Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked classic!
Back about 100 years ago, I heard UFO for the first time. This was back in the early days of FM radio in the US, when the DJ's could play pretty much whatever they wanted. Anyway, the local FM station kept playing Rock Bottom and Doctor, Doctor. I purchased the album (Phenomenon) and loved every song on it. I went in search of other UFO albums, and the record store told...
Published on April 26, 2004 by Metaljim

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original UFO
For anyone thinking about buying this, you should know that it's not Michael Schenker on guitar, it's original guitarist Mick Bolton. That said, it's not quite as good as Phenomenon, but not that bad either. This is a band still trying to find their sound, doing mostly covers, and sticking to their roots. Mick Bolton's guitar playing is no match for Schenker's, but...
Published on July 13, 2000 by Andy Hula


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original UFO, July 13, 2000
By 
Andy Hula (Plattsmouth, NE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
For anyone thinking about buying this, you should know that it's not Michael Schenker on guitar, it's original guitarist Mick Bolton. That said, it's not quite as good as Phenomenon, but not that bad either. This is a band still trying to find their sound, doing mostly covers, and sticking to their roots. Mick Bolton's guitar playing is no match for Schenker's, but it's still pretty good. Includes covers of Eddie Cochran's "C'mon Everybody", Bo Diddley's "Who Do You Love", and Paul Butterfield's "Loving Cup." "Follow You Home" is a huge ripoff of the Kinks, repeating the riff off of "You Really Got Me" a hundred times. Not bad performances, but the material is pretty simple in structure but played with plenty of energy. Recommended for those who are interested in the roots of the early British heavy metal acts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked classic!, April 26, 2004
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Back about 100 years ago, I heard UFO for the first time. This was back in the early days of FM radio in the US, when the DJ's could play pretty much whatever they wanted. Anyway, the local FM station kept playing Rock Bottom and Doctor, Doctor. I purchased the album (Phenomenon) and loved every song on it. I went in search of other UFO albums, and the record store told me the one before Phenomenon was a live album. I bought it (this one)immediately and literally flew home to check it out. While my initial impression was not as good, over the next few days it began to really grow on me. A VERY energetic live performance, with excellent playing by all involved. Mogg's voice is superb and the three musicians shine. Many people seem to be unable to get past the Schenker-era, either pre or post. That's a shame, because UFO is a great band, with or without Schenker. The live album is the pinnacle of their pre-Schenker career, with the vastly underrated Flying also worth exploring. Check this one out for a young band blazing away on stage. Also noteworthy for being one of the first hard rock live albums to be recorded in Japan. As a bonus, the CD has live photos that weren't in my vinyl version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, November 22, 2007
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
I might be weird but I think everything after this album from UFO sucks, I just love there first 3 albums. They have such a raw kinda Hawkwind sound but with more of a blues feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to these other mallcore baby reviews....., February 28, 2009
By 
Ultra Magnus (Autobot City, Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
This is a real raw live rock album. The other other reviewers calling this "amature" need to take a clue. Don't expect this to be "Strangers in the Night". What it is is a snap shot of a very early UFO playing their hearts out in the club circuit with Mick Bolton on guitars, and man can he play. It's unfair and irresponsible to compare him to Schenker who is a completely different guitarist. I enjoy every minute of this live set because of Bolton's smokeing blues leads. The whole group is just tears up the stage, please just get this and listen to what a great guitarist Mick Bolton was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe you had to be there, December 13, 2008
By 
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Yes, the band was still somewhat amateurish,forming and experimenting with their sound and class of music. They were doing lots of covers early on too, but so were many bands that begun in this era. They certainly did adjust more to the street rock moniker after Phenomenon and became more refined and focused, though I feel their music was in many ways quite unique and showed much of the raw talent that was involved with the core of the band.
I really don't agree that Mick Bolton was a bad guitar player,(could of shown shredders like Van Halen a thing or 2);for his type of playing he was quite good indeed and remember him well for his wah wah efforts and great jams. Actually listen to Treacle People, Boogie For George and Prince, etc with an 'open ear'.
Frankly, a REAL UFO fan finds much to be enjoyed from ALL of their eras. One reason for the extreme prejudice is clearly that many later fans simply weren't there when the band was making these albums and have no recollection of the styles of music of the late 60's and early 70's or growing up with early Ufo as some of us did having no conception of what the music was about and could care less-period.
I'm down off the soap box and this is an interesting live cd-These guys always rocked hard-Enjoy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars preschenker but still a great live cd., January 28, 2011
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
This is also known as 'landed japan' it's the early band live and it's not as great as the schenker period but this is a great live recording. Much better in fact than the studio tracks of some of these songs. They rock out here very well and the band is the same as the schenker era but the lead guitarist is a different one. At this poin the band had put out two psych rock early metal type discs. Then came this one which slams out hard rockin done very well and it's very clear and well recorded. There's a great version of 'follow you home' their first hit 'common everybody' sound great live too, the prince kajuki song really rocks here and this was played for years to come. This was only a single album so unfortunately that's all we get no extra songs at all. Surely they must have recorded more songs that night, at least the soundboard recorded songs here sound awesome as one reviewer said. Although how he can not like later ufo is beyond me! Get this one , it's a good live cd by any standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UFO - 'Live' (Vivid Sound), October 15, 2011
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
I haven't seen this vintage live UFO title for sometime now. Twenty-some years ago - maybe more so I used to see this on cut-out cassette for like $2.99 in every department store, supermarket, Waldens Books, etc I went to. So nice to have it on CD reissue. Definitely a much-deserved improvement in the sound quality. Loved about every tune here - like the foot-stomping Elias McDaniel staple "Who Do You Love", the classic UFO rocker "Prince Kajuku / The Coming Of Prince Kajuka", the eleven-minute total ass-kicking "Boogie For George" and the Pete Way-penned "Follow You Home". Line-up (I had completely forgotten about this early UFO incarnation): Phil Mogg - vocals, Mick Bolton - guitar, Pete Way - bass and Andy Parker - drums. An absolute must-own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
great band fast shipping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raw Blistering Tight and Incredible!!!!, August 1, 2014
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Raw ass kicking five star UFO! The talent of this incredible band was overflowing on this night! Some of the best singing by Mogg you will ever hear and Mick Bolton is absolutely ON FIRE! Jaw dropping on first listen and an instant UFO classic!!! YES!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UUU FFFFF OOOOO, November 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Great cd , i had the original bootleg tape of this show when i was still a kid back about 30 years ago. Still shows power even after all this time. Rock on man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Live
Live by UFO (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.