Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight plotting - generally a good read
Try this author. She does not have the high public profile of some other female authors but she stands up there with the Graftons and Paretskys. This author has a lovely writing style and has created warm, believable characters. The mystery is compelling but I found myself wanting and enjoying more the dialogue and interaction between the characters.
Published on June 26, 2000 by Helen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy read
This is the kind of book your select when you don't want to have to put forth the effort to think. An easy, pleasant read.
Published on June 26, 2010 by Micki


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight plotting - generally a good read, June 26, 2000
This review is from: To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Try this author. She does not have the high public profile of some other female authors but she stands up there with the Graftons and Paretskys. This author has a lovely writing style and has created warm, believable characters. The mystery is compelling but I found myself wanting and enjoying more the dialogue and interaction between the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trocheck Can't BE Beat, December 19, 2006
By 
60's fan "dvd" (Cedartown, Ga. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all of Kathy Hogan Trocheck's books many many times. She is the best writer of fiction that I have ever read. Callahan is one great sleuth. Also be sure to check out Mary Kay Andrews who is also Kathy Hogan Trocheck.

This book is set in Atlanta and she makes you feel if you are right there with Callahan. If you are familiar with the area, you will recognize a lot of the places that she mentions.

GREAT BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Reader Hooked !, September 7, 1999
This was my first read by Kathy and I will be back for more ! I really liked her style and the way your in suspense till the end .I thought Callahan was very beliveable and really liked her. I will be reading alot more of Kathys work. Lisa Miller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre mystery, June 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a quick, light mystery novel. I liked it but I didn't love it. The characters are mostly believable and I liked the way the characters interact. True to form, the women in this book are strong. It held my interest while I was laying on the beach, but if you're a true crime drama fan, skip this one. For us light-weights its fine, but its not for REAL mystery fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, June 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the kind of book your select when you don't want to have to put forth the effort to think. An easy, pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great beach read, July 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book in record time. It was a fairly easy read but still interesting enough to make it difficult to put down. Fairly predictable ending, but it does keep you guessing until the end. Glad to have discovered "Callahan Garrity".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Confederate treasure and murder, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Second book in the series and another good read. A zany cast of characters that keep things Iively. Language a bit much in parts but that seems to be the norm anymore. Unique combination of a cleaning service and detective agency in one. I like the originality of that. Not may favorite series set in the South but still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a little harder to follow than most of her books. It all came together in the end but after dragging and flipping thru the scenes, the end was quick and to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
love her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Prefer her other books, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love Mary Kay Andrews books but not the Callahan Garrity series. I had forgotten this until I read this only to discover that I had already read it and been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2)
To Live & Die in Dixie (Callahan Garrity, No 2) by Kathy Hogan Trocheck (Mass Market Paperback - November 30, 2004)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.