Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 11, 2003
After getting this 2 CD set Live from Boston Music Hall 12/5/72, NRPS raised the bar on their bootleg release series. The sound quality on this is amazing and it is hard to believe that it came from a 2 track master. You can hear every country rockin' detail in this show. Highlights include Contract, School Days, and Hello Mary Lou. If you are a NRPS fan make sure you get this one.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2005
While I have a soft spot for the original incarnation of the New Riders, with Garcia on pedal steel and Lesh on bass, they were still a formidable unit in 1972, when this gem of a show was recorded.

I have a bunch of NRPS bootlegs on CD, from '70, '71, '77 and other years, and while the '71 show from the Dead's historic spring run at the Fillmore is my favorite, this runs a close second.

Most of my favorite songs are here ("Truck-Drivin' Man," "Henry," "Glendale Train"), as are some nice covers in the form of Chuck Berry's "School Days" and Cash's "Long Black Veil.

Buddy Cage is nice on the pedal steel, but like I said, I just have a soft spot for Garcia's loping style, which carried through surprisingly well on pedal. Cage is a little more technical, but still very enjoyable.

Like the Dead, NRPS have an awkwardly endearing harmony that makes you smile, and the boogie to back it up. Good good stuff.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2004
The sound quality was much better then I ever expected, and the package that it came in was unlike the typical CD case. Very cool stuff!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2004
You should ignore the outdated review posted about these being on CD-Rs. They are no longer on CD-Rs and are now pressed glass masters. Aside from that, this is a great show that captures the New Riders in their prime.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
I got this CD because I wanted some of the cuts on a CD format and didn't want to shell out for the individual CDs because I have then in LP format. The cuts are OK, but the production quality is not what it could be based on other "live" performance recordings I have purchased over the years. Minus 2-stars for production quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
i just found this was available and because i went to this show, of course had to have it..back in the day, it was known simply as "the music hall",,and was THE BEST place to catch a show as the decor inside was beautiful and the acoustics were superb . my friends and i would hitchhike up from the cape to see concerts there when we were teenagers..a quick note to the other reviewer,,,there was a thick blue haze in the air that night !! eric anderson opened this show with a pretty country flavored set. nrps came on and instantly the energy level went up 10 fold. the boys were rockin out in fine form this cold early winter night in boston, and had been brought up right by those other guys from san francisco !!! really spot on performances of all the country fusion rock that this band made famous over the years;;;the whole show is excellent..if your a fan,,it will make a nice addition to your collection and will help you remember when hippies wore cowboy boots !!!
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2007
These are excellent,well recorded versions of the bands' best songs. NRPS
seem underrated to me - many of Dawson's songs are gems and the strength of the rythmn section is especially noticeable here. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
Yeehaw!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2008
Live: Boston Music Hall 12/5/72
I remember this show, but I must have been pretty stoned. The promise in the song titles only yields rough, atonal tunes, proving once again that you had to be there, and you can't go back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.69
$26.99
$13.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.