Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slight improvement on an already-must-have DVD
There's not a lot of information on Amazon or the web in general about this new edition of Rainbow's Live In Munich DVD, so I thought I'd provide some. The ONLY difference between the original 2006 release and this new 2013 version is the addition of the 11-minute original '76 special (for US TV?) "Rainbow Over Texas '76". This is an EXTREMELY welcome addition, as the...
Published 18 months ago by Ivan Pongracic Jr.

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings
First off I'm a big fan of the Rainbow Rising and Long Live Rock n' Roll albums, but this live show just falls short. It just can't be overlooked that Ritchie Blackmore extends too many of the songs past the point of boredom, and the set list could have been better. Also, Ritchie acts like a total maniac at the end of the show, and not in a good way. After four plus...
Published 7 months ago by Lawgiver2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slight improvement on an already-must-have DVD, July 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
There's not a lot of information on Amazon or the web in general about this new edition of Rainbow's Live In Munich DVD, so I thought I'd provide some. The ONLY difference between the original 2006 release and this new 2013 version is the addition of the 11-minute original '76 special (for US TV?) "Rainbow Over Texas '76". This is an EXTREMELY welcome addition, as the special, as grainy as it may be, has bits of footage of Rainbow performing "Stargazer", and, this is the big one, "A Light in the Black"!!! Wow! Almost certainly the only surviving video footage of those songs being played live. The special also has some exclusive interviews with Ritchie and Ronnie. All in all, it's definitely worth seeking out the newer version over the original if you're buying it for the first time, and if you already have the original one, well, you have to ask yourself, how big of a Rainbow fan am I? For me, for 10 bucks it was a no-brainer, and I'm really glad I got the new one. The DVD otherwise retains all the other amazing stuff that was on the original edition, the mindblowing show obviously, but also the epic promo videos, including "Gates of Babylon" (with Ronnie's INCREDIBLE live vocal over the original studio-recorded instrumental backing), the very nice interviews with Bob Daisley and Colin Hart, and the 30-minute slide show with an excellent commentary summarizing the early history of the band. A true must-have for any Blackmore fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding & Jaw Dropping: This DVD Delivers!!!, January 12, 2015
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
Ever since I discovered a cassette tape copy of Rainbow On Stage in 1997 or 1998 when I was in my early teens I have been in love with Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow. My wife bought me this DVD for my birthday and it's one of the best presents I've ever received!

If you are a fan of the original Ronnie James Dio and Blackmore pairing on vocals and guitars and you love live concert DVDs then you owe it to yourself to pick this up! The singing and the playing are equal parts spellbinding and jaw dropping. Until I started listening to live recordings of Rainbow I never really appreciated what an amazing guitar player Blackmore really is. His playing on Mistreated and Catch the Rainbow is simply the best that I have ever heard and seen. And that's to say nothing about how amazing Dio's vocals are! I had the pleasure of seeing Dio perform with Black Sabbath in 2008 and he was utterly amazing then but back in 1977 at his vocal peak there is just no comparing any other singer to Ronnie James Dio.

The set-list features all of the concert classics including the aforementioned Mistreated and Catch the Rainbow along with Kill the King, Man on the Silver Mountain and 16th Century Greensleeves. I was a little disappointed that Stargazer was not included but honestly, the playing on the other songs is so phenomenal that I didn't even miss Stargazer. Also, after listening to the 3 live albums from their 1976 shows in Germany, Stargazer didn't come off quite as good live as it did in the studio.

The line-up of the band features the Dio, Blackmore, Powell axis with Bob Daisley (later of Ozzy Osbourne) on bass and David Stone on keyboards. Honestly, I prefer Tony Carey on keys over David Stone. But by no means is Stone a detriment to this concert. And as much as I love Jimmy Bain on bass there really was no drop off with Daisley. Cozy Powell is simply amazing on drums, one of, if not, the most underrated drummers in rock history in my opinion.

All in all, I was completely blown away by this DVD, the sound quality is top notch and the video really isn't that bad considering it's from 1977. If you love Rainbow, Ronnie James Dio, and/or Ritchie Blackmore then this DVD is for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, June 23, 2014
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
First off I'm a big fan of the Rainbow Rising and Long Live Rock n' Roll albums, but this live show just falls short. It just can't be overlooked that Ritchie Blackmore extends too many of the songs past the point of boredom, and the set list could have been better. Also, Ritchie acts like a total maniac at the end of the show, and not in a good way. After four plus minutes of him smashing his guitar while still plugged in and blaring noise for what seems like forever I feel comfortable in saying yes, this should have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
The best early mark 1 rainbow show with front man ronnie james dio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance! Can hear clearly the beginning of Power ..., January 4, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
Excellent performance! Can hear clearly the beginning of Power Metal within the speed and musical elements with Dio being a very powerful vocalist! Blackmore delivered a great show! The band lineup was very epic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
Rainbow Rocks, Old School Ronnie Dio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dio,led Rainbow, June 23, 2013
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
Really like this dvd, it captures Rainbow at an important point in their career.Video quality is limited because of the technology of the day.Great set by Rainbow.I saw them live six times and was always enamored by their style.This dvd is a time capsule of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 24, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
Great tuneage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 13, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
way sick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAINBOW/RONNIE JAMES DIO, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Munich (DVD)
THIS IS A EXTREMELY COOL DVD SINCE IT HAS RJD ON VOCALS---LOVE RAINBOW WITH RJD--EXTREMELY HAPPY--WILL KEEP THIS CLEAN AND PUT UP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live in Munich
Live in Munich by Rainbow (DVD - 2013)
$14.98 $10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.