Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to Get Away From It All? Read This Book!
What a quirky, nonsensical, gorgeous, joyful, sad bit of inspiration! And if you can't understand that, then you're in the best position to read this fun novel! Plan to laugh, cry, sing, be confused...and amazed at what this author has to say! I'm still not convinced that it did not include an angel character, you know, like Touched by an Angel, by the name of...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half a Loaf...
After reading the "sample" I anticipated giving this novel a 5 star review; one third of the way through I downgraded my anticipation to 4 stars; at the 60% mark I toyed with the idea of tossing it aside, but gritted my teeth and stuck with it to the bittersweet (aka maudlin) end.

Ordinarily I prefer non-fiction to fiction. In order to hold my interest, a novel...
Published on October 10, 2012 by William Marantz


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to Get Away From It All? Read This Book!, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live from the Road (Paperback)
What a quirky, nonsensical, gorgeous, joyful, sad bit of inspiration! And if you can't understand that, then you're in the best position to read this fun novel! Plan to laugh, cry, sing, be confused...and amazed at what this author has to say! I'm still not convinced that it did not include an angel character, you know, like Touched by an Angel, by the name of Lollapalooza...even if she did die during the trip...

Trip? Yes, the trip taken by two best friends and their daughters. They started from Chicago and were heading to L.A., traveling the old Route 66 for as much as they could. At first the two friends were going to go, then their daughters decided that they wanted to go, especially, when they learned that there was to be auditions in L.A. if they planned their trip right. CC was a singer; Ramona wanted to be an actress, but also sang... In fact the four all sang and looked for Karaoke bars each night when they stopped...to practice! As well as to give each audience a show they would remember.

Meg narrated most of the story, and kept a journal, naturally, since she was a journalist. She and Sally her best friend had talked about the trip since Meg needed to settle some past issues that she'd been internally hanging on to, including the death of her son. Essentially, she had closed him off inside and was not able to face his loss... And CC had been hurting also, as if losing her mother as well...

As they started, they dressed up their van with Route 66 signs and declared themselves the Road Warriors, with even a solemn (!!!) group hand sharing as they left certain areas...

I have to say, I would love to have been traveling with them!

And others felt the same way! So as the Warriors met people along the way and told them about their trip, their destination... well, you guessed it, they either joined them right then or caught up with them later (on Route 66 of course so it wasn't hard to find them!) They even met a couple on their way to get married--and everybody later became their wedding party!

Seriously, there is no way to describe what was encountered on that trip! You just have to experience it!

One of the things Sally had planned for the trip was to bring her father's remains back to where he had wanted to stay...so a wake with fireworks took place! They picked up Laramie at that stop, when she came running with her shotgun on hearing the fireworks... Later, Sally was the one who was comforted by Meg as she received word that her husband had left her...and so much more!

A couple went along for the music auditions, but most just had that look...you know...the one that says you just need to do something crazy??? Need to get away? Read Live From the Road and you just might be making your own plans! Wish I could go with you! Hey, wait a minute...This book was just like I was there, including the hugging and crying with the Road Warriors! Waaaaayyy Cool Book! Come listen to the music along with my thoughts at Book Reader's Heaven...

GABixlerReviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Funny, Zen-Searching, Heart-warming Read!, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
Part Thelma & Louise, part Robin Hood and his band of merry men, part the Pied Piper of Hamlin, P. C. Zick hits a homerun with Live On The Road. The cast of characters starts out with two mothers and their twenty something daughters as they travel across the U. S. on the old Route 66 and ends up including a whole host of interesting, displaced people, longing for adventure alongside these four "Road Warriors". The book is a wonderful cavalcade of life--laughter, charming and clever bantering between the daughters and their moms, pent-up feelings, divorce, wild flings, karaoke, tragedy, emotional and spiritual discoveries, and some tidbits about the history of Route 66, coincidentally known as the "Mother Road". In short, this is an extremely well-written book that, through its very believable characters and vivid descriptions of the beauties they encounter gives you something for everyone, as the group keeps chorusing, "May we always go where we're headed and be content with the journey no matter where it leads!" A thoroughly enjoyable read! Definitely recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun ride that you will not want to miss!, July 8, 2012
By 
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
Best friends, Sally and Meg, take a detour in mid-life along Route 66 with their young adult daughters. Meg, who is still mourning over the death of her son, hardly recognizes CC, her grown-up baby girl, when they meet at the airport. Boosted by Sally's optimism and her daughter, Ramona's, enthusiasm and research of the adventures along Route 66, the four women take off on a fun ride that you will not want to miss.

Along the Mother Road, we join an eclectic caravan of colorful characters which include historians, entertainers, cowboys, and mystics. Listen to CC sing her way through the desert and watch Sally plant a deadly kiss on a Coyote. Meg's heart heals when Ramona reveals a well-kept secret. Their journey brings adventure, fulfillment, closure to the past tragedies, and enlightenment for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written with some excellent characters, June 30, 2012
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
Live From the Road was a pretty good read, I read it at the suggestion of a friend who just loved it. I think there were some excellent characters here - Looza and Slick come to mind first and the former Marine definately. This was a look at four women related by birth and friendship as they traveled down Route 66 and the changes each one undergoes during the trip. It was well written and flowed nicely for the most part. There were a couple of points that I felt were random deviations from the overall point of the story and took away from the existential angst the women were trying to come to grips with. Overall, if you're looking for a feel good, fun romp of a roadtrip, this book probably isn't what you want, but if you want a more indepth view into the lives of four pretty regular women coming to terms with age, loss and love, then Live From The Road is a good pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trip Worth Taking, May 29, 2012
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
This novel is a spirited travel story. It is packed with humor, understanding, and difficult conflicts. What is more, it is sprinkled with insights,love and no love. If you're looking for a fun read that shares nuggets of wisdom, this is the book for you.

My hat goes off to P.C. Zick!
Marisella Veiga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the Ride on Route 66, July 18, 2012
By 
Diane Rapp (Trinity, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
When I began reading this book, I assumed it might be a travel story about the places visited. Thankfully the engaging story dragged me into the lives of these four women from the first chapter, and I became one of their stragglers on the adventure. Two best friends (Sally and Meg) decide to take a trip along the old Route 66 from Chicago to L.A., and their daughters (Ramona and CC) go along for the ride. Of course the daughters have ulterior motives. They plan to enter a talent contest in L.A. or I'm sure they'd never agree to travel with their moms!

No one expected that this road trip would be more than a pleasant ride through the country. The four women stop at interesting road side attractions, but they also explore their pasts and their relationships during the journey. Their excitement about traveling Route 66 is contagious and the "Road Warriors" eventually attract a caravan of cars that follow them across country. The crazy characters they meet are odd, funny, and absolutely outrageous.

I once traveled with my grown daughter for three months, doing research for a Caribbean guide book. During that trip I saw my daughter as an adult, a woman who I was proud to know. The four women in this book laughed and cried together (many times), told secrets that kept them apart, and examined failed relationships with the men in their lives. It's a well-told story that cuts away the layers to get to the core of personal realities, serious stuff.

Lucky for readers, it's not all serious. We get to watch while they shoot grandpa's ashes off in a bottle rocket, meet Looza, the lady whose husband brought an alligator to bed, and laugh at the "kiss of death." The author creates her own platitudes like:"You're not lost if you travel the direction you're going," or "Don't trust a man who wears a white cowboy hat, because he's hiding something." She also creates memorable characters with personal stories worth exploring. Travel Route 66 with these women and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just a Trip, May 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
I just finished "Live From the Road" after a marathon read because I couldn't put it down. I am absolutely stunned at the insight and depth of the novel. Ms. Zick hit the nail on the head on so many of her observations, describing them in such a wonderful way. I had to keep a note pad beside me so I could write the location number of some of the better items I wanted to read again. The over-whelming best was the description of when the doctor told Meg that she was aging. How beautifully that was put! This novel simply cries out to become a movie -- I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has movie written all over it!, August 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
I too, took my time reading this adventure. I knew from the opening chapters it was going to take my breath away. I could easily picture the different places the characters visited and even could hear their conversations. I felt their sadness and their giddyness. The ending chapters were crazy and totally unpredictable! I could not put the book down for the final 8 chapters! To write a book like this with so much dialogue, I take my cowboy hat off to PC Zick. The story flowed effortlessly like it was inspired by Divine guidance.. Get this story to a screenwriter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Balanced, December 4, 2012
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
Charlene's Review:

When Sally and Meg search for more meaning in their lives, they plan a trip, along with their adult daughters, along Route 66, from Chicago to Los Angeles. Along the way they meet up with others seeking their own personal enlightenment, and slowly, their entourage increases. All of the travelers are seeking a new start, or fighting their own demons. Through tears, laughter, and lots of singing, they all arrive at their destination changed.

As far as the characters, Meg resonated with me the most, throughout. Having lost a son, she was searching for a way to heal, as well as to reconnect with her surviving daughter. The daughters, CC, the aspiring talent, and Ramona, often lost in C.C.'s shadow perhaps had more to deal with than they originally thought. Sally brought to the group the not-so-logical logic; "Always go in the direction you're headed." There was a lot of emotion packed within this book, and a whole lot of fun, as well.

This was your typical "road to self" book, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I, for one, am always enamored with stories about women who set out to redefine themselves, and what better way than a road trip? Ms. Zick perfectly balanced the turmoil of personal battle with light-hearted antics, and the story flowed quickly and beautifully. Meg sums up the entire journey with one quote; "I thought I might find the perfect place to escape to when I started this trip. But the thing I needed to escape most caught up with me, and it wasn't so bad after all."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this one!, June 4, 2012
This review is from: Live from the Road (Route 66 Fiction) (Kindle Edition)
"Route 66 represents new beginnings and adventure." So said Sally, one of the main characters in Live from the Road, by P. C. Zick.

Sally, her best friend, Meg, and their two young-adult daughters followed the Mother Road from its beginning in Chicago to its end in Santa Monica. Each was running away from and toward something - and each found something within herself that changed her life both present and future. Along the road the four pick up other "road warriors" until they are traveling in a caravan of four cars with eight very diverse people.

Zick draws quirky characters like Looza (short for Lollapalooza), a wizened old woman Meg calls "my apparition." Looza seems to appear when Meg needs advice or a "kick in the pants" and then disappear into nowhere. Looza is full of insights and wisdom, as are several other characters. Of course the wisdom and insights belong to Zick and it is a tribute to her writing skill that we forget that.

In addition to quirky characters the book is full of quirky adventures, one involving a dead body, the police and a night in jail. Others involve an alligator in bed and a father's ashes in a bottle rocket.

By the end of the trail each of the four warriors has had her own life-changing adventure and, as Meg said while gazing at the Pacific, "The road led us to our hearts as well."

P.C. Zick is working on another book now and has written others under the name Patricia C. Behnke.
Sally Hanson
6/5/2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.