Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Live In Europe
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$9.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 20, 2000
The LP's original liner notes read, "You should've been there, but since you weren't, you'll have the opportunity to hear, literally see and definitely feel this one man band of soul." Indeed, Otis Redding's legend lies deeply in intense live performances like these recorded on the "Hit the Road Stax" European tour.
With a crowd before him whose adoration he could feel and return, (and an Austin Powers soundalike who spells Otis' name to start the show), with Booker T. & the MGs with the Mar-Key horns at their rockin' soul best behind him, Otis tears through hits and cover songs with ferocity unusual even for him. "Respect" and "Can't Turn You Loose" become full throated rave ups, and the smoother soul of "Shake" and "My Girl" translate into hard Stax soul (with memorable horn lines Otis loved singing against). But he saves the most incredible performances for the disc's second half, stoking "Satisfaction" and "Day Tripper" with intensity (again, especially in the horn lines) Keith Richards' and George Harrison's guitars could only estimate.
Hear Otis leading the crowd on "Fa-fa-fa-fa-fa (Sad Song)" then leading them up the soul ladder of his hit "Try A Little Tenderness." You sense great joy, then the sobering realization that no one -- Otis (who passed away the year this was released), the crowd, Memphis soul itself - would ever play or hear soul this right again. That fact alone makes this concert recording one to savor (and append with more tracks, and remaster) and essential for all classic R&B fans.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2000
"Live in Europe" by Otis Redding is one of the 4 or 5 greatest live albums that I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. I bought the CD last year, and have enjoyed it immensely ever since. Interesting that Redding covers both the Beatles and the Rolling Stones. All of the songs here are superb. The audience participation here contributes greatly to the mood and atmosphere, and Redding knows exactly how to interact with the audience. This is exactly what a live album should be. This disc comes highly recommended.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2000
There is not a better live recording than "Otis Redding - Live in Europe" this album is an absolute must for the serious soul music fan. More famous horn rifts come from this one album than any other I know. If "Try a little tenderness " doesn't bring a chill to you... you do not understand soul...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2001
I would actually give this four and a half stars. One reason is the sound quality. There is alot of audience noise and sometimes the vocals seem distant. Other then that, Otis Redding Live in Europe is a great album. It is not quite as good as In Person At The Whisky A Go Go, but it is still really good. The setlist is great. Respect kicks the album off great with one of the best versions of the song ever. This recording of Can't Turn You Loose is not as good as the one on Whisky, but it is good. This is followed by a very inspired version of I've been Loving You Too Long. The cover here of My Girl is probably even better then the version on Otis Blue, which is saying alot. Shake is done great and a very good version of satisfaction, but nowhere near as good as the one on Whisky. Fa Fa Fa Fa Fa is one of the highlights of the album, with alot of audience participation, which could be considered good or bad. I think that it still sounds really good. These Arms of Mine is another highlight. It's followed by a good version of Day Tripper that is drastically different then the Beatles version. The album closes with Try A Little Tenderness, which is the best song on the album. Overall this is a great album, but I would reccomend buying In Person At The Whisky A Go Go over this album.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
Otis, my man! This cat was a force of nature, especially when on stage, caught live in concert. What a tragedy that he was taken so soon. A powerhouse performance of soulful emotion, Live in Europe has been a personal favorite for decades - dating back to a time when we'd listen in awe as the tape played its way through on our rather cheesy car 8-track. Good time memories and great soul music. RIP, Otis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
This is a great album. I had an original on the old Volt label that had been given to me. The previous owner really abused that record and it sounded worse than a bowl of Rice Crispies all the way through. This reissue on Sundazed records was fantastic. It was very clear and a real joy as far as the listening experience. The only difference between the two covers was the Sunsazed vs the Volt names on them. This is Otis Redding backed by Booker T. & The MGs, with the Memphis Horns. I love this recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
These songs are from a Stax records tour of Europe. Behind Otis Redding are Booker T and the MG's backed by the Memphis Horns. The last cut, "Try a Little Tenderness" is worth the cost of the album. If this live version doesn't have you clapping and stomping your feet along with the audience, your dead. Have someone call the undertaker, you are beginning to smell. This is the very best of Memphis Soul music; nothing Barry Gordy produced can touch it. How I wish Otis Redding had never boarded that plane.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2008
This is a great album. I have the original which I purchased in the 60's. As someone else pointed out the best cut on the album is "Try a Little Tenderness" BUT THE VERSION IN AMAZON'S SAMPLE IS NOT THE VERSION THAT WAS ON THE ORIGINAL RELEASE! This is important because that version is musical dynamite and because it had Sam & Dave coming on stage to join Otis in closing the song, bringing the house down (you can hear an already near-hysterical crowd go crazy when they come out to join him). Find that version in other re-releases: it is out there and it is electrifying.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
OTIS !!! YOU LEFT TOO SOON .... BOY DO WE MISS YOU. THIS ALBUM IS HIS GREATEST AND ONLY LIVE ALBUM PRODUCED. IF THERE ARE OTHERS !!! THEY CAN'T MATCH THIS ONE. I'M GLAD I BOUGHT IT. YOU GOT TA GOT TA GET YOU'RE COPY OF THIS " LIVE MASTERPIECE "
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2012
"Live In Europe" by Otis Redding demonstrates his showmanship at its best. He really brings his audience to their feet! His vocals are outstanding and outrageous!!!! He also brings his audience to himself, to let them listen to him. I particular like "Can't Get No Satifaction" (original Rolling Stones song) and of course "Try a Little Tenderness" where he goes into a frenzy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.