Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at Montreux 1981 DVD
5 Stars. A must have for all Stray Cats fans. Video and sound good, photography and directing even better and the show, BRILLIANT.
Published 21 months ago by J.D. Collins in Boise, ID

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but I knew an old VHS 80's performance better than this.
I don't remember the name of that VHS edition, but that Stray Cats ñlive performance is not available in DVD yet
Published 6 months ago by B. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at Montreux 1981 DVD, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
5 Stars. A must have for all Stray Cats fans. Video and sound good, photography and directing even better and the show, BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stray Cats are young, lean and mean, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
This video captures a young, talented and hungry trio playing rockabilly as if their lives depend on it. The music is pure rockabilly, but performed with a punk sensibility. A mixture of covers tunes and original compositions, including a rare lead vocal by the stand up bassist Lee Rocker on "Drink Your Bottle Down". Barely into his twenties Setzer is already a very accomplished player. Rocker and Slim Jim Phantom play and perform hard, never letting the bottom fall out. A great snapshot of rock and roll being snatched back from the disco days. This is how rock and roll should be played. I encourage any fan of The Stray Cats, rockabilly, punk, or incredible guitar playing to buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRAY CATS LIVE AT MONTREUX 1981, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
IF YOU'RE A STRAY CATS FAN, YOU'LL LOVE THIS EARLY CONCERT FOOTAGE. SETZER PLAYS MORE TO THE ORIGINAL SOUND RECORDINGS, UNLIKE A LOT OF THE B.S.O. CONCERT FOOTAGE YOU SEE TODAY. THEY EVEN DO A VERSION OF GENE VINCENT'S PRETTY PRETTY BABY, WHICH THEY NEVER RECORDED. FOR THIS PRICE IT'S A GREAT ADDITION TO A COLLECTION. - C.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My fifth live DVD of Brian Setzer live. This being the earliest recording., May 1, 2013
By 
Rykre "The Rogue Scholar" (of the vast Western Dystopian Wasteland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
When I saw this at the store of The Stray Cats Live in 1981, I thought that it would just be some raw coffee house venue performance because I never heard of them here in America til around the end of 1982. When I first heard "Rock This Town", I thought that it was some new material from The Kingbees. They being a rockabilly band out of LA, that was rather popular in Detroit when I lived there.

Anyway, being an American band, and performing live from 1981, I couldn't believe how that huge audience there were already into the band like they've been hearing The Stray Cats for years. I was wondering, "Were they the opening act for some other band?" because there was a lot of people there too.

Upon doing some research, I found that the Stray Cats released their first album in the UK in February of 1981. We in the states didn't get their first album "Built For Speed" until July of 1982. 17 months later. What's up with that? Was the American music industry resisting their style and dissing them, where they had to take their music overseas?

Anyway, if you're a Stray Cats fan or a Brian Setzer Orchestra fan, this is a great concert to own on DVD. For years I've always wanted to own some early concert footage of such a great band like the Stray Cats. Even their most recently filmed shows (like "Live in Brixton") is a treasure to own.

It looks like this DVD is also down to just being a few copies left for sale. So, jump on it if you see it. If you're reading this review, than, guess what? You know you want it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stray Cats Live in there prime Awsome concert, March 23, 2013
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
This is a awesome concert and a good addition to any stray cats or Brian setzer DVD collector the fan activity at this concert was wild just like there rumble in brixton DVD that is another favorite of mine if you haven't seen that one I recommend that one as well as any Brian setzer orchestra big band DVD back to the monurex DVD it is recorded in DTS PCM and DOLBY Digitial DTS sounds the best to me but its all in the listener It has a lot of there hits I recommend this to fans or people who love great music thank you for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early raw Cats, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
Excellent early Cats, unrefined! You can see they have definitely improved over time, but this show will not disappoint. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but I knew an old VHS 80's performance better than this., February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
I don't remember the name of that VHS edition, but that Stray Cats ñlive performance is not available in DVD yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What on stage energy!, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
This is The Stray Cats before they hit it big in America. It is obvious they love the music and the British crowd loves them. For a 1981 performance, the footage is great quality. The sound too. All the songs are there plus fifties covers that rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for a Stray Cats Fan, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
This DVD captures the essence of the Stray Cats in the early 80's. Even playing Rockabilly, they look like a punk band, with all that energy and attitude. In my opinion It's the best Stray Cats DVD available in the Market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars See them in an early show, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live at Montreux 1981 (DVD)
Watching this showed where the Stray Cats came from. Really interesting to watch this older show. Great performance and must have for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live at Montreux 1981
Live at Montreux 1981 by The Stray Cats (DVD - 2012)
$13.98 $12.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.