Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Live at the Roseland Ballroom NYC [Blu-ray]
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2012
I was on vacation and watched the last half of this concert on a local PBS station in my hotel room. It was jaw-dropping! The next morning, I looked it up on-line at Amazon and ordered it! The concert was fantastic! I did not realize how talented C.F.(Fred) Turner is! He is a very underrated Bass guitarist (but then Bass players usually are, unless you are Geddy Lee of Rush!). I am a huge fan of the Guess Who and Bachman Turner Overdrive. Bachman and Turner's greatest hits make up the majority of the concert; Not Fragile and Blue Collar were fabulous; a couple of OK new songs, an OK rendition of American Woman (one of my favorite Guess Who songs!) and I was absolutely stunned when Randy Bachman called Paul Shaffer to the stage to play on Shakin' All Over (great song!), Roll on Down the Highway (Turner is as good as ever on vocals!) and the finale Takin Care of Business. They did not play Gimme Your Money Please! If you are a fan of Randy Bachman (The Guess Who or B.T.O.) you will enjoy this concert DVD! I also highly recommend Guess Who - Running Back Thru Canada. Some other links: Best of B.T.O.: Remastered Hits The Best of the Guess Who and the audio CD is available Live at the Roseland Ballroom, NYC. Great music!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2012
A good DVD of a late 2010 gig put on by Bachman and Turner. Turner's voice is a little rough but works pretty well in the live setting. The band sounds good. Only the audience, who seems half-asleep (kinda strange for a New York audience, isn't it?), is puzzling here. Despite the audience only coming out of their zombie-esque state for the encore "Takin' Care of Business," Bachman, Turner and their colleagues turn in a fine effort. Fans of BTO, Bachman & Turner and Bachman's guitar playing will be pleased.
44 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 23, 2013
Retrospect can be cruel or kind...That said, this retrospect of Bachman-Turner Overdrive with only Randy Bachman and C.F. Turner hits a real "bulls-eye" of goodness. BTO was kinda like Lynyrd Skynyrd but even more workmanlike. Simple heavy riffs melded with some good melody as well as hooks. This stuff wasn't rocket-science. Or was it maybe better than we'd realized at the time? Me thinks so as this DVD brings into focus.

First, the band had a really nice heaviness that was so direct it was primal. Not to waste that the band also had some pop sensibility as witnessed by their classic "Takin' Care of Business" monster hit. Too many casual fans simply stop there and it's their loss. This DVD really shows what a jewel of a bassist C.F. Turner is. He is heavy as any helacious bass player should be, but he's also really delicate running all around the fretboard to make melody counter-points that hit like a "sledgehammer" (pun intended). Bass simply doesn't get better even if it gets more intricate. Let's not stop here...C.F. is one of the best guttural sounding vocalists I've ever heard because he actually has a bit of range to go with it as well as a sensibility where he can be raw (American Woman) or emotive (Blue Collar). This guy is a huge reason BTO is even more than the sum of the individual parts. C.F. Turner is king here.

But wait, there is also one of the most under-rated guitarists of the entire rock genre also on-board. Randy Bachman would simply be the uber-guitar god if he looked like Steve Vai. He doesn't look like Steve Vai, however, but he's actually just as talented. He's in a way smarter because he has made that talent so accessible, and melodic, that in it's supreme goodness it gets overlooked. Not so much here though! Randy Bachman hits the right notes with inspiration leaving out anything superfluous that may well detract. Nuance and crunch come together in Randy Bachman's style which is both heavy metal and jazz inspired simultaneously. Wow! Tasty as hell with absolutely no flash that reeks of self-indulgence...Rare! Then there's Randy's vocals which are about as honest as any in all of rock music. No he doesn't have amazing range, in fact his range is pretty damn limited, but the guys knows how to use what he's got and I respect that. Combined with C.F. Turner there is awesome songcraft here.

Others have gone into the song selection so I'll not be redundant except to say BTO has an excellent catalog to work out of . There's the omission of songs that should be forgotten, there's the one's that should be brought back for your inspection, and there is a few new ones and covers (American Woman is a cover here) which all add up to a really excellent show. I'm so glad these two guys refused to call BTO a day. I liked them pretty good in the day (especially the first two LPs) and I respect them so much here words can convey it. This is a must see for fans and a recommendation of those who in 2013 are starved for simple good old rock and roll.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 21, 2013
Live From the Rosewood Ballroom (2010), features former Bachman Turner Overdrive bandmates Randy Bachman, and C.F. (Fred) Turner reuniting as "Bachman and Turner", performing BTO classics, as well as songs from their new reunion album Bachman & Turner (2010).

With an array of metal framed beams for mounting lighting adorning the stage of the Rosewood Ballroom in New York City, the setting seems somewhat appropriate, as BTO used metal gears as their symbol. For a couple of 67 year old guys, Randy Bachman and Fred Turner, are still amazing performers. They still sport beards, although they have turned white, and seem to be in good health, and in very good spirits. These grizzled veteran rockers from Winnipeg, Canada, are truly an inspiration, as they power their way through the 92 minute performance, that is a testament to their enduring love for rock. Randy's playing is rock solid, as he handles nearly all of the lead guitar parts, despite there being two other guitarists onstage. Remarkably, Fred's voice sounds just as gruff and powerful as it did in BTO's glory years, still capable of sending chills up your spine.

Bachman Turner Overdrive was a remarkably talented band, capable of producing some diverse music. With Randy Bachman's soft singing voice, contrasting with Fred Turner's gravelly growl, the band had kind of a Yin and Yang thing going musically, particularly as early on, the band incorporated jazz elements and cool time changes. Played at little slower pace, the songs can be appreciated like a fine wine, and still delivers quite a kick. Rounding out the band are Marc Lafrance on drums, and guitarists Mick Dalla-Vee and Brent Howard Knudsen.

The 20 song setlist includes their hits "Hey You", "Let It Ride", "Roll On Down the Highway", "You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet", and "Takin' Care of Business", as well as favorites, "Looking Out For #1", "Four Wheel Drive", "Hold Back The Water", "Not Fragile", "Rock Is My Life", and "Blue Collar". Bachman returns to his Guess Who days on "American Woman". The new Bachman Turner album is well represented with five songs. Bachman's poignant "Waiting Game" is a standout track. Fellow Canadian Paul Schaffer joins the band for their final three numbers including a cover of "Shakin' All Over", Bachman's first hit with the Guess Who.

The video production is first class, with nice coverage of the performance, without a lot of quick cuts. The focus is mainly on Turner and Bachman, as most of the band is seen mostly in wide shots, and there isn't too much coverage of the audience, who are in theater seats. The only disappointment is the lack of any bonus features.

They don't seem to get a lot of recognition for it now, but Bachman Turner Overdrive were one of the pioneers of hard rock, bringing some heavy guitar to the AM airwaves, at a time in the early 1970's, when soft rock artists like The Carpenters, The Jackson Five, Helen Reddy, Elton John, and Three Dog Night, were riding high on the pop charts.

For fans of Randy Bachman and Fred Turner, it was wonderful to hear that after so many years, they were working together again. The name "Bachman & Turner" was chosen, because of ongoing legal issues concerning the name "Bachman Turner Overdrive". While others their age are enjoying their retirement years, these gentlemen are still amazing musicians. This performance is a worthy addition to any fan's collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2014
I was a big BTO fan back in the day and when I saw they have a new album/DVD I jumped at it. The old music still rocks as much as ever, has not lost a thing. Sadly, the new music either sounds recycled or is just plain boring. I found myself hitting the skip button to get to the good stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Fred and Randy can still rock. Randy was really one of rocks best guitarists in the early 1970's , Fred has one of the most distinctive voices. They look like they are having a good time . Good set list , but they had more they could have played. I enjoyed the concert and am happy they came back before Father Time had his way with them
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
If you are fan of Bachman Turner Overdrive, like I am, then this is a must Blu-ray for your collection. Randy Bachman and CF Turner are still in excellent form in this live concert from late 2010. They perform all their hits and some new songs from their new cd. Don't believe that these guys are just going along on the string here. They rock. They have an excellent back up band behind them, but let there be no mistake, they are in full control here. CF turners vocals still in great shape. He growls and screams and his bass playing is still on the mark. Randy Bachman is still sharp, and tight on his lead guitar. Video quality on this disc is excellent, sharp, good color, and crystal clear. These guys are old school, so they stick to old school as far as tech goes. No loseless audio here, only standard 2.0 or Dolby Digital 5.1. I played both audios, and they are both good, but the 5.1 is preferred for me. No fantastic surround, but good. So in closing, a great 90 minute concert, rocking and fun all the way. All the hits, and even the new songs are very good, excellent video and good audio. It is the next best thing to being there. One of my favorite Blu-ray concert performances. Highly recommended!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
Ordered the SD from Bachmans web site many Months ago (shipped from Canada). This title is a great gig of good old rock and roll. If you like BTO's stuff get this one.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
These Canadian Rockers from the 1970's Mega Hit Band, "Bachman Turner Overdrive" (BTO) can still really, seriously ROCK!!! The vocals are shared between Bachman on electric guitar, and Turner on electric bass guitar. The songs still sound the same as they did back in the 1970's. These guys are as sharp as ever. I loved their music in the 70's, and I saw this dvd advertised, so I bought it, and I love it.

My favorite songs are "Let it Ride", "American Woman", "You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet", & "Takin' Care of Business", however, all the songs are great, this is a fantastic concert from the very beginning to the very end. It has a running time of about 90 minutes. If you liked BTO from the 70's you'll really enjoy this concert DVD.

Also, Randy Bachman is in the Canadian Rock Band "The Guess Who". If you don't already have it, then I highly reommend "The Guess Who" concert DVD, "Running Across Canada" or something similiar to that name. It's also a fantastic concert DVD, featuring Randy Bachman & Burton Cummings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2012
From the very moment I watched this video it inmediately became one of my favorite ones. Though I'm a BTO's fan, it's not easy for me to find the appropiate words to describe it's beauty. What surprised me most was the accuracy and precision with which all the songs are performed, just exactly as they had been almost fourty years before. No changes, no different arrangements, no remixes whatsoever. Each song is a replica of the original version. Bachman and Turner have preserved their powerful voices and rythm; the band, by the way, are wonderful. I can tell you they seem to sing even better than in the old times. Enjoying the concert made me remember the first time I watched BTO on TV (The Midnight Special)in 1974. I'm so glad I bought it. A must, indeed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.99
$13.39

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.