Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well this is a no-brainer
I enjoyed Postcards from the Hanging very much - the dead covering Dylan live and so its not much of a stretch that I like this album so much with four of the fifteen songs being Dylan covers. But there's so much more here than the Dylan covers, although they do not disappoint - especially Senor (Tales of yankee power) and the excellent finale - Tangled Up in Blue. The...
Published on October 27, 2003 by Joseph Townsend

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, but far from the best JGB recording
If you want primo Jerry Garcia live, buy Live at the KeyStone vol 1 or vol 2 and hear Jerry G and Merle Saunders in 1973 in their prime. I loved going to see Jerry's band in many incarnations throughout the 1980s, but his voice and his energy gradually decreased into the 1990s. Years of touring took their toll. His voice on much of this JGB release is very weak and...
Published on May 7, 2007 by Stephen Farone


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well this is a no-brainer, October 27, 2003
By 
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
I enjoyed Postcards from the Hanging very much - the dead covering Dylan live and so its not much of a stretch that I like this album so much with four of the fifteen songs being Dylan covers. But there's so much more here than the Dylan covers, although they do not disappoint - especially Senor (Tales of yankee power) and the excellent finale - Tangled Up in Blue. The song selection is the strong foundation for this concert. Ageless treasures like "That Lucky Old Sun" sound so wonderful with the band, the lush background vocals and Jerry at the very top of his game. His guitar work is at its poignant best and his vocals are just perfect. This is one tight band folks and you really get the feeling that these concerts were true labors of love - the love of music that transcends generations and cultures performed with passion. I've always enjoyed hearing one of those big organs played with a full "churchy" sound and Melvin Seals' performance on keyboards is a great compliment to Jerry's guitar work and voacals, but the rest of the band is excellent, too. I honestly can't imagine anyone not finding at least a good handfull of treasures in this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and rich musicianship, December 27, 2000
By 
Jeffrey M. Zinn (Charlotte, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
There are three main points that make this album special: (1) the wonderful song selection (2) the musicianship and (3) Jerry's vocal and guitar work. The interpretation of Bob Dylan's work is magical. The inclusion of the Beatles and Band numbers also add a special touch to this album. I found the musicianship exceptional. The funky, modern bass sound is beautifully contrasted against the colorful keyboard work and soulful background singers. Jerry Garcia's vocals are smooth and guitar work is clean and crisp.
I really enjoyed this album and listened to it several times after I received it. I am a Dead fan - but I want to stress that this is a great album for all music lovers that have an appreciation for soulful rock/blues. I have recommended this album to several friends and would STRONGLY recommend that listeners on the fence about whether they like Jerry take a chance.
While living in Northern California, I had the opportunity to see the JGB as well as the Dead. I like this album because I feel that it captures the magic of a JGB show. For casual users of Grateful Dead music, you may be disappointed with a lack of standard Dead songs, but you will be overwhelmed by the richness of the other song selections.
I strongly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one's a gem - damn straight, forget the critic!, October 27, 1999
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
If you're a Deadhead, you kind of already know if you're going to like this. Still, however, not *everything* Jerry or the boys produce is uniformly wonderful. This live recording's a keeper - trust me, you'll listen to it over and over again - take the word of a discerning Deadhead. The fact that I felt like submitting my own little review should be an indication. Buy this one over "How Sweet It Is" - THAT one sounds like reheated Cat's Under the Stars. The present, simply JGB, is a wonderful sound, full of new songs. There's only one Dead song on this recording - Deal. You won't believe Dear Prudence, or Tangled Up In Blue. Jerry pulls out the fireworks on some of these songs, but mainly what you have here is Jerry at his poignant best. I only wish he'd done a Peggy-O while he was still in this mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it for the "Don't Let Go", October 18, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
The "Don't Let Go" is worth the price of this album. This has remained one of my favorite live albums of all time. "Evangeline" rocks. "Tangled Up" is hot. I will say that this is not an album for all Dead fans. This isn't about trippy music with the inspirational lyrics of Hunter. No, this album is for JerryFans. It is for people that just want to hear him solo out on all his favorite soul and Motown tunes. So beautiful in places that it makes you want to cry, laugh, dance, sit, live, die all at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of print? What a shame., February 16, 2005
By 
Jack Jones (Woodland Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
This is out of print? I can't count how many times I've listened to this set. Let's say 30-ish times and, literally, that may be conservative. I have most of the Jerry Garcia releases and though they are very strong over all, this is the one I come back too. Very deep music that stands up to repeated (and repeated) listenings. This was a strong lineup for the JGB and Garcia is at the top of his game. And organ fans, Melvin Seals throw's DOWN.

I hope for those that don't own it that this set comes back into circulation. For now, check at "After Midnight (Kean College2/28/80)". Different lineup but a great version of the JGB from 10 years earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just Jerry kicks booty..., October 26, 2000
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
...but also the rest of the band, especially on the slower songs like "Lucky Old Sun". Both these 2 CDs and the "How Sweet It Is" single CD were recorded during the same run at the Warfield Theater in SF, so you can think of this as a 3-CD set. I prefer these two CDs, as they are jammier and not as Jerry-centric. !!Not that I don't like Jerry!! but sometimes with Dead, Legion of Mary, and JGB releases and bootlegs, you can't really hear the contribution of the rest of the band. So get these CDs and groove to Kahn and Melvin and all the rest. These are definitely my favorite non-Dead Jerry CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a music fan from northampton, ma, July 11, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
Amazing, buy this album. You won't be dissapointed. Having bought JGB albums Shining Star and Dont Let Go... This one is by far the best of the three. Jerry delves deep into jams with inspired, creative playing, especially on the 17 minute "Don't Let Go". The Dylan covers are phenominal. "Simple Twist of Fate" is soulful and would bring a smile to Dylan's face. Both discs are great. One of, if not the best live albums I've heard. Toss it in the player and enjoy the sounds coming out of the stereo, your ears will thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the critic(s)..., August 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
Keep in mind that music critics have jobs because they either praise what the music industry wants you to buy or they decry everything that has a larger audience than 6 unconscious bar flies (depending on who they write for). Jerry has never relied on these facets of the buisness. The music is perfect, every note well chosen and eloquently delivered, but that was not an oddity for Jerry in much of his solo career in the late 80's and early 90's. It is indeed a sad day when a critic bad mouths a group of professional musicians who can stir the soul via true improvisation and impecable arrangements. They have become all too complacent in a world where talentless complainers from Seatle hide their ineptitudes by turning up the distortion and whining incesantly over out of tune power chords.
If you like jazz, blues, folk, gosple, blue grass, R&B, rock and roll, eclectic world orcestrations, or even classical music, you will enjoy these disks; they are surely amoungst the best i own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jerry lays his soul out for us-and it is beautiful-haunting, May 8, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
Jerry really puts his all into these licks. Just listening to "I Shall Be Released" puts tears in my eyes every time. "Tangled Up in Blue" is beautifully done. "Simple Twist of Fate" makes me curse the twist that took Jerry from us.
Jerry's guitar is so emotionally evocative, this is one of my all-time favorite albums. Everyone I've turned on to this album has thanked me.
I too feel sorry for reviewer Tom Hibbert--he's missing out on a lot if wasn't moved by the way these songs were rendered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have you'll return to often, June 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Live: Jerry Garcia Band (Audio CD)
This is definitely proof positive as to why Jerry Garcia was a legend in his own time and will forever remain so to the faithful. His guitar work here, as well as his interpretations of other writers' lyrics, make this album a truly haunting and unforgettable legacy. It is the only time I have heard a Beatles song done better than they did it themselves. If 'Dear Prudence" doesn't make you feel better when you hear it, move on to another artist as this is pure Jerry and you'll never appreciate him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live: Jerry Garcia Band
Live: Jerry Garcia Band by Jerry Garcia (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.