Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelsior! Informative but....
Produced for the Hero Initiative to raise money for the charity. This is really a DVD for geeks and nerds only. I say this because it is a very low budget recording of a college conference with these three legends on stage discussing the history of Marvel Comics, Then and Now, hence the title. My biggest complaint is the sound. They had problems at the set up of the...
Published on May 31, 2009 by Ben Kreger

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull
As a fan, I thought I could watch anything about Marvel, but not this. The questions were tired, and Stan's responses were what he has been saying for 40 or 50 years. He is a loveable and charming man (who I met as a young fan-boy), but I don't want to hear him, yet again, take near total credit for the creation of the early Marvel universe. And then there is Kevin Smith...
Published 22 months ago by Tracy Cramer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
As a fan, I thought I could watch anything about Marvel, but not this. The questions were tired, and Stan's responses were what he has been saying for 40 or 50 years. He is a loveable and charming man (who I met as a young fan-boy), but I don't want to hear him, yet again, take near total credit for the creation of the early Marvel universe. And then there is Kevin Smith. He come off as a half-wit, not only with his insipid questions, but with his endless stream of profanities that he must think makes him sound like an adult. Even the mediocre production values would not have gotten in the way if the content were worth the time it takes to watch this DVD. If you want to see a much tighter production of Stan's reminiscences, I recommend the DVD "Stan Lee's Mutants, Monsters & Marvels: Creating Spider-Man and Here Come the Heroes". I would also recommend his book/autobiography, "Excelsior!: The Amazing Life of Stan Lee", and the biography, "Stan Lee and the Rise and Fall of the American Comic Book" by Jordan Raphael.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelsior! Informative but...., May 31, 2009
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
Produced for the Hero Initiative to raise money for the charity. This is really a DVD for geeks and nerds only. I say this because it is a very low budget recording of a college conference with these three legends on stage discussing the history of Marvel Comics, Then and Now, hence the title. My biggest complaint is the sound. They had problems at the set up of the sound and quite a lot of feed back not to mention the sound will change from really clear to kinda foggy (for the lack of a better word). But it was very informative and very funny, thanks to the banter between Smith and Lee, an almost father/son relationship between the two.

I highly recommend this, but only if you aren't uppity of bad production of a good show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content but not well made, May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
I guess it was made as a "novelty item" and it had good content but it reminded me of someones camcorded school play video. If your into this subject I recommend Stan Lee's Mutants, Monsters and Marvels dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant experience, November 26, 2012
By 
The Infamous ElJay (New Castle, DE, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
While I am predisposed to like all things Kevin Smith and Stan Lee, this stands out. Particularly the way that Stan remains dignified and all "Chairman Emeritus" in his demeanor while Kevin gushes like a 9 year old fanboy. I can't blame him. If I was there, I'd be acting the same way.

Interesting Stories between Joe and Stan about the evolution of Marvel. Well worth the view.

Excelsior!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Smith one of my favorite actors and directors Stan leethe greatest creator of all ..., December 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
Kevin Smith one of my favorite actors and directors Stan leethe greatest creator of all time and Joe Quesada the editor-in-chief at Marvel they give lots of cool information is an awesome it has funny moments I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Cause, Great Potential, AWFUL Delivery, January 3, 2012
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
I am a long time comic fan. Supporting great comic book artists and writers in need is a worthy cause. Too bad this event was so terribly produced and executed.

"Host" Kevin Smith couldn't resist dropping repeated f-bombs and sexual slang while rambling about the stage looking like a disoriented basement dweller. He almost seemed like a disgruntled little brother of Michael Moore, desperate for someone to pay him attention. He exhibits no class whatsoever, regardless of his successful works. Therefore, he deserves no further credit in relation to this event.

The famous Stan Lee tried to produce a series of coherent reflections about his involvement with Marvel comics, but (again) repeatedly lies about the scope of his contributions. He seemed truly pained to admit that he didn't create Captain America in 1941, and then rushed through the origin of the character. He gives himself full credit for creation of all the top Marvel characters from the 60s. As usual, he completely fails to mention the fact that true genius Jack Kirby provided most of the major ideas for the Fantastic Four, Thor, X-Men, the Hulk, Iron Man, and even helped provide the basis for Spider-Man.

For just a few examples, the FF were partly based on "Challengers of the Unknown". Ben Grimm was named after Jack Kirby's dad, Sue Storm was named after Jack's daughter. Kirby was a student of mythology and had done a version of Thor in 1942. In the 1950s, Kirby's partner Joe Simon had created a character named Spiderman, who was eventually published as "The Fly". Steve Ditko's massive contributions to Spider-Man are also mostly left out of Stan Lee's egotistical boasting. Kirby and Ditko eventually left Marvel over the lack of credit for their ideas which made Marvel so successful. Even later characters like the Vision were based on much earlier Kirby characters. Just for kicks, Marvel's Daredevil was based on a 1940s character from Lev Gleason Publications.

There is no doubt that Stan Lee greatly helped market and refine Marvel Comics, but he did not solely create the characters and write the scripts. Shame on him for perpetuating falsehoods about the origins of most famous Marvel characters. For further study of this topic read the 2004 book "Tales to Astonish" by Ronin Ro.

Joe Quesada tries very hard to wear the over-sized Marvel shoes he inherited by attempting to be the uniting balance between Stealin' Stan and Profanity Boy. He does constantly heap adoration on Stan, but at least he seems to have some degree of respect for the great characters created by others. I found it laughable and ironic that Stan says Joe's job of being the caretaker of others characters is probably harder than his job of being the "creator" was. Actually, Stan was the caretaker of others ideas. At least he was good at that for some time.

Joe recently followed in Stan's footsteps by claiming that the recent "Marvel Knights" videos were the first "motion comic" animation. Motion comics were actually done in 1966 for the 5 character "Marvel Superheroes" series. This series featured classic comic book artwork of Kirby, Ditko, Heck, and others. Come on Joe, you should know better. Learn from your elders, do your best and be honest.

Some other comic creatives show up on stage, and they too worship Stan in a misguided manner. As usual, Stan cannot help but eat it all up. Moving on, the presentation quality is greatly reduced by repeated audio feedback, video focus issues, constant camera flashes, and unprofessional stage antics.

Perhaps this event should have been dedicated to the late Jack Kirby, who was greatly mistreated by Marvel and deprived of proper payment for his ideas. If you enjoy low brow profanity, deception, misguided credit, false humility, and poor production related to classic comic culture, then you may be interested in this. I hope Marvel will locate and retain capable artists, writers, and managers to keep the company going strong in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucked, January 5, 2012
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
This presentation sucked. Kevin Smith thought he was so funny with all of his profanity. He sounded like a caveman. Stan Lee needs to give credit to his co-creators instead of taking all of the credit for himself. Joe Quesada looks like hitchcock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars aweome....if it worked, July 21, 2010
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
this is a great movie. its funny,historical,and just plain awesome....But the dvd is crap it skips it freezes and it wont play past chapter 20.

and its not my dvd player i have tried to play it on about 5 different players.

and it wasn't just a flawed DVD because i ordered it twice and the second
copy did the same thing only this time i could only watch up to chapter 19.

i dont know if i just had bad luck or if all dvds were like this but overall half of the movie was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy for the comic lover, January 17, 2009
By 
Nick Figueroa (Lodi, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live - Marvel: Then & Now - A Night With Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Hosted by Kevin Smith (DVD)
This item went well for my friend who absolutely loves comic books. It was delievered on time and came in great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.