Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basically, the same as Nomad but Great!
This album (that has an overwhelming sleeve) is basically the same as Nomad, one of the previous works of Paul Di'Anno, but with three songs added (the last three ones) and lacks one: Intro. That doesn't mean that this album doesn't worth each buck paid for it. Is a great album, hard, a great work from Paul Di'Anno (personally, the best vocalist that Iron Maiden could...
Published on October 1, 2006 by A. David Garza Marin

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably not what you expect from Di'Anno
Love Iron Maiden and am a big fan of Paul DIanno but this "new" release is a rip off. All it actually is is the 2000 release "Nomad" with a different running order and a few Maiden covers thrown in. I was one of five people who bought the "Nomad" album when it was released and was personally a little disapointed. There is definitely some quality material here but Paul's...
Published on April 16, 2006 by Christopher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basically, the same as Nomad but Great!, October 1, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living Dead (W/Dvd) (Audio CD)
This album (that has an overwhelming sleeve) is basically the same as Nomad, one of the previous works of Paul Di'Anno, but with three songs added (the last three ones) and lacks one: Intro. That doesn't mean that this album doesn't worth each buck paid for it. Is a great album, hard, a great work from Paul Di'Anno (personally, the best vocalist that Iron Maiden could have in its history). Despite being almost the same album than Nomad (an album I own), I bought this again just to hear the songs remastered. The songs sound so actual and timeless that is a real pleassure to hear them revitalized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably not what you expect from Di'Anno, April 16, 2006
By 
Christopher "chris c" (Dumont, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living Dead (Audio CD)
Love Iron Maiden and am a big fan of Paul DIanno but this "new" release is a rip off. All it actually is is the 2000 release "Nomad" with a different running order and a few Maiden covers thrown in. I was one of five people who bought the "Nomad" album when it was released and was personally a little disapointed. There is definitely some quality material here but Paul's reach exceded his grasp in places and I feel he strays too far from the classic melodic metal style that he became famous for 25 years ago. If you are looking for Paul's best post Maiden work try and find the Killer's album "Murder One". All that being said, while I enjoyed the running order better this way than when these songs appeared on "Nomad" shame on whoever decided to promote this as a new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, August 14, 2006
This review is from: Living Dead (W/Dvd) (Audio CD)
I think this is a good cd. I love the title track! The video is cool. Can't go wrong with the living dead. But, there are other good tracks on it, as well. I can't complain about anything, because I have nothing to compare it too. This is my first cd from him. Even if it wasen't, I would still like it. So, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Singers of the last 3 decades, December 26, 2010
By 
Xbox360 user (Alameda, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Living Dead (W/Dvd) (Audio CD)
Yes this is Nomad (2000), recorded in São Paulo/ Brazil w/ Paulo Turin and a couple of Musicians from the actual Angra, one of them Aquiles Priester who's being called to replace Mike Portnoy on Dream Theater.
This is Paul in his Best, straying away from Iron Maiden completely, with talent and originality, writing songs different from each other with a very unique style, his voice is like it has a little bit of Dio after coming back from Hell w/ anger and passion w/ a pinch of Phil Anselmo, just enough to please the heaviest of the fans in a way that only Paul can deliver.
He proves in this album to be one of the greatest Heavy Metal singers of the last 3 decades, again, if you're a maiden fan w/ Helloween/Stratovarius etc taste, you may be disappointed, I'm a BIG maiden fan, but I think this album would scare Bruce Dickinson off of his tights. ;)
Up the Irons and Hail Dianno!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 maybe 5!, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Living Dead (MP3 Music)
I became an Iron Maiden fan from the beginning. I continued to be a fan of Iron Maiden but I also tried to follow Paul Dianno. After years I came across some releases by him and began listening. When I listened to "The Living Dead" I was impressed by how strong Paul's voice was and the quality of the material. This is an excellent album! I'd give it 5 stars but I don't do that very often. This album almost got 5 stars from me. If you were into the first two Maiden albums, you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nicely done, Paul!, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living Dead (W/Dvd) (Audio CD)
Although it was originally released under the title of "Nomad" in the year 2000 (with a few set-list alterations), "The Living Dead" is easily one of the finest things that ex/original Iron Maiden frontman Paul Di'anno has ever attached his name to. Much more varied and remarkable than his work in other side-projects (such as Gogmagog, Battlezone, and Killers), this 2006 release should renew the interest in any heavy music fan that lost track of Paul following his split from the aforementioned Maiden in 1981.

Sure, Dianno's vocals sound top-notch, here, as he is perfectly capable of switching from near rap to accomplished clean singing to baritone crooning to spiteful growling to Rob Halford-worthy falsetto shrieks seemingly at the drop of a hat. But do not be misled, because unlike most of the solo works put out by artists like Bruce Dickinson (save for a few albums -- namely 1998's "Chemical Wedding"), the actual music on "The Living Dead" is actually noteworthy, too. In fact, many of these eleven, proper songs are fiery, mosh-pit-worthy cuts comprised of thrashy tempo'ing, excellent guitar work (including belligerent guitar leads and exceptional soloing), and tight and precise drumming.

The album begins on a warm and inviting note, as the opening title track finds Paul's supple crooning voice being laid over a delicate string arrangement. But once the electric guitars kick in, Paul's voice goes up...way up - -soaring majestically over crunchy power chords and thumping skins, thus playing like a true piece of Iron Maiden-worthy power metal. But no matter how great and crunchy the song's music might be (it includes some solid keyboard work in its choruses), is ultimately just a vehicle for Dianno's stellar vocals. And what pensive, soulful, and pipes-stretching vocals they are, too! And this is all the perfect lead-in to the rest of the album, which begins with "Mad Man In The Attic," which is backed by some bullying, muscle-bound rhythms, serrated, aggressive riffing, thrash -lite tempos, and surprisingly angry vocals. It all makes for one very propulsive and driving speed metal anthem, and one that gives off a distinct Judas Priest-like vibe. It also boasts two exceptional guitar solos, the first of which being wah-drenched, and the second being twiddly and lengthy, and both being very deliciously melodic.

And Paul is just warming up. The succeeding third track, "War Machine," is quite possibly the heaviest song on the record. It is a charging, Megadeth-meets-Motorhead-esque thrasher that really lets rip, and is complete with momentous, chainsaw riffing, crashing drum beats, and piercing soloing. And "Brothers Of The Tomb" is another surprisingly heavy, and totally slam-danceable number, and one that boasts hefty, lumbering guitar hooks, some propulsive double bass heft, and a noisy, shredding, whammy-bar solo. And this song, which is also armed with really memorable and anthemic choruses, also features some Anthrax-flavored shout-along vocal refrains. And "P.O.V. 2005" is the perfect continuation of "Brothers...," as it is mostly occupied by blistering riffage and soloing. But it is after that that the album takes a turn toward the experimental side with "Nomad" falling somewhere between Maiden, Priest, Metallica, Exodus, and Limp Bizkit (?!). See, most of this song is thrashy and hard-rocking, with galloping rhythms, sharp, aggressive riff slices, and fiery, shredding, winding and bending solos. And some steady, prominently grumbling bass lines are included to ensure that its rhythm section is always firmly rolling along. But "Nomad" is mostly of note (i.e. distinguishable from the rest of the pack) for featuring a weird, sampled trip/hip-hop beat that would not sound at all out of place on many-a-nu-metal joint (!).

"S.A.T.A.N.," a speed metaller that finds tasty melodic guitar leads harmonizing with Paul's falsetto singing voice (thus evoking Priest and "Cowboys From Hell"-era Pantera), and is further highlighted by some more unforgettable, and very air-guitar-worthy solo flights and some surprisingly profane, punk-flavored lyricism (sample lyric: "F your wife!"), is another noteworthy mention. And a couple others include the charging and lunging speed metal sprint that is "Cold World" (which is a mostly instrumental song that lets the machine-gun fast riffage, well-placed double bass rolls, and mazy melodic soloing do most of the talking); and the very competently-performed Megadeth cover that is track eleven, "Symphony Of Destruction."

This is a very heavy, aggressive, fun, hard-rockin', and all-around unforgettable traditional metal album that perfectly encapsulates the sound of one of genre's primitives at the top of his game. Thus, if you, for some odd reason, missed-out on picking up "Nomad," you should definitely not make the same mistake twice, and just check this out, already! And if you already own "Nomad," well...then sell it in order to finance your purchase of "T.L.D.."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great album, and has a bonus DVD with some ..., August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living Dead (W/Dvd) (Audio CD)
It's refreshing to hear some of Dianno's original material rather than his Iron Maiden covers over and over again. This is a great album, and has a bonus DVD with some insights about the recordings. His raspy voice matches perfectly with the aggresive music in the disc. It reminds me a little of Killers (the band, no the Maiden album).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars serious iron maiden fan, August 19, 2006
This review is from: Living Dead (W/Dvd) (Audio CD)
I just saw the video for the title track on the headbangers ball and what a great cd this...buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Living Dead (W/Dvd)
Living Dead (W/Dvd) by Paul DiAnno (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.