Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Live Intrusion
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Pop Ups Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 19, 2002
This video showcases Slayer's live performance in all its brutality. Recorded on the DIVINE INTERVENTION tour it features amazing renditions of classics such as AT DAWN THEY SLEEP, RAINING BLOOD and HELL AWAITS as well as a cover of Venom's WITCHING HOUR. The documentary footage is interesting, the video opens with some lunatic fan getting SLAYER carved into his arm, and another moron staggering out of a record store signing looking like he's soiled himself, saying "Tom called me a fag! I'm going to go home and light a candle! SLAAAAYYYYYERRRR!". What a loser. There is also some amusing footage of the band on and off the road which shows that despite their music they are actually happy, good humored guys. No signs of satanic rituals, drug abuse or animal sacrifices- Tipper Gore, you need to get a life.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2001
When a video opens up with a guy carving the word "slayer" into his hand with a scalpel, you know its gonna be one worth watching. This has some of slayer's best songs in concert, and a lot of nice clips of them drunk. Its really something, believe me...Jeff sleeping w/his mouth wide open, a crown on his head saying "beauty sleep". tom mooning the camera. hit the cola can (paul's drunken game) kerry..."this is for you my friend, a finger up your splinter" and the crazy slayer fans (arent we all?) (...)
So...this is one of the best concert videos, good quality, you hear the band, not the crowd, and you actally see the band.
this video rules, but then again, so does everything slayer.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
LIVE INTRUSION is IMO the best live Slayer show out there. This is during the Divine Intervention era, 1995. NFL Films actually filmed all of this Mesa show. The crowd has tons of energy while Slayer plays "Killing Fields", Venom's "Witching Hour", "At Dawn They Sleep" and "Hell Awaits" in addition to their usual setlist. This show is excellent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2013
This concert has the greatest performance on video by Slayer. My first exposure to Slayer Live video was the War at the Warfield dvd, and it was god awful. Tom's voice sounded like crap and the whole band did not seem into it. here on Live Intrusion, you get an amazing concert. Tom's voice is actually enjoyable! you can here his bass and he even gives some of those funny tom introductions to some of the songs! Something he never does anymore. Also notable here are Jeffs solos! For Slayer, Jeff's solos are incredible! I love his improvised off note mayhem this dvd. Kerry does a good job at being kerry, throwing solos back and forth with Jeff. Paul Bostaph's performance on drums is amazing! He has his own style different from Dave, that really brings this dvd to life! if you are a metal fan, looking for a good extreme metal DVD, you will love Live Intrusions! Some rare Slayer songs are played here that sound incredible live! underated metal classics like, "Killing Fields", "At Dawn They Sleep" and the Slayer epic "213"(they need to play this today!. Die hard Slayer fans and extreme metal fans in general will love this dvd. Best Slayer concert DVD by far!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 30, 2012
Live Intrusion is an incredible home video capturing the last US show of Slayer's Divine Intervention tour, with clips from the road scattered throughout the concert footage. It was originally released in the 90's on VHS, but has thankfully been made available on DVD. Picture and sound are both excellent; I don't own the VHS, but the transfer seems sharp. The set list on this DVD is pure classic Slayer, with At Dawn They Sleep, Captor of Sin, Hell Awaits, and Chemical Warfare, plus numerous songs from South of Heaven, Reign in Blood, and Seasons in the Abyss. It also features five tracks from Divine Intervention. The cover of Venom's Witching Hour has an uncredited guest guitar and vocal appearance by Robb Flynn of Machine Head, out for their first US tour supporting Slayer. Much of the road footage is hilarious, with hotel hijinks, autograph session madness, sleeping pranks...all the staples of touring videos. Live Intrusion is without question a DVD any hardcore Slayer fan would enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2001
This is one of the best concert videos I have seen
i got this as a christmas gift.
I was looking for a good Slayer show for a long
time
This is as close to the Ultimate revenge as you
can get.
GREAT JAMM
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2010
I'm glad to get a copy of this on DVD.... my initial VHS copy, bought when it was released, is so worn in parts it's unwatchable. I was fortunate to be at this show, and just after the overhead mosh pit shot in the beginning of RIB you catch a quick glimpse of me and my pals headbanging....(the worn out part) Quite a memorable show, there were warnings posted all over for people with epilepsy to not look @ the lights etc. (I ripped one down and put it in my pocket, only to be hung on my wall for over 10 years).

Slayer uber alles!

\m/ o.0 \m/ hoffy \m/ o.0 \m/
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2010
at the time this was the first look at slayer live in concert longform not a video.covering most of their career minus showw no mercy matterial,and dusting off a couple old favorites but using the main stays and show casing new stuff.best of all they show why they choose Paul bostoph to replace Dave Lombardo on drums Paul rule and conquers the kit like and old pro even thou he is in his 20's verses Dave in his late 30's early 40's(an old pro) Paul play Dave parts masterfully and with great energy that dave had not shown in years at the time. the show is a fury of thrash and powerfuly delievered songs, a great show and shot very well with fairly little production special effects shots and camera tricks are minimal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2010
Had never seen this before, and I'm quite glad it was transferred over to DVD. It does retain the original 4:3 aspect ration, but I'm fine with that for the cheap price. Great set, and you get to Slayer perform a few old songs off of Hell Awaits and such. Good video, wonderful reminiscent 90's crappy video effects (love it!), and Slayer is obviously a bit younger and more energetic in this performance. A must have for any real Slayer fan!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2007
I found and bought this as a USED item for less than what they're currently asking for it used on Amazon (I guess I got lucky) and until recently did not even know it exited (and I see it's from something like a '95 concert), I was watching Tom Arraya in that video montage for 'Angel Of Death' sort of thing and I will have to say that I don't know how that motherf'er doesn't rip the cartilage out of his neck with the breakneck speed that he uses and plays at during that tune.

This needs to be redone onto DVD and sold because I did some searching and it's not available in that format it's only available in VHS videotape at the moment. So it's a must have if you're even remotely into SLAYER: I was a bit disappointed as to the way the video/music was layered into and right directly next to some of the video montages. But overall it's an excellently layed out program.

email: laughingpig1@yahoo.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.