP in 1972, and featured eight songs. Two excellent bonus tracks were added when it was re-released on CD, extending the running time to just under 65 minutes, and Wolf and his band sound thoroughly inspired all the way through. Howlin' Wolf doesn't perform any of his classic hits, but once you slip this disc into your CD player and turn up the volume you will hardly notice. These powerful live versions of songs like the driving "I Didn't Know", Big Bill Broonzy's "I Had A Dream" (in a thumping high-octane rendition), and the gritty "Don't Laugh At Me" are every bit as great as any Willie Dixon-penned R&B hit.
Opening with the eight-minute "When I Laid Down I Was Troubled", Wolf and the band swagger through one blues powerhouse after another, mostly mid-tempo numbers with a few slow grinds thrown in for good measure, like the supremely funky "The Big House". Wolf's vocal performance on that one is one of his best ever; he stretches out comfortably for over seven minutes, singing certain verses he likes two or three times as the band locks in with deadly authority.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in