Prime Music
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships Within 24 Hours - Satisfaction Guaranteed!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Live Love Larf & Loaf
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Live Love Larf & Loaf Import

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Prime Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, October 17, 2000
"Please retry"
$10.00 $9.75

Amazon Artist Stores

All the music, full streaming songs, photos, videos, biographies, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 17, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Diablo Records UK
  • ASIN: B00004WMZI
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #709,449 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Wings A La Mode
2. Killerman Gold Posse
3. Where's The Money?
4. Hai Sai Oji-San
5. Drowned Dog Black Night
6. Surfin USA
7. Drumbo Ogie
8. A Blind Step Away
9. The Second Time
10. Tir-Nan-Darag
11. Disposable Thoughts
12. Bird In God's Garden
13. The Same Thing

Editorial Reviews

The 1988 debut from the most bizarre supergroup in existence. John French is better known as Drumbo of Captain Beefheart's Magic Band, Fred Frith lined up with UK Avant Garde-ists Henry Cow and Slap Happy, Henry Kaiser remains a star of the US Avant Garde scene and Richard Thompson is of course one of the UKs most treasured guitarists and songwriters.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By woburnmusicfan on June 7, 2002
Format: Audio CD
This is the first of two collaborations between folk/rock guitar legend Richard Thompson, avant-garde guitarist Henry Kaiser and bassist Fred Frith, and former Beefheart drummer John French. While it's not a bad listen, you get the impression that they were throwing things at the recorder to see what would stick. The album is all over the map, going from the frantic and funny "Where's the Money" and a joyously silly "Hai Sai Oji-San" (an Okinawan folk song) directly into "Drowned Dog Black Night", a tremendously depressive song of the type only Thompson can write, and then into a goof on Chuck Berry's "Surfin' USA". My favorite cut is "Bird in God's Garden", a Sufi song given a big assist by Frith's violin playing. Thompson contributes the good but minimalist unrequited-love song "A Blind Step Away" and "Killerman Gold Posse", a ditty about a youth gang that was reprised on the "Mirror Blue" tour. French and Frith also provide a catchy rocker, "The Second Time". There is a cover of Willie Dixon's "The Same Thing" (a LOT of bands I like have covered this one). To keep the album from building any momentum, there is a five-minute drum solo in the middle. Overall, I prefer these guys' second CD, "Invisible Means".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Art on May 10, 2011
Format: Audio CD
This album introduced me to the guitar playing of Richard Thompson and remains a favorite. The original LP included neither the Willie Dixon cover nor the drum solo, so those should be considered "extras" and ignored. The core album, with the exception of the unlistenable "Surfin USA", is a strong one that brings out the best in all its participants. Thompson, Frith and French work together as a powerful, unconventional rock band while Kaiser adds his unique guitar flavors on top of it. The strong points, for me, are Thompson's brilliant solo on "Drowned Dog Last Night" and the LP-closing medley that combines an obscure Thompson concert number from "the Islamic tour" with a Fred Frith instrumental (that can also be heard in the movie "Step Across the Border").
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in