Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific blues-rock "Live"session!!!!
It's impossible to be impassive in front of this terrific "Live"session of this magistral Thorogood!!Sensational,with great songs;great solos;great raucous vocal;great sax sessions;an album for those people that after one bourbon;one scotch & one beer just love and dance for all the night long....and at the end we are ready to another and many other nights...
Published on November 16, 2001 by Ricardo Neves Gonzalez

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen him live, you'll see why this is a flop.
George and the Destroyers were gods onstage in the 80s into the early 90s, although they still tour today.
I see all the 5 star reviews for this CD, and I have to disagree.
Yes-the guitar work by George is stellar, the sound quality of this album is mint.
My beefs with this CD are song selection and Reelin and Rockin' being cut.
If you've ever seen...
Published on September 25, 2011 by Adam Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific blues-rock "Live"session!!!!, November 16, 2001
By 
Ricardo Neves Gonzalez (Petrópolis-R.J. Brazil-bluesfan@ig.com.br) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
It's impossible to be impassive in front of this terrific "Live"session of this magistral Thorogood!!Sensational,with great songs;great solos;great raucous vocal;great sax sessions;an album for those people that after one bourbon;one scotch & one beer just love and dance for all the night long....and at the end we are ready to another and many other nights like that!!!This cd is vigorous intense,full of adrenaline;sensuality......like no other!!!All of the tracks are great,and with a mix of rock'n roll and blues!!I really likes the first "Who do you Love?";"Night Time";"I drink Alone" and that "One Bourbon,One Scotch and...One Beer"!!!
TERRIFIC!!!!TERRIFIC!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real good time!, June 26, 2001
By 
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
This CD gives the fan vintage Thorogood. Rousing vocals punctuated by short bursts of raucous guitar; this gives us a good idea of the party atmosphere created by Thorogood at his concerts. A great live set punctuated by terrific versions of "I Drink Alone" and "One Bourbon..." played back to back. This is the live set to have to hear Thorogood at his rocking best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice live set from Thorogood and the boys., September 3, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Good blend of blues & rock. The blues tracks are done with a real feel for the original material (and some pretty mean slide guitar). Add in some rock n' roll standards and you have a disk full of good stuff. Turn this one up loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, December 6, 2003
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
This is a very good c.d. A cool blend of blues and rock with great mix of instruments in the background. You have to love George's lyric's, they are smart and fun and some of these songs are worth listening to again and again.
The only negatives I have are that the recording, being done live, lacks a certain quality that can only be achieved in a studio and second there are a couple of songs that aren't as good as some that are missing from this album. I don't know if the recording is the entire set that was performed, but it could have been longer.
I really like music that has both a great musical quality to it and a great story behind each of the songs, while I don't know every story, I know that they are there. I give this one a high recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Said, Who Do You Love"- An Encore, December 16, 2009
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
A couple of years ago when Bo Diddley died I mentioned in a review of his work that many latter musicians, particularly white musicians were influenced by his songs, and covered them like crazy. That is the case with George Thorogood, with or without his Destroyers. Although he is probably best known for his bad boy anthem, "Bad To The Bone" Thorogood cut his teeth on doing covers of Bo, John Lee Hooker, Muddy Waters and the other greats of the blues and early rock and roll. That is how we should measure his work, as an exponent of a certain kind or of rock and R&B.

This album delivers extended versions of his master works including: the afore-mentioned "Bad To The Bone," the classic Bo Diddley tune "Who Do You Love," "Madison Blues," and the classic Hooker song "One Scotch, One Bourbon, One Beer". This album is close to the best versions technically and will give an idea of what old George and boys could do on a hot night. Yes, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen him live, you'll see why this is a flop., September 25, 2011
By 
Adam Fisher (Chicagoland, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
George and the Destroyers were gods onstage in the 80s into the early 90s, although they still tour today.
I see all the 5 star reviews for this CD, and I have to disagree.
Yes-the guitar work by George is stellar, the sound quality of this album is mint.
My beefs with this CD are song selection and Reelin and Rockin' being cut.
If you've ever seen George live, you know that he usually opens with a kick-ass, turbo-charged Chuck Berry styled rocker that kicks your ass such as Long Gone, Hello Little Girl, Be Bop Grandma or currently, Sweet Little Rock and Roller.
Instead, the CD opens with Who Do You Love...Sorry, THAT is not how you kick off a Thorogood live CD/show.
To think that Long Gone, Memphis, I Really Like Girls, Gear Jammer(Find me one Thorogood fan who doesn't love hearing this in concert) Willie and the Hand Jive and Move It On Over were ALL scrapped for Bottom of The Sea and Alley Oop?
ARE YOU KIDDING ME??
Not only that, Reelin and Rockin AND 1 Bourbon 1 Scotch 1 Beer are both cut to less than half the length of their times!
And you guys call this a 5 star album?
If you haven't ever heard Long Gone live back in the late '80s-early 90s you don't have any idea what you missed. And how Move It On Over was scrapped...that song live was like an event in itself.
This CD should be re-released in the show's entirety!
THAT would be a 10-star CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rock on!, April 5, 2008
By 
W. Landis (des moines, iowa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
i saw george and the destroyers years back when move it on over came out. at that time in interviews george said that he didn't know why they were so popular, all they do is bang the hell out of 3 chords. and bang the hell out of them they do! tight band, powerful vocals, great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun CD, March 16, 2007
By 
kireviewer (Sunnyvale, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
MASTER OF THE STRATOCASTER

This album was released in 1986 just as CD technology was taking off. At this time, a number of groups released similar live albums as double LP's and a single CD. They would be just under 74 minutes, because at the time that was the maximum lenghth of a CD (I'll explain why below).

The sound quality is pretty good, especially for a CD released in the mid eighties. Some of the mix is off, especially on the sax, but the dynamic range is very good. Many early CD's had poor sound quality, which is why there were vinyl snobs back then and why you see many "remastered" CD's today.

This is just a fun, hard rocking, blues tinged concert. Each track is played with energy and fire.

The only disappointment I have is that this is mostly a "greatest hits live" type CD. It is mostly his hits with very few surprises. And if you get any of Thorogood's live albums, we always plays the same six songs, with some other ones mixed in. I have never seen Thorogood live, so I don't know if his actual concerts are longer and more adventuresome.

Besides his own monster hits, Thorogood plays a number of blues classics and near classics.

Who Do You Love was written by Ellis McDaniels, also known as Bo Diddely. He was featured on those Nike commercials with Bo Jackson. Probably hundreds of groups have recorded this song. My favorites are a very manic one done by The Doors, and 25 minute jam done by Quicksilver.

Thorogood does two songs by slide guitar innovator Elmore James, who died in 1963. Madison Blues was also played by Fleetwood Mac. The Sky is Crying has been by a number of musicians, but probably the most popular is from Stevie Ray Vaughn.

Alley Oop was a hit in 1960 by the Hollywood Argyles.

Besides being a mean slide guitarist, Thorogood was also a minor league baseball player.

Why were early CD's only 74 minutes long maximum but now CD's can go to 80 minutes? The actual spec for the CD is 74 minutes. But, there was an allowed tolerance in the bump size and sample rate, to allow for manufacturing inaccuracies. But, it turns out that the manufacturing process was highly accurate. To get 80 minutes, they just used the lower end of the spec of the bit size and the maximum sample rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George & The Destroyers at their BEST!, July 2, 2004
By 
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
George & The Delaware Destroyers are simply awesome LIVE! I recently attended their show at Hampton Beach, NH and enjoyed it very much. I saw him for the first time in the mid-1980's and he sounds pretty much the same....still AWESOME and with a lot of energy! The "LIVE" cd is a must for any Thorogood fan. Better yet, attend one of his shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Great songs we listen to it all the time at the pool everyone ask us to play it and we do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live
Live by George Thorogood (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.