Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diggin on the Live Funk
I'm a big fan of the genre: Soulive, Greyboy Allstars, Galactic, Karl D and all those cats. But as anyone who listens to live music knows: Studio albums fall so short of the live act. It's all about the energy shared by the musicians and the crowd. It is a shared experience. This CD rocked my world from start to finish. I had just come off a wailing Galactic show the...
Published on January 20, 2005 by K. Beers

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shoddy Mastering
This is a review of the sound quality only, look to the other reviewers for thoughts on the music. The recording and mixing are quite good. Unfortunately, the sound was trod upon during mastering. In an effort to get the average volume as close to peak volume as possible, the engineer introduced distortion, and tonnes of digital clipping. Every drum hit suffers from...
Published on April 4, 2009 by jomojomo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diggin on the Live Funk, January 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of the genre: Soulive, Greyboy Allstars, Galactic, Karl D and all those cats. But as anyone who listens to live music knows: Studio albums fall so short of the live act. It's all about the energy shared by the musicians and the crowd. It is a shared experience. This CD rocked my world from start to finish. I had just come off a wailing Galactic show the night before and I was ready for some funk. Lettuce delivered the produce ( forgive the pun, Just had to) The energy of this live album is off the charts, just some funky cats throwing down some nasty grooves. It comes highly recommended by someone who knows the scene. Pick this one up...you're gonna love it!

Beers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make my Funk the L-Funk, February 23, 2005
By 
Karl W. Berner "Funkmeister" (Valparaiso, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
As I try to sum up what exactly has drawn me to this group, and how it differs from old school funk, I simply quote Bootsy Collins: "Somebody been messin' with my funk. Funkin' 'round, funkin' with it 'till they funked it up!"

If you want a straight answer, these guys are not only the real deal, but will be what other new funk bands are measured by. These guys are nasty, low-down, self-proclaimed "Defenders of the Funk". I challenge anyone to show these guys down.

If you're a lover of funk, and love to hear how funk can evolve, this album is defnintely for you. Eric Krasno (Soulive)and Adam Deitch (John Scofield Band) have furthered the sound of funk, and this ensemble is right on their wavelength. With the addition of Neal Evans (Soulive) on keys, Lettuce found the missing ingredient from their studio release, "Outta Here", which was a brilliant piece of work in its own right. But in this release, "Kron Dutch" explodes with the most modernized funk sound to date.

If Parliament's P-Funk were the rulemakers for an oppressed society, Lettuce's L-Funk may very well be today's lovers of the oppressed Mother Earth.

Funk on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOOK A CHANCE, November 10, 2004
By 
asc "asc" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
I'm a Soulive fan so I figurd I'd take a chance, man was I stoked! This live record captures live funk at it's best, not to mention for a live show the sound quality AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding!, May 10, 2005
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
Absolutely the best cd I've heard in a long, long time! This bad is powerful enough to turn goat p*ss into gasoline! I loved the disc from the time I hit play and on through the last tune. These guys are great and deserve more recognition. Nothing like a great music that makes you wanna move! If you like Soulive, you'll love Lettuce....The Soulive Big Band! Hit me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Jambased Music Fans Everywhere..., January 13, 2006
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
In order to find quality tracks, quality musicians, you must dig in the crates! It took a little while to discover this CD, and I am happy to have stumbled upon this treasure. These cats understand, straight pocket, injecting jazz funk and hip hop flavors through out. Ride with this one. g
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funkified, September 24, 2004
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
this is such a funky album. a must have for any funk cat.

kron dutch is sick track brought to you from deitch and kraz, and every other track is just a funky jam and insanity

great production and a solid live album

enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going for Broke!, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
This concert grabs you and wont let go until 3 minutes after the final song. Lettuce is not just pushing the limits of jazz they broke the mold. Get this CD and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Funky..., February 28, 2012
By 
Wilton Alston "Wiltster" (Rochester, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
Let me be very clear. These guys play some of the finest, funkiest, most-satisfying, musically-dense, talent-laden compositions you will *ever* have the great good fortune to hear with your own ears. Think Mandrill meets the JBs meets an instrumental version of the Brand New Heavies meets the best acid rock jam band you ever heard, and they spent 8-10 minutes per song just getting completely and totally as nasty as possible. All you can do is get that tortured look on your face--like you smell something--and bob your head like a complete moron. Jazz? Yes, but better than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, January 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
It was a recommended cd when i was buying Up Here from Soulive for the DVD that comes with it. Boy, what was i surprised!!!!What a great music. To all who love soulive and Lettuce...buy this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Live Funk, January 25, 2011
By 
Rich K (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live in Tokyo (Audio CD)
As a funk fan of the Greyboy Allstars, Brand New Heavies, Gallactic, Brooklyn Funk Essentials, Liquid Soul genre, I was blown away by this live disc. "The Dump" is a personal favorite of mine, but the entire disc is filled with positive vibrations. Get it and dig it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live in Tokyo
Live in Tokyo by Lettuce (Audio CD - 2004)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.